Page 2 of 2

Re: I cannot install or uninstall any extension (Vista) BUG#5072

Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 7:17 pm
by MetalFrog
Let's expand on this a little.

Running MediaMonkey as an Administrator I can remove extensions, but when I go to install them (even after closing, restarting mm) I can't do it. It loads a separate instance of MM, which I assume is not running as an admin, and it won't install.

Re: I cannot install or uninstall any extension (Vista) BUG#5072

Posted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 3:26 am
by rovingcowboy
so your saying the mmip will now not load at all?

you have been running mediamonkey first, then clicking on the mmip then going to mediamonkey to see the install panel for the mmip. and it is not there? can you shrink the monkey to the onscreen now playing list only and see if the panel is behind monkey? or did you do that?

did you make sure the service to run second logon in vista for apps that need it is turned on.?
use the "MZ Ultimate Tweaker " to look at the service's that one has a good discription of the services so i use it.
did that help?

:-?

Re: I cannot install or uninstall any extension (Vista) BUG#5072

Posted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 9:49 am
by MetalFrog
- MediaMonkey is running as an administrator.
- I double click a mmip (or right click and install MediaMonkey Pacakage).
- A separate process of MediaMonkey starts to run (along side the instance that was started with administrator privileges).
---- The extension tries to install on the newly opened MediaMonkey instance (that does not have administrative privilege).
-------- The extension cannot be installed with the same error as if I had run MediaMonkey without admin privs.
---- I close the second instance of MediaMonkey, try again and the same thing happens.

This happens regardless of what I set the allow only one instance of MediaMonkey option. I was forced to open the mmip with an extraction utility and install the extensions manually.

Re: I cannot install or uninstall any extension (Vista) BUG#5072

Posted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:44 pm
by nohitter151
MetalFrog wrote:- MediaMonkey is running as an administrator.
- I double click a mmip (or right click and install MediaMonkey Pacakage).
- A separate process of MediaMonkey starts to run (along side the instance that was started with administrator privileges).
---- The extension tries to install on the newly opened MediaMonkey instance (that does not have administrative privilege).
-------- The extension cannot be installed with the same error as if I had run MediaMonkey without admin privs.
---- I close the second instance of MediaMonkey, try again and the same thing happens.

This happens regardless of what I set the allow only one instance of MediaMonkey option. I was forced to open the mmip with an extraction utility and install the extensions manually.
This issue is unrelated to the one brought up in the original post and can be tracked here: http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=5252