Context menu empty if "Now Playing" window undocked BUG#5402

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

rogerr
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 8:02 pm

Context menu empty if "Now Playing" window undocked BUG#5402

Post by rogerr » Sat Mar 07, 2009 5:58 pm

Build 1225 - Vista
If the "Now Playing" window undocked, and when selecting a song in the main windows list, the context menu "Find More From Same" does not get populated with any options. If the "Now Playing" window is docked, the context menu works properly.

rogerr
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 8:02 pm

Re: Context menu empty if "Now Playing" window undocked

Post by rogerr » Sat Mar 14, 2009 2:07 pm

still broken in build 1227

Lowlander
Posts: 46283
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Context menu empty if "Now Playing" window undocked

Post by Lowlander » Tue Mar 17, 2009 7:24 pm

I can't reproduce. When the Now Playing is undocked selecting a track either in the Now Playing window or the Track Listing gives me the expected Find More options.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Context menu empty if "Now Playing" window undocked

Post by nohitter151 » Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:39 pm

Works fine here as well.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

flashk
Posts: 188
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 5:04 pm

Re: Context menu empty if "Now Playing" window undocked

Post by flashk » Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:17 pm

I can reproduce this using the latest version (1227). Here are the exact steps I took:

1) Start MediaMonkey
2) Undock "Now Playing" panel
3) Right click any track in the main tracks list
4) "Find more from same" sub-menu is empty

If I right click a track in the "Now Playing" panel, then subsequent right-clicks on the main tracks list will populate the "Find more from same" menu correctly. I'm using Vista as well.

REIKA
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 1:32 am
Location: Osaka , Japan

Re: Context menu empty if "Now Playing" window undocked

Post by REIKA » Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:40 pm

I also can reproduce.
If I right click a track in the "Now Playing" panel, then subsequent right-clicks on the main tracks list will populate the "Find more from same" menu correctly.


No, another strange issue is occurred.

A menu about track chosen on "Now Playing" window is displayed even if I choose "Find More From Same" menu on the track in main list.

MM3.1.0.1227
Win10 64bit , MM4.1 Gold , Japanese Lang files
dsp_vst + iZotope Ozone + out_asio , Magic Nodes , Minilyrics
MM Japanese Wiki : http://mediamonkey.xn--m8jfw.jp/index.php?FrontPage

Timo_Beil
Posts: 417
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 1:00 pm
Location: Germany, Northern Heath

Re: Context menu empty if "Now Playing" window undocked

Post by Timo_Beil » Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:29 am

To make it more reproducable:

1. Del all tracks from NowPlaying
2. Undock NowPlaying
3. Hide NowPlaying
4. Show NowPlaying
5. Context in MainPane: --> Find more... is there
6. Make one click at NowPlaying
7. Context in MainPane: --> Find more-... is empty
8. Hide and show NowPlaying: --> Context reappears.

-- Timo
Win 10 pro, MM 5.0.0.2164, Media and DB on NAS, Play to: Pioneer VSX-922

Ludek
Posts: 3083
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Context menu empty if "Now Playing" window undocked

Post by Ludek » Thu Mar 19, 2009 5:51 am

I have not been able to reproduce this too, but now I can.
Strange, nevertheless it is fixed in build 1228:
http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=5402

rogerr
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 8:02 pm

Re: Context menu empty if "Now Playing" window undocked BUG#5402

Post by rogerr » Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:23 pm

This is NOT fixed in 1228.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Context menu empty if "Now Playing" window undocked BUG#5402

Post by nohitter151 » Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:00 pm

rogerr wrote:This is NOT fixed in 1228.
Are you sure? I was finally able to reproduce this in 1227 (I misunderstood the original bug) but it now works fine here in 1228.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

rogerr
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 8:02 pm

Re: Context menu empty if "Now Playing" window undocked BUG#5402

Post by rogerr » Mon Mar 23, 2009 4:03 pm

Yes, the original defect is easily reproducible on my system: Vista Home 32 bit, NVIDIA graphics, dual monitor. The undocked/floating playlist can be on either monitor and the defect still reproduces. Close the playlist window and the context menu is displayed correctly.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Context menu empty if "Now Playing" window undocked BUG#5402

Post by nohitter151 » Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:06 pm

rogerr wrote:Yes, the original defect is easily reproducible on my system: Vista Home 32 bit, NVIDIA graphics, dual monitor. The undocked/floating playlist can be on either monitor and the defect still reproduces. Close the playlist window and the context menu is displayed correctly.
I have a dual monitor setup as well but it is not reproducible on 1228.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

rogerr
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 8:02 pm

Re: Context menu empty if "Now Playing" window undocked BUG#5402

Post by rogerr » Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:10 pm

Then there must be another factor. I guarantee I am running build 1228. (Installed after a clean reboot.)
Can someone else repro the defect?

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Context menu empty if "Now Playing" window undocked BUG#5402

Post by nohitter151 » Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:17 pm

Ah, now I see. There is an issue still if the Now Playing list has been cleared. I wasn't clearing the Now Playing list before going to Find more from same. Sorry for the misunderstanding. Reopened 5402: http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=5402
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Ludek
Posts: 3083
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Context menu empty if "Now Playing" window undocked BUG#5402

Post by Ludek » Tue Mar 24, 2009 4:36 am

I cannot reproduce in 1228 (after the fix).
Could you please provide me with some screenshots in order to ensure that I am using the exact same steps as you.

1. Run MM
2. Cleared NP (via NP menu -> Edit -> Clear)
3. Right-clicked a track in the main panel
4. Find more from same is properly filled up

Couldn't this be a test error? e.g. if you clear NP and then select NP node in the main explorer tree and right click then the 'Find More From Same' menu is empty, but this is intended, because there are no tracks in NP that could be associated.

Post Reply