3.0.0.1066: Artist & Album Artist node, Composer [3468]

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

Mizery_Made
Posts: 2283
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:09 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, United States

3.0.0.1066: Artist & Album Artist node, Composer [3468]

Post by Mizery_Made » Mon Aug 27, 2007 8:54 pm

After scanning in 2 albums with data in the Composer field, I opened the "Artist & Album Artist" node and was presented with nodes for Artists, Album Artists and to my surprise, Composer. The nodes created from Composer data are empty, but they show up in the Tree View.

On a side note, I love the new Composer node, specially that it supports multiple values, though I'm not a fan of the new direction for the Artist node. "Artist & Album Artist" as the name simply looks 'tacky' in my opinion and I also still feel there should be two separate nodes for these fields.

EDIT: Add Lyricist to the list of fields that get nodes (these are empty similar to that of Composer) under the "Artist & Album Artist" node.
Last edited by Mizery_Made on Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Danny
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 3:45 pm

Re: 3.0.0.1066: Artiust & Album Artist node, Composer

Post by Danny » Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:39 pm

Mizery_Made wrote:After scanning in 2 albums with data in the Composer field, I opened the "Artist & Album Artist" node and was presented with nodes for Artists, Album Artists and to my surprise, Composer. The nodes created from Composer data are empty, but they show up in the Tree View.

On a side note, I love the new Composer node, specially that it supports multiple values, though I'm not a fan of the new direction for the Artist node. "Artist & Album Artist" as the name simply looks 'tacky' in my opinion and I also still feel there should be two separate nodes for these fields.

EDIT: Add Lyricist to the list of fields that get nodes (these are empty similar to that of Composer) under the "Artist & Album Artist" node.
This is duplicated on my machine, with many, many empty composer nodes ?incorrectly? shown under the "Artist & Album Artist" node...

That aside, thanks for all the good work! :)
Danny

JrVtecAccord
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 1:28 am

Post by JrVtecAccord » Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:54 pm

Yeah, I saw that album & album artist when I first started a8. Clicked on it and was like wtf? I was upset thinking I couldn't configure it. Well after messing around in the options, you can set what fields you would like in the tree. It's under options - library - filters and views.

Mizery_Made
Posts: 2283
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:09 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, United States

Post by Mizery_Made » Tue Aug 28, 2007 12:02 am

I take back my comments about hating the new direction, because this is... simply... sweat! Lol. Though, that doesn't affect the problems with the "Artist & Album Artist" node much.

ledjpagezep
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:19 am

Post by ledjpagezep » Tue Aug 28, 2007 12:26 am

I don't understand why the default node has been changed to "Artist & Album Artist." For my library, it fills the tree with a bunch of names with no albums (making the list very difficult to use). Changing the options seems like an unnecessary step to get things the way they were before. I don't want to sound too negative though. I've been very impressed with each build. I actually find it very hard to go back to MM2 with all the new features MM3 has... "Album cover" view, track browser, improved search, etc.

Mizery_Made
Posts: 2283
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:09 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, United States

Post by Mizery_Made » Tue Aug 28, 2007 12:31 am

^ Because it's a bug, it's also trying to list Composers & Lyricists, and failing. It will need to be fixed.

Morten
Posts: 1092
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:31 am
Location: Norway

Post by Morten » Tue Aug 28, 2007 12:42 am

ledjpagezep wrote:I don't understand why the default node has been changed to "Artist & Album Artist." For my library, it fills the tree with a bunch of names with no albums (making the list very difficult to use). Changing the options seems like an unnecessary step to get things the way they were before. I don't want to sound too negative though. I've been very impressed with each build. I actually find it very hard to go back to MM2 with all the new features MM3 has... "Album cover" view, track browser, improved search, etc.
My filter settings removes "Artist" and "Artist & Album Artist"-node, but keeps the "Album Artist"-node. This works as a charm and the list is now optimized for my library of music.
Best regards,
Morten

onkel_enno
Posts: 2146
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:45 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by onkel_enno » Tue Aug 28, 2007 12:50 am

Really nice that I can now configure the Tree BUT if I now click the Artist-Button in the Shortcuts-Toolbar, it happens nothing. I've disabled the Artist & AlbumArtist Node.
EDIT:
And If i select the Artist-Node, all Artists are shown, but if I select one of these Artists, the tracks aren't shown.
SansaMonkey - for SanDisk Sansa and Rockbox Users

Please no PMs for Questions which should be asked in the Forum. Thx

tralla
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 1:18 pm

Post by tralla » Tue Aug 28, 2007 5:58 am

Hi all,

filters is only available for the gold version but navigation via the Artists node is a basic functionality.

I should expect an Artist node to show the tracks for this artist even if it's not the album artist.

IMHO this is a bug. Cheers, tralla

Mizery_Made
Posts: 2283
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:09 pm
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, United States

Post by Mizery_Made » Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:10 am

onkel_enno wrote:And If i select the Artist-Node, all Artists are shown, but if I select one of these Artists, the tracks aren't shown.
The artist node appears to be working fine for me, I expand it thus getting a list of all artists, click on an artist and the track DO show.

I think it may have been mentioned already but with the new "Artist & Album Artist" node hidden, "Frind More From Same Artist" no longer works. Maybe there is a way to have some kind of rule stating "Artist & Album Artist," but if it's hidden then this uses the "Artist" node, and if both are hidden, it tries to find the artist in the "Album Artist" node?

frodon
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 10:50 am

Post by frodon » Tue Aug 28, 2007 10:58 am

This is a nasty little bug that messes up my library.

And the artist or albumartist nodes aren't good replacements either. Guess it's back to the alpha7 for the time being... :cry:
Last edited by frodon on Wed Aug 29, 2007 1:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

frodon
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 10:50 am

Post by frodon » Tue Aug 28, 2007 11:01 am

My filter settings removes "Artist" and "Artist & Album Artist"-node, but keeps the "Album Artist"-node. This works as a charm and the list is now optimized for my library of music.

The problem with this (at least in my library) is that the album tag is blank on some songs.

And those artists won't show in the "Album artist" node...

nojac
Posts: 517
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 12:23 pm
Location: Norway

Post by nojac » Tue Aug 28, 2007 5:29 pm

Probably the most irritating bug in the history of MM3 Alphas..... I suddenly understand why they call it Alpha, not Beta.

Gold users can fix it, standard users can't and should keep their A7.

Or is there something I have missed?

frodon
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 10:50 am

Post by frodon » Wed Aug 29, 2007 1:52 am

nojac wrote:Gold users can fix it, standard users can't and should keep their A7.

Well, I'm a gold user, and would be very happy if someone could explain how to fix this.

As far as I can see, the filters won't help.

Anezzum
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 3:21 am

Yeah right advice many thanks for that. Its working :-)

Post by Anezzum » Wed Aug 29, 2007 6:29 am

Morten wrote:
ledjpagezep wrote:I don't understand why the default node has been changed to "Artist & Album Artist." For my library, it fills the tree with a bunch of names with no albums (making the list very difficult to use). Changing the options seems like an unnecessary step to get things the way they were before. I don't want to sound too negative though. I've been very impressed with each build. I actually find it very hard to go back to MM2 with all the new features MM3 has... "Album cover" view, track browser, improved search, etc.
My filter settings removes "Artist" and "Artist & Album Artist"-node, but keeps the "Album Artist"-node. This works as a charm and the list is now optimized for my library of music.

Post Reply