Toolbar support like in Firefox

Any ideas about how to improve MediaMonkey? Let us know!

Moderator: Gurus

Is this feature-outline important to include in MM?

You may select 1 option

92
28%
92
28%
101
31%
15
5%
30
9%
 
Total votes: 330
 

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Post by Dreadlau » Sat Feb 09, 2008 1:28 am

Oh yes just like the favicons bar in firefox.
Love this idea.

+1

MoDementia
Posts: 1321
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 3:26 pm
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

Post by MoDementia » Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:46 am

Teknojnky wrote:#1 has to be: Lock the toolbars in their current position... its faaaaarrrr too easy to accidently grab/move a toolbar while simply cliking an icon on it.

as for customization of the toolbar itself..

I would prefer a standard microsoft 'customize toolbar' control exactly like internet explorer 6 and (older) office products.

Image
works for me, priority is well...

Nonreality
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 1:58 pm

Post by Nonreality » Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:32 pm

It was one of the things that almost made me not use MM at the start. I too often accidentally changed the toolbar and took a bit to get it back. Think this is a must have feature.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Post by nohitter151 » Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:03 pm

I agree that this is a good feature to have, but I must say it hasn't been a problem that I've encountered. You all must be crazy clickers!
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Nordoelum
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Norway

Post by Nordoelum » Tue Mar 18, 2008 7:25 pm

I would rather see that MediaMonkey used a variation of the .NET 3.5 layout. Instead of the old 98-ish design it has today.

Morten
Posts: 1092
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:31 am
Location: Norway

Post by Morten » Tue Mar 18, 2008 9:01 pm

What's .NET 3.5? :)
Best regards,
Morten

chrisjj
Posts: 4933
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: UK

Post by chrisjj » Wed Apr 02, 2008 8:16 am

> you should be able to drag playlists, nodes etc onto
> the tool bar to make shortcuts to regularly used things.

Agreed!
Chris

Nordoelum
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Norway

Post by Nordoelum » Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 am


Mon1018
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 4:55 am
Contact:

Post by Mon1018 » Mon Apr 07, 2008 4:59 am

This will be indeed a great enhancement.

dreadlyone
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 2:06 pm

Post by dreadlyone » Fri May 09, 2008 10:41 pm

MyCsPiTTa wrote:I definately think you should be able to drag playlists, nodes etc onto the tool bar to make shortcuts to regularly used things.
This would be an awesome feature in addition to everything Morten originally listed. A Favorites bar!!

soapynebula
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 11:42 am

I completely agree with some of this:

Post by soapynebula » Fri May 16, 2008 6:43 am

+ Disable unused buttons

+ Lock positions of Artwork, Now playing etc, (although this problem can be overcome by hiding the titles for artwork etc - you cannot rearrange the windows unless you drag the title bar AFAIK.

+ I dont think either of these need a fancy drag-and-drop user interface like IE though, which might indeed slow down MM. I think just tick boxes (and maybe arrows to rearrange the order) would be sufficient..! :D
Get MediaMonkey Gold, I dare you!

XIONG
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 9:34 am
Contact:

Post by XIONG » Sun May 25, 2008 10:21 am

I think so ,
good luck.

Libelula
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 8:44 pm

Re:

Post by Libelula » Thu Sep 18, 2008 1:46 pm

Teknojnky wrote:#1 has to be: Lock the toolbars in their current position... its faaaaarrrr too easy to accidently grab/move a toolbar while simply cliking an icon on it.

as for customization of the toolbar itself..

I would prefer a standard microsoft 'customize toolbar' control exactly like internet explorer 6 and (older) office products.

Image
I completely agre with the above. The first thing I do after installing any piece of software is I customize the toolbars. There are a lot of icons I find superfluous and would love to have the option of removing.

Locking the toolbars or even saving a particular configuration/profile like in Photoshop is a very good idea. I wouwld prefer profiles as I could create one for playback, one for riping/burning music and one for organizing my library.

I would really like different types of icons as some of the current ones don't mean anything to me unless I see the description.
Or even creating our own "icons" with key words (eg. rip, burn, play, exp) instead of icons, or load our own icons maybe.
The current icons are too small for me.

I'm not sure if this is related, but I would really love the option of minimising the music explorer tree to a thin toolbaron the left. Just like the Opera toolbar containing the favourites, downloads, history, etc on the left which extends when clicking on one of the icons.

While I do want icons and shortcuts, there are so many of them for the same things(eg. music explorer) that it can get really confusing.

Guest

Re: Toolbar support like in Firefox

Post by Guest » Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:14 pm

Strongly Agree with this! Would be great to see it implemented

kbsg
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 7:28 am

Re: Toolbar support like in Firefox

Post by kbsg » Tue Nov 25, 2008 8:31 am

It's average! The lock feature can be useful. But still.... :wink:

Post Reply