Multiple Libraries?

Any ideas about how to improve MediaMonkey? Let us know!

Moderator: Gurus

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:59 am

drichm wrote:could at least a command line option be added to MM to define the location of MediaMonkey.ini
This would be very useful when having mutiple users using the same MM, but different libraries, without having to have it installed twice on the same machine.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

drichm
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 1:12 am
Location: Switzerland

Virtual CD as library

Post by drichm » Mon Oct 24, 2005 1:44 am

Given that multiple library support happens, at some point in the future (hopefully).

I would like to put all Virtual CD entries into a separate library.

Maybe I do not get it, but the current behaviour of Virtual CD really annoys me. If you rip a CD via virtual CD you get double entries in your database - one for the Virtual CD, one for the ripped version. Doing reports in MM Gold also counts double.

Maybe I am doing something wrong, but I see no work arounds in the current MM version (2.4) other than deleting the Virtual CD entries from the library - which is against the intention of Virtual CD, or not?

Dave

fguizar
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 8:22 pm
Contact:

multiple-player suppor is a must for serious work

Post by fguizar » Wed Nov 02, 2005 1:54 pm

I have been looking for multiple library support for several years. No one has it otherwise I would be using their product. MediaMonkey is my best hope for such a critical tool. I suggest that this would be used very frequently by anyone trying to work on their collection of ripped, purchased, portable music in various formats... I have Flac, MP3, and portable music and run into all the same issues everyone else has.

It should be on the top of the list.

jdp
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 12:31 pm

Post by jdp » Fri Nov 04, 2005 12:38 pm

Definitely my top priority in a player.

The ability to handle multiple libraries used to be a feature of Musicmatch Jukebox before the latest version, and it's omission in the new version is just one of its many faults

The One Pizza
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 3:05 am

Post by The One Pizza » Sun Nov 06, 2005 2:16 pm

Isn't it possible to write a plugin for MM for this?? I've never made a plugin but maybe we can fix it together...
Image

fguizar
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 8:22 pm
Contact:

I will pay for MM with multiple libraries

Post by fguizar » Tue Nov 08, 2005 4:21 pm

Need I say more.

Adventureboy

Multiple Libraries

Post by Adventureboy » Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:57 pm

Hi All, I'm actually looking for a way to manage the location of the MM library. Currently each user on the computer has a local library in their own My Music folder and I can't seem to get it to use a central shared library. Any suggestions? The ability to configure/select a library would solve this problem.

Bex
Posts: 6316
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 5:44 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Multiple Libraries

Post by Bex » Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:07 pm

Adventureboy wrote:Hi All, I'm actually looking for a way to manage the location of the MM library. Currently each user on the computer has a local library in their own My Music folder and I can't seem to get it to use a central shared library. Any suggestions? The ability to configure/select a library would solve this problem.
It is indeed possible to share the same libary among differnet users on a computor and even in a network. It has bean disucussed several times before, search the forum and you'll find how todo. It's also described in the read me file in a sticky somewhere if I recall correctly.

Bex
Posts: 6316
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 5:44 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Bex » Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:10 pm

Here you go!

c) Shared environments
If you wish to share MediaMonkey's configuration file and or database among multiple users:
i) Move the MediaMonkey.ini file to the \Program Files\MediaMonkey directory. This will cause
all users to have the same MediaMonkey settings, however, you must make sure that all
users have appropriate permissions to read/write to this directory.
ii) Ensure that your MediaMonkey database has correctly set permissions so that all users
can read/write to the database.

Guest

Post by Guest » Thu Dec 29, 2005 2:10 pm

Just adding my vote for multiple libraries. I rip all of my own tracks from my personal CD collection, and am actually maintaining multiple copies in different formats (lossless master, high-quality compressed for computer listening, low(er)-quality compressed for flash mp3 player) and locations. It would be nice to be able to switch without the rename hack.

Peke
Posts: 12500
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Post by Peke » Thu Dec 29, 2005 3:27 pm

Guest,
Regarding low quality for your MP3 Flash Drive you can use Auto-Convet feature appon sync to device within MM itself there is no need to have duplicate tracks.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

REJ
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:36 pm

Post by REJ » Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:55 pm

I would very much like to see multiple libraries as well!

for me it would be useful as I am a producer / musician, and have quite a large mp3 collection of artists, as well as a pretty big collection of my own work, which I'd like to browse separatedly.

Also when working on tracks, I work with a lot of .wav files, and would like mediamonkey to handle these separate from say my mp3 collection.
I would like to set one particular library up to scanning mp3's, another for wavs or aiff.

Working with sample libraries also means dealing with a lot (!)of audio files (samples, etc.),
I'm sure a lot of producers / musicians would really appreciate this feature, I don't really know of any other software that could deal with this,
and mediamonkey is such an excellent program, if it has the ability to manage multiple libraries, it would open up a lot of new possibilities!

Even if there is a way around this already, it should be hassle-free, not require a lot of computer knowledge or a bag of tricks I think..

Lastly I would like to be able to create another separate library for my video collection, contain say only .avi, .meg, etc.

Adding multiple libraries and easy switching between them would be a great addition to mediamonkey, I'm sure!!

thanks for this great product, and I really hope the developers have plans in this direction!

onkel_enno
Posts: 2146
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:45 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by onkel_enno » Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:34 am

Would a startup-Dialog for choosing the Library do the Job?
Something like that:
Image

It could be done with Delphi (exe) or VBScript (vbs) or whatever.
SansaMonkey - for SanDisk Sansa and Rockbox Users

Please no PMs for Questions which should be asked in the Forum. Thx

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Fri Jan 27, 2006 4:17 am

All the script would need to do is display a screen asking for your selection, change the DBName entry in the ini file accordingly, and then run MM.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

Lowlander
Posts: 46282
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Post by Lowlander » Fri Jan 27, 2006 4:56 am

Yeah, that's all it would need to do. Just remember to allow network locations for DB's. And if you make it nice the script would first check if DB's exist/available and if only one exists it would auto load that one.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply