High CPU utilization

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

SocietyDweller
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 4:06 pm

High CPU utilization

Post by SocietyDweller » Tue Mar 10, 2009 4:10 pm

Since I upgraded to version 3.1.0.1224, when playing MP3, cpu utilization is very high. Looks worst when using playlist. I tried 3.1.0.1225 but have the same issue. That problem was not there before 3.1.0.1224... not sure what to check. I'm also using the Last.fm Scrobbler 1.0.2.12. Which is running very fine.

Thanks

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: High CPU utilization

Post by nohitter151 » Tue Mar 10, 2009 5:50 pm

There was some discussion if maybe the higher CPU was due to the last.fm plugin, have you tried disabling it to see if it still occurs?
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Lowlander
Posts: 46093
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: High CPU utilization

Post by Lowlander » Tue Mar 10, 2009 7:16 pm

Do you have high CPU usage when MediaMonkey switches to the next track (and shortly after) or during playback of tracks itself as well? And yes for me the last.fm script is the culprit.
What are your hardware specifications?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

SocietyDweller
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 4:06 pm

Re: High CPU utilization

Post by SocietyDweller » Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:27 pm

I'll try to disable the last.fm plugin as soon as I have a few minutes and see if it change something. Cpu usage is always high. Higher at the beginning and the end but still high during the full song.

I'm running it on a Dell laptop Latitude D610
Intel Pentium M 755 / 2.13 GHz
With 2 GB of ram

SocietyDweller
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 4:06 pm

Re: High CPU utilization

Post by SocietyDweller » Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:21 am

Ok... finally looks like the Last.fm Scrobbler Plug-in was causing that high cpu utilization. Any idea why? There's no errors in the logs.

Peke
Posts: 12368
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: High CPU utilization

Post by Peke » Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:42 pm

The CPU usage spike should be only tenth of second until AV clears plugin thread to access internet and IE settings.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

fourteen
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: High CPU utilization

Post by fourteen » Sat Mar 28, 2009 3:53 pm

I installed 3.1.0.1229 (beta) (on Vista) and am noticing high cpu utilization as well. I don't (think I) have any last.fm plugin, I have never installed such a thing and looking in the Plugin folder I don't see anything that resembles last.fm.

When I start up MediaMonkey (even with an empty library - by removing AppData/Local/MediaMonkey and letting MediaMonkey re-create an empty one) it uses 45-50% of the cpu (single cpu system). While sitting there doing nothing and using 45-50% of the cpu time there are NO messages emitted in the DebugView window.

fourteen
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: High CPU utilization

Post by fourteen » Sat Mar 28, 2009 4:00 pm

Well, I found the problem - it is d_iPhone.dll again. I thought I had read that the problem with d_iPhone.dll had been fixed...

Previously, at least in 3.0.6.1190 and earlier, d_iPhone.dll prevented MediaMonkey from starting up and you had to rename or remove it.
Now, in 3.1.0.1229, MediaMonkey does start up but uses a lot of cpu. Renaming or removing d_iPhone.dll in my 3.1.0.1229 installation brings cpu usage down to 0%.

(The system is Vista and QuickTime is not installed, or at least it hasn't been kept up to date, it is possibly disabled.)

0rca
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 7:45 pm

Re: High CPU utilization

Post by 0rca » Thu Feb 11, 2010 10:53 am

Old post, but just for what it's worth: Deleting d_iPhone.dll did the trick for me too. Running 3.2.0.1294

stevefuzzy
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:55 pm

Re: High CPU utilization

Post by stevefuzzy » Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:34 pm

I just upgraded to v3.2.1.1297, and upon startup MM immediately proceeded to use 100% of my dual-core CPU. I wasn't playing music, or doing anything at all.
Deleting d_iPhone.dll (and d_Ipod.dll for good measure) once again, then restarting MM seems to have fixed the issue.

BTW, as soon as I plug my iPhone into the computer, MM crashes (even after I removed these dlls).

Now why can't they fix this once and for all? :x

Vyper
Posts: 845
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 5:53 pm

Re: High CPU utilization

Post by Vyper » Thu Jul 08, 2010 6:19 am

Odd that it's been out for 10 days and you're the only one to report this. I'm wondering if there's something specific to your system causing this to happen? Image
Stop Button Freak

abraxxa
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 1:18 pm

Re: High CPU utilization

Post by abraxxa » Thu Jul 08, 2010 2:48 pm

Here MM 3.2.1.1297 has exactly 50% CPU usage with iTunes 9.2 installed too!

abraxxa
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 1:18 pm

Re: High CPU utilization

Post by abraxxa » Sat Jul 24, 2010 12:48 pm

3.2.2.1298 still has 50% cpu usage all the time, quite annoying!

abraxxa
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 1:18 pm

Re: High CPU utilization

Post by abraxxa » Sat Jul 31, 2010 12:41 pm

No response from the MediaMonkey Team?
The high cpu load seems to stop after about 30 minutes but MM hangs on close every time.

Lowlander
Posts: 46093
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: High CPU utilization

Post by Lowlander » Sat Jul 31, 2010 12:56 pm

Try to create a debug log as it will show what MediaMonkey is doing, like this it is impossible to tell. Do you have any addons installed?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply