Chromecast Audio

Report bugs & feature requests for MediaMonkey 5 and learn about the newest builds.

Moderator: Gurus

Davo
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Chromecast Audio

Post by Davo » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:27 am

Hi ludek
I will test & report back.
Would it be possible to "play to chromecast" directly from album or track selection rather than having to select "Play to" in the 3 horizontal dot menu
David
____________________________
Windows 10
MM 5 Beta

jiri
Posts: 5365
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Chromecast Audio

Post by jiri » Tue Feb 27, 2018 3:59 am

I've reopened http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=14084 for Play To pop-up menu item.

Jiri

frien

Re: Chromecast Audio

Post by frien » Sat May 26, 2018 5:58 pm

Hey guys,

I'm having the same issue as this with version 2104 not able to recognise my chromecast audio. I have tried to manually edit the persistent.json file with the udn/name/ip of my chromecast audio, however having saved the changes, MM5 overwrites the file and removes the amendments when I next open it.

I assumed best to post here, but can make a new thread if required?

Cheers

Ludek
Posts: 2498
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Chromecast Audio

Post by Ludek » Mon May 28, 2018 6:23 am

frien wrote:
Sat May 26, 2018 5:58 pm
I'm having the same issue as this with version 2104 not able to recognise my chromecast audio.
Are the other apps on the same PC able to see the Chromecast audio? Is it on the same Wi-Fi network?
If yes, could you please generate debug log (item 4b here https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... 30&t=86643 )
frien wrote:
Sat May 26, 2018 5:58 pm
I have tried to manually edit the persistent.json file with the udn/name/ip of my chromecast audio, however having saved the changes, MM5 overwrites the file and removes the amendments when I next open it.
That's strange, could you please attach your edited persistent.json file for analyze?

Davo
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Chromecast Audio

Post by Davo » Tue May 29, 2018 1:47 am

Hi Ludek
Latest release v5 seems to have fixed the problem. I can now see Chromecast Audio & my new LG tv.
David
____________________________
Windows 10
MM 5 Beta

Davo
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Chromecast Audio

Post by Davo » Sat Aug 18, 2018 5:11 pm

MM5 - 2120
I recently re installed/rebooted my chromecasts & renamed two of them. The Play > Play To menu shows the "new" names but does not remove the old. essentially creating duplicate chromecast entries. ie same Chromecast but different names
David
____________________________
Windows 10
MM 5 Beta

Ludek
Posts: 2498
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Chromecast Audio

Post by Ludek » Tue Aug 21, 2018 7:03 am

Hi, could you please share your persistent.json file? It is located in your Portable folder. Namely the section LAST_REMOTE_PLAYERS in the persistent.json. We are caching the list of Chromecasts because of the Chromecast detection issues in the past. We will probably need to remove the caching or add a better housekeeping. Re-opened: as https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view ... 587#c49419

Thanks.

Davo
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Chromecast Audio

Post by Davo » Wed Aug 22, 2018 2:44 am

Hi - unfortunately i just uninstalled MM5 & did a new install. So that file is probably not going to help now.
David
____________________________
Windows 10
MM 5 Beta

Davo
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Chromecast Audio

Post by Davo » Mon Aug 27, 2018 2:11 pm

https://www.dropbox.com/s/jsdjqqqh1dydf ... .json?dl=0

Hi Ludek
The duplicate entries have come back so here's the file you requested
David
____________________________
Windows 10
MM 5 Beta

Ludek
Posts: 2498
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Chromecast Audio

Post by Ludek » Mon Aug 27, 2018 4:36 pm

Thx,
in the file I see:

Code: Select all

"LAST_REMOTE_PLAYERS": [
        {
            "udn": "3d011162-796b-06e0-727c-e5fd80362b63",
            "name": "Bedroom Front",
            "ip": "http://192.168.0.4:8008/"
        },
        {
            "udn": "10a78ecd-701b-b752-0000-00004b62cb11",
            "name": "Living Room Speakers (DLNA)",
            "ip": "http://192.168.0.10:55311/dev/10a78ecd-701b-b752-0000-00004b62cb11/"
        },
        {
            "udn": "10a78ecd-701b-b752-0000-00000d6d3f17",
            "name": "TV Room (DLNA)",
            "ip": "http://192.168.0.10:55311/dev/10a78ecd-701b-b752-0000-00000d6d3f17/"
        },
        {
            "udn": "f31ae5f7-f7df-4fb3-e7c7-669e26221828",
            "name": "TV Room",
            "ip": "http://192.168.0.8:8008/"
        },
        {
            "udn": "5f1cd722-26ac-a963-ed55-df46d696bcf0",
            "name": "[LG] webOS TV OLED65E7T",
            "ip": "http://192.168.0.3:1477/"
        },
        {
            "udn": "524a16e3-cc91-43e7-6ca9-1d359f144148",
            "name": "Living Room Speakers",
            "ip": "http://192.168.0.14:8008/"
        }
    ],
So the duplicities comes from the device being presented both as DLNA and Chromecast players?
The "Living Room Speakers (DLNA)" has different IP/Port so it seems presented like different device. Is it Chromecast device at all?

Davo
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Chromecast Audio

Post by Davo » Mon Aug 27, 2018 6:31 pm

Hi Ludek
Yes I have 2 Chromecasts & 1 chromecast Audio
I also use BubbleUp & android phone to access my Foobar library & MM5 library.
So sometimes I cast directly from MM5 if i'm using the PC or via BubbleUp /Android phone if i'm away from the PC

Perhaps the duplicates came from the way i set this up? Steep learning curve for me. Renderers, Servers; Control Points; OpenHome etc. My head is spinning. Ideally I just want to "Play To" without having to worry about the underlying architecture.
I notice that when i do attempt to remotely access the MM library via BubbleUp/Phone I have to give MM permission to talk to the device. I understand thats probably a security thing but it means i have to go to the PC to do it. Is there a way to set up a permanent permission for the device?

If you can shed any light on this i will be very grateful.
David
____________________________
Windows 10
MM 5 Beta

Davo
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Chromecast Audio

Post by Davo » Mon Aug 27, 2018 7:44 pm

https://www.dropbox.com/s/sqmqfbuyu919u ... t.JPG?dl=0
Hi Ludek
The Chrome browser detects these devices
David
____________________________
Windows 10
MM 5 Beta

Ludek
Posts: 2498
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Chromecast Audio

Post by Ludek » Tue Aug 28, 2018 8:54 am

Davo wrote:
Mon Aug 27, 2018 6:31 pm
Hi Ludek
Yes I have 2 Chromecasts & 1 chromecast Audio
I also use BubbleUp & android phone to access my Foobar library & MM5 library.
So sometimes I cast directly from MM5 if i'm using the PC or via BubbleUp /Android phone if i'm away from the PC

Perhaps the duplicates came from the way i set this up? Steep learning curve for me. Renderers, Servers; Control Points; OpenHome etc. My head is spinning. Ideally I just want to "Play To" without having to worry about the underlying architecture.
It is that e.g. the "Living Room Speakers" is presented twice:
"Living Room Speakers (DLNA)" at http://192.168.0.10:55311/dev/10a78ecd- ... 04b62cb11/
"Living Room Speakers" at http://192.168.0.14:8008/

The former seems DLNA device, the latter is Chromecast device.
MM5 sees both DLNA and Chromecast players (renderers) while Chrome sees only google cast devices (Chromecasts).
What is the "Living Room Speakers (DLNA)" device? Is the Chromecast device? My Chromecast is presented only as chromecast (IP:8008), could you put http://192.168.0.10:55311/dev/10a78ecd- ... 04b62cb11/ into address bar and post the XML info here?

Davo wrote:
Mon Aug 27, 2018 6:31 pm
I notice that when i do attempt to remotely access the MM library via BubbleUp/Phone I have to give MM permission to talk to the device. I understand thats probably a security thing but it means i have to go to the PC to do it. Is there a way to set up a permanent permission for the device?
You can enable the '[x] Share automatically with all new devices' checkbox here:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/apuu0fst6s3vc ... 9.png?dl=0

Davo
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Chromecast Audio

Post by Davo » Tue Aug 28, 2018 8:12 pm

Hi Ludek
This site can’t be reached
192.168.0.10 refused to connect.
I may have found the problem. I realised that BubbleUp was running on the PC as well as the Android Phone. I had configured "Living Room Speakers" as DLNA.
I've killed the BubbleUp server & the Living Room Speakers (DLNA) device no longer appears in MM5 Play To.
David
____________________________
Windows 10
MM 5 Beta

Drosophila
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 2:39 pm

Re: Chromecast Audio

Post by Drosophila » Tue Oct 16, 2018 5:50 am

I'm having problems with playback via Chromecast Audio, often the playback stops/drops in the middle of the track, and will not resume (no help pausing and resuming playback). If I choose another track playback starts again right away.... :-?

Post Reply