MM 3.0.0.1017 Feedback/Bugs/Questions

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

Teknojnky
Posts: 5533
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:01 pm
Contact:

MM 3.0.0.1017 Feedback/Bugs/Questions

Post by Teknojnky » Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:43 am

First off, very impressive. Quite amazing actually. Now if I can just get it to cook and clean... 8)

Some initial notes before I sleep: (clean install to new folder, did not import existing library or scripts or anything)

- player does not seem to be able to shrink down to 'windowshade' size like winamp can. Or at least I did not see how to yet.

- Quite a few of the mouse over are missing or on the wrong control.

- Auto-dj does not appear to work. EDIT: Ok, I got it to work by enable it on the PLAY menu, however enabling it the OPTIONS had no effect.

- read me file is for MM 2.5.1

- Only came with 1 skin, royal blue

+ LOVE THE ALBUM ART VIEWS WHEEEEEEE

+ LOVE THE ALBUM GAIN and auto analyze files missing analysis wuwu!

+ LOVE the new mini/toggleable progress bars

+ SUPER DUPER LOVE THE MULTIMONITOR SUPPORT WHOOHOOOO

Ok I must sleep now! :x

DaledeSilva
Posts: 893
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 4:22 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by DaledeSilva » Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:01 am

that's strange...

I installed to a new directory also... yes.. it didn't import the library but it did have all the files in now playing that I'd left in there before closing the old one.

then I close MM 3.0 and opened MM 2.5.5 and it said it was the first time I'd used it and the database was empty...

my latest backup isn't current but it's not too old so I'm not that fussed..

but where are the database files kept? - how could this have happened?

Dale.
My Plugins: PrettyPictures [v0.9.2], Forget Crossfade [v1.0], Behind Titlebars [v0.9], Filter Nodes [v1.0.1], View Mode [1.0], BPM.tapper [v1.0]
My Site: http://www.ublik-om.net

Big_Berny
Posts: 1784
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:55 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Big_Berny » Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:15 am

DaledeSilva wrote:then I close MM 3.0 and opened MM 2.5.5 and it said it was the first time I'd used it and the database was empty...
Ou shit, I haven't done a backup... Let's hope the best...

Big_Berny
Image
Scripts in use: Genre Finder / Last.fm DJ / Magic Nodes / AutoRateAccurate / Last.FM Node
Skins in use: ZuneSkin SP / Eclipse SP
AutoRateAccurate 3.0.0 (New) - Rates all your songs in less than 5 seconds!
About me: icoaching - internet | marketing | design

pah68
Posts: 1496
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 5:26 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by pah68 » Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:23 am

Do you have a mediamonkey.mdb.~mdb
if so, lop the .~mdb off the end. That'll be you pre 3.0 db
Image
Image

pah68
Posts: 1496
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 5:26 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: MM 3.0.0.1017 Feedback/Bugs/Questions

Post by pah68 » Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:26 am

Teknojnky wrote:+ LOVE THE ALBUM ART VIEWS WHEEEEEEE
What Album Art Views?? :-?
Image
Image

Miki
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 7:01 am
Location: England

Post by Miki » Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:43 am

The 4 little icon buttons below the toolbar, look like the views in explorer, press them ;)

Excellent build!
Love the fact that i can drag for my ratings!

My library didnt import either, but ive got plenty of backups so ill have a play around now.

Mike.

onkel_enno
Posts: 2146
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:45 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by onkel_enno » Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:50 am

DaledeSilva wrote: but where are the database files kept? - how could this have happened?
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=15384
point 1796 :wink:

I'm now looking, how I can get my old library into the new SQLite.
If there is a solution, please let us know.
SansaMonkey - for SanDisk Sansa and Rockbox Users

Please no PMs for Questions which should be asked in the Forum. Thx

Miki
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 7:01 am
Location: England

Post by Miki » Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:53 am

Thanks for pointing that out :)
Its still a bit early ... :P

Location of database is:
C:\Documents and Settings\<User>\Local Settings\Application Data\MediaMonkey

Sebastian78
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 4:17 am

Post by Sebastian78 » Fri Feb 16, 2007 6:36 am

GREAT.............I LOVE IT,IT LOOKS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(Even though I don't like the blue color around the "bars" but it looks great on the player. On the bars, it just looks like the Old "XP" blue)

I did't have any of my mp3 in the 3.0 but the last played mp3's showed up...

I DID make a backup of the 2.5 stuff.....phu


Then to the more serious stuff:
  • 1. Adding a folder with 10 albums took AGES
    2. For some reason, adding the files slowed my system down dramatically
    3. I lost internet connection on all programs wile scanning and it came back afterwards (not sure this is a MM bug but happened only on adding mp3's)
    4. The "Album Art (Now Playing)" is not centered. In the upper and left border, it's aligned, but there is an extra small blue border on the right
    5. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE ALBUM ART VIEWS.....BUT, an album with several different artists appears with 18 covers, one for each artist, even though they have one Album Artist.
    6. Don't think it reads ID tags properly.....I know I had one cd tagged with one "Album Artist" but it now only shows "Various" (RESOLVED, MY BAD)
    7. Would like the "Track Properties" different. The input spaces should be different color then the background.
    8. Still like the "old" way, with Track Title, Artist, Album next to each other
    9. Undocking the "Now Playing" window stalls/locks the window after a few seconds and then you can't close it, rezise or move.
    10. Can't dock it back....(ah, yes I can under "List")
    11. Ah, right clicking it locks/stalls it....need to restart to "unfreeze"
    12. PLUUUEEEAAASE, new splash screen...with a big FAT 3 point O'
    13. Changing between album view is too close to the "move icons" option, resulting in me moving the whole thing down to a new line
    14. I THINK I would like the OPTION (clue here is OPTION) to have ONE list of mp3's, the library view and have the "now playing" bold lettering moving on this list...
    15. When viewing the album art and the album tracks next to each other, I would like to have all the tracks collapsed from get-go (standard) and the option to HIDE them.
    16 VERY IMPORTANT: The shuffle button NEEDS to be next to the play/pause button. NOT the other side!!!
    17. Did I mention I love it?
    18. How about having icons (manageable) instead of the Music Explorer Three. If you just want "Artist", "Year", "Playlists" and "Album" for instance??? The other options could be drag down og menu items??
    19. The player should be reziable.....I would like it smaller...
    20. It still works with Foxy Tunes, GRRRRREAT!!
    21. I would like an Icon for a specific Folder Location, user changable, so I don't need to navigate several folder layers...
    22. Changing the "Album Artist" from Various too the artist, did not remove the multiple covers in album art view.
    23. A "Quick Shift" button to switch between views should be placed in the player window. To switch between Album Art view and List View
    24. The blue border arround the whole program window makes it look a bit "cramped" a more neutral color would make it blend with the screen better
    25. No "sound" glitches.....good
    26. What about the "Album Art Flip View" we saw somebody else make?
    27. You should use the same terms for extensions and themes that Mozilla/Firefox/Thunderbird uses..... Add-Ons and Themes

Image
Last edited by Sebastian78 on Sat Feb 17, 2007 6:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

mattisse
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:07 am

Post by mattisse » Fri Feb 16, 2007 7:14 am

0714 Added support for multiple Genres, Artists, Albums, CDs

I haven't quite figuered out how this is done.
Anyone's got a hint for me? :wink:

julzcompufreek
Posts: 440
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 5:46 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by julzcompufreek » Fri Feb 16, 2007 7:29 am

I'm a bit confused. Does MM 3.0 still support Microsoft Access Databases (.mdb)? or do we have to convert our existing library to the new .db format?

Also, there seems to be a MediaMonkey folder in My Music, plus c:\documents and settings\<user>\Local Settings\Application data\Mediamonkey. Which one is it. (I did a clean install and deleted all the MediaMonkey folders) (I did backup my database though)
Julian aka julzcompufreek
"Dancing is a contact sport; football is a Hitting sport." - Vince Lombardi
Visit My Blog - http://kompufreak.wordpress.com

PetrCBR
Posts: 1618
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Czech
Contact:

Post by PetrCBR » Fri Feb 16, 2007 7:36 am

julzcompufreek wrote:I'm a bit confused. Does MM 3.0 still support Microsoft Access Databases (.mdb)? or do we have to convert our existing library to the new .db format?

Also, there seems to be a MediaMonkey folder in My Music, plus c:\documents and settings\<user>\Local Settings\Application data\Mediamonkey. Which one is it. (I did a clean install and deleted all the MediaMonkey folders) (I did backup my database though)
MM3 doesn't use MDB file. We're using SQLite now and it's in the new location "c:\documents and settings\<user>\Local Settings\Application Data\Mediamonkey". And about DB conversion ... first alpha doesn't have DB converting functionality (we're mentioned it some time ago).

onkel_enno
Posts: 2146
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:45 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by onkel_enno » Fri Feb 16, 2007 7:46 am

PetrCBR wrote:first alpha doesn't have DB converting functionality (we're mentioned it some time ago).
I'm already working on a small conversion tool. Can't live without my old library - too much work :wink:
SansaMonkey - for SanDisk Sansa and Rockbox Users

Please no PMs for Questions which should be asked in the Forum. Thx

PetrCBR
Posts: 1618
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Czech
Contact:

Post by PetrCBR » Fri Feb 16, 2007 7:51 am

onkel_enno wrote:
PetrCBR wrote:first alpha doesn't have DB converting functionality (we're mentioned it some time ago).
I'm already working on a small conversion tool. Can't live without my old library - too much work :wink:
Nice, but we can't guarantee that new DB structure stays as is now in alpha. For this reason alpha hasn't built-in conversion utility.

PetrCBR
Posts: 1618
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Czech
Contact:

Re: MM 3.0.0.1017 Feedback/Bugs/Questions

Post by PetrCBR » Fri Feb 16, 2007 8:31 am

- player does not seem to be able to shrink down to 'windowshade' size like winamp can. Or at least I did not see how to yet.
Yes. In MM3 player doesn't have this functionality becouse MM3 supports fully user definable players (player in MM2 has defined size and can't be sized but in MM3 size and sizeability is in hand of the skin creator).
- Quite a few of the mouse over are missing or on the wrong control.
I'm not sure what you mean by this ? Can you send any screens (bugreports att mediamonkey dott com).
- Only came with 1 skin, royal blue
Yes. We have only one complete skin yet, but there's some other skins in progress.

Petr

Post Reply