Some UI observations: filtering, also busy indications

Report bugs & feature requests for MediaMonkey 5 and learn about the newest builds.

Moderator: Gurus

Some UI observations: filtering, also busy indications

Postby Barry4679 » Sun Sep 24, 2017 12:49 am

The UI doesn't always show when it is busy.

ie. click #1 as shown here. https://www.dropbox.com/s/e7b8d8chfiwtrvz/MM5%20busy%20indications.png?dl=0

I estimate the delay for my 40,000 track library at about 8 seconds. I start to think that MM has frozen. I click on #2 on the illustration. nothing seems to happen. ... until the end of the 7 seconds, and then both actions are actioned at once, the 2nd wiping out the 1st.

In a similar long duration situation in MM$ (eg. File|CreateReports|Statistics), you used to popup the empty results panel immediately. This was a sign that something was happening in the background. ... You also used to switch the cursor icon to a spinning wheel (eventually ... it was too slow arriving in IMO).
Also it would be good if the UI was monitoring the Esc key, so that a long running request could be cancelled.

Filtering Improvements:

is this still open? http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=14293
some points were addressed ... are points 3 & 4 still be considered?

3. Per user's request at http://forum.mediamonkey.com/viewtopic. ... 45#p437140 [^] item 3., it'd probably make sense to add checkboxes to temporarily enable/disable individual conditions.

4. Also a request to save/load individual filters seems to make sense. I can imagine a '...' icon there with 'Load', 'Save' a possibly some kind of Delete available. That said, I wonder then how to position this wrt AutoPlaylists - does it make sense to have these as two separate approaches? Would a unification work without sacrificing simplicity of the Filter functionality?


I think that both would be excellent additions.

The search facility (looking glass icon at top right): This has a dropdown control, but its storage capacity seems to be set to 1. ie. I do successive searches, but the dropdown combo-box always just contains the most recent search term

The looking glass search facility has global scope, which may not be ideal ... ie. if I am in SomeMediaTreeNode|Album, and I do a looking glass icon search, my scope is reset to Home|Search (ie. moved away from SomeMediaTreeNode|Album|Search) .... I guess that people will become used to this ... and I know that they could have got a local search by just typing a search string without pressing the search icon. ... but the behaviour was unexpected ... the other controls up on the top right don't change scope (ie. the filter funnel,or the matrix|list icon, or the view dropdown icon) ... also the looking glass icon has no tooltip saying "GLOBAL search"or something like that ... IMO it would better if the control respected scope, and I had to press the Home icon, or went somewhere on the media tree if I wanted a change of scope.
Barry4679
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:07 am
Location: Australia

Re: Some UI observations: filtering, also busy indications

Postby jiri » Tue Oct 10, 2017 8:10 am

1. This happens with "Show all nodes" script installed, but will be fixed.

re. Filtering - yes, hopefully most of it will get to MM5.0.

re. Search suggestions - when the edit line is empty, dropdown shows recent searches and when you start typing, it shows searches that start with that letter(s). Isn't it this way for you?

re. Search scope - we tried to make this clear by showing the Search in the very top right, unlike e.g. Filtering, which is aligned to the main view (when Now Playing right panel is shown). But I guess that e.g. a tooltip could make this even clearer.

Jiri
jiri
 
Posts: 5281
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Some UI observations: filtering, also busy indications

Postby Barry4679 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:29 am

jiri wrote:1. This happens with "Show all nodes" script installed, but will be fixed.


Maybe I don't understand what you are saying, but just to be clear ... I haven't installed any optional scripts.

jiri wrote:re. Search suggestions - when the edit line is empty, dropdown shows recent searches and when you start typing, it shows searches that start with that letter(s). Isn't it this way for you?


I see how it works now.

I didn't see that before because the current search string is never cleared. eg:
* press the magnifying glass search icon
* type a search string
* display is filtered as expected
* change scope, ie click Home, or Music, or one of your custom indices
* the search control snaps shut, but the current search string is not emptied
* go back into search some time later, the old string is still there ... (it even survives a MM reboot)
* press it's down arrow, only the current string is in the list (because it is filtered as you described)
* you need to clear the search string, by backspacing or something, before you can see the list of previous search strings

It would help if you cleared the current search string when someone explicitly changes scope or reboots

jiri wrote:re. Search scope - we tried to make this clear by showing the Search in the very top right, unlike e.g. Filtering, which is aligned to the main view (when Now Playing right panel is shown). But I guess that e.g. a tooltip could make this even clearer.


I "now" know how it is supposed to work, but I still think that it is initially potentially a confusing UI decision.

eg:
* go into some custom filtered index
* then type a search string, ie. without opening the search widget
* what happens is that the search widget auto-opens, and the characters that you typed appear in there
* and the search results are filtered by the scope of the custom index

Now do this:
* clear out the search string
* go back into the custom index
* manually open the same search widget, and type the same search string
* the results are not filtered by the custom index

It is great once you know what to expect, but the extra flexibility makes the UI more complex IMO.
And there is no great gain, because scope can easily be set by the Media Tree

Nothing else in that top line changes scope.
If the search icon is going to change scope, it would be clearer sitting alongside the other things which change scope, ie. in the Media Tree.
Barry4679
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:07 am
Location: Australia

Re: Some UI observations: filtering, also busy indications

Postby jiri » Wed Oct 11, 2017 5:39 am

Maybe I don't understand what you are saying, but just to be clear ... I haven't installed any optional scripts.


Well, the script is actually currently installed together with MM5, but we plan to move it to SampleScripts folder only. Anyway, the issue will be fixed... ;-)

It would help if you cleared the current search string when someone explicitly changes scope or reboots


Right, makes sense, we'll implement it.

If the search icon is going to change scope, it would be clearer sitting alongside the other things which change scope, ie. in the Media Tree.


I'm still not sure this is the best approach, but we'll discuss this internally, whether we could improve it in any way.

Thanks!
Jiri
jiri
 
Posts: 5281
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Some UI observations: filtering, also busy indications

Postby Barry4679 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 11:48 pm

A few more comments about the new UI

Firstly I am now at the stage where I am disappointed when returning back to MM4, ie. I prefer MM5 ... I just say this, to balance the series of problem related posts.

Every time I change tabs, the Player panel gets turned back on (ie. it is displayed, even when I have set it off last time I was at that tab).

In MM4, tab labels used to show the collection name ... now they show just the collection sub-node name ... ie. for Music>Albums, the tab label is just Albums ... not Music .... the change is not very good for Gold customers, who mad have custom collections.

When I change tabs, the expected panel is re-displayed, and selection is where I last left it ... but the Art&Details "Selected" panel is not refreshed ... until I change selection on the now current tab ... a few times the Art&Details has become disassociated with one of the tabs ... I I can make selections on the newly current tab, but Art&Details is not updated ...

Adding a new tab: there is a + icon inside a circle to add the first new tab ... this seems to disappear once the 1st new tab is created ... ie. it was big bold & black & on the right & on the control widgets row ... it is now tiny barely noticeable & pale blue & on the left & in the headings row .... it would better if the the big black one also remained, so that I don't feel lost and confused

View|MediaTree doesn't work the same way with addition tabs, as it works with the initial tab ... ie. go to an additional tab, with View|MediaTree turned on and the leftmost icon set on (looks like a list besides a block ... the one next to the back arrow ... nb. it would help if they had too ltip names) ... if you set off View|MediaTree, the grid doesn't expand to reclaim the same where the MediaTree was ... it does so on the main tab

The Art & Details toggles between Selected & Playing ... this isn't initially obvious until you happen to click or hover over the heading ... ie. "where did my Selected panel go?" .. there is a 3 dots menu, but it has no item for Selected|Playing toggle

The NowPlaying panel is confusing ... I don't use MM for playing, so I am not really familiar with this aspect of MM ... but If I open the Now Playing Panel and the Art&Details panel ... they are stacked vertically ... if I click the NowPlaying it puts a big gray panel over my grid ... for album art presumably ... if I now close the NowPlaying via its little x, it does not close ... it moves itself alongside the Art&Details column, ie. into its own column ... it now has no x for closing ... I can't get rid of it via the View menu either ... the only way to get rid it is by changing scope using the Media Tree

There is a 7 second delay when pressing the trailing ">" on "Music>Albums>" ... I have 3,400+ albums ... there is no change to the cursor to indicate that anything is happening ... it looks broken ... same thing with "Music>Artists>"

https://www.dropbox.com/s/f9zj3oosm288l04/mm%20grid.png?dl=0

The above page isn't as clear as it could be ... it is not clear that there are more artists or albums ... it is not clear the the Artist and Albums headings are buttons .. maybe also use the last grid position for each row, for an button with an icon saying "+ More" ... also, what is the selection criteria for the albums and artists portrayed in this little selection? ... they are not most recent played , nor top rated, nor recently ripped ... they are no always the same ... they are not random .... what are they? ... does somebody at MM like the Kinks, as they always seem to be represented?

Album&Tracks view is still truncating album art ... roll quick (using scroll bar)... pause, and then roll slow by dragging the grid up or down ... it seems as if the album which is just off view after the quick roll, will be truncated when it is slowly scrolled into view ... it happens nearly 100% of the time for me ... ie this doesn't seemed to be closed: http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=14445

https://www.dropbox.com/s/70gkb6cxfwoxyli/mm%20clipping.png?dl=0

If I have Column Browser showing when in Music>Album and in Art view, and I use the column browser to filter, the album count in the heading is not updated ... eg. from Music.Albums(3000) to Music.Albums(12) ... if I touch an album in the grid, the count is updated ... if use the column browser to turn the filter, the album count is updated immediately, ie. it is updated immediately when turned off, but not when it is turned on.
Barry4679
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:07 am
Location: Australia

Re: Some UI observations: filtering, also busy indications

Postby jiri » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:53 am

Replying only to some issues, other are directly added to Mantis and will be fixed. Thanks for reporting them!

In MM4, tab labels used to show the collection name ... now they show just the collection sub-node name ... ie. for Music>Albums, the tab label is just Albums ... not Music .... the change is not very good for Gold customers, who mad have custom collections.


OK, added an idea how to change to http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=14457 .

Adding a new tab: there is a + icon inside a circle to add the first new tab ... this seems to disappear once the 1st new tab is created ... ie. it was big bold & black & on the right & on the control widgets row ... it is now tiny barely noticeable & pale blue & on the left & in the headings row .... it would better if the the big black one also remained, so that I don't feel lost and confused


You are right, that it isn't too consistent approach. That said, I'd probably rather get rid of the big + in circle altogether than to keep it there all the time. There's quite a lot of other methods to open new tab now (+ in tabs bar, View menu, Ctrl+click on hyperlinks, etc.), so this icon is probably superfluous.

The NowPlaying panel is confusing ... I don't use MM for playing, so I am not really familiar with this aspect of MM ... but If I open the Now Playing Panel and the Art&Details panel ... they are stacked vertically ... if I click the NowPlaying it puts a big gray panel over my grid ... for album art presumably ... if I now close the NowPlaying via its little x, it does not close ... it moves itself alongside the Art&Details column, ie. into its own column ... it now has no x for closing ... I can't get rid of it via the View menu either ... the only way to get rid it is by changing scope using the Media Tree


It's supposed to be used pretty much for playback only. There might be some rough edges, but generally speaking I'd say that it's quite well designed for its purpose (btw, can be easily modified by Addons in order to show whatever user wants and can look pretty good particularly in the full-screen mode). Wouldn't it be easiest for you to just disable this tree node (since you don't use MM for playback).

https://www.dropbox.com/s/f9zj3oosm288l04/mm%20grid.png?dl=0

The above page isn't as clear as it could be ... it is not clear that there are more artists or albums ... it is not clear the the Artist and Albums headings are buttons .. maybe also use the last grid position for each row, for an button with an icon saying "+ More" ... also, what is the selection criteria for the albums and artists portrayed in this little selection? ... they are not most recent played , nor top rated, nor recently ripped ... they are no always the same ... they are not random .... what are they? ... does somebody at MM like the Kinks, as they always seem to be represented?


You are right that it isn't perfect, we plan to improve this view. Not sure yet about the details, but some tweaks are needed.

Thanks for all the feedback,
Jiri
jiri
 
Posts: 5281
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Some UI observations: filtering, also busy indications

Postby Barry4679 » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:49 pm

jiri wrote:There's quite a lot of other methods to open new tab now (+ in tabs bar, View menu, Ctrl+click on hyperlinks, etc.), so this icon is probably superfluous.


Initially I only see the View menu method.

ie. The + in the tabs bar is only available after you had created the 1st new tab ... there is no "tabs bar" before that

And I have tried ctrl clicking on everything that may be a hyperlink, but nothing creates a new tab ... ie. entries in the MediaTree, everything on the Home screen, including the headings that are hyperlinks?

jiri wrote:It's supposed to be used pretty much for playback only. There might be some rough edges, but generally speaking I'd say that it's quite well designed for its purpose (btw, can be easily modified by Addons in order to show whatever user wants and can look pretty good particularly in the full-screen mode). Wouldn't it be easiest for you to just disable this tree node (since you don't use MM for playback).


Yes, I will disable it ... I was just testing it.

It still seems partially broken to me. ie. if I close it via its small x, why does it replicate itself in its own column? this time with no "x" for closing.

I didn't open it via the Media tree. I didn't even notice it in there. ... I opened it via View|NowPlaying ... it opens into the same column as Art&Details ... if you try to manually close it behaves as above, which is confusing.


jiri wrote:You are right that it isn't perfect, we plan to improve this view. Not sure yet about the details, but some tweaks are needed.


There also seems to be a new bug with it. Some albums go into a jerking fit. The panel drilling down into an album partially opens and shuts many times per second ... it keeps going, and never opens properly, like an annoying fluro lamp ... the red arrow shows the part which flashes open and shut.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/4hm91trjc45497t/fluro.png?dl=0
Barry4679
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:07 am
Location: Australia

Re: Some UI observations: filtering, also busy indications

Postby jiri » Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:54 am

And I have tried ctrl clicking on everything that may be a hyperlink, but nothing creates a new tab ... ie. entries in the MediaTree, everything on the Home screen, including the headings that are hyperlinks?


You are right that there are still quite a few places where it should work and doesn't. Will be fixed as http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=14395

It still seems partially broken to me. ie. if I close it via its small x, why does it replicate itself in its own column? this time with no "x" for closing.


The idea there is that the Now Playing view either contain its own NP queue sub-window, or it's replaced by the NP sidebar (which is available thorough the application). That said, you are right that it's currently quite confusing. We'll try to implement something clearer.

The panel drilling down into an album partially opens and shuts many times per second ...


Thanks, will look into it.

Jiri
jiri
 
Posts: 5281
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic


Return to Alpha testing, bugs, and feature requests (MM5)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests