I dont like how (MM scrolls in Now Playing by itself)

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

rusty
Posts: 7228
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: I dont like how (MM scrolls in Now Playing by itself)

Post by rusty » Tue May 05, 2009 8:37 am

Robojock,

Thanks for the video. Unfortunately, I still can't repro, but perhaps if you explain something... in your video it seems you CTRL-A to select all the tracks, then right-click > Analyze Volume. Then somehow all the tracks are deselected except for the first track, without your cursor actually making that selection. Can you explain how that happened? I doubt it's relevant, but I'm grasping...

Thx.

-Rusty

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: I dont like how (MM scrolls in Now Playing by itself)

Post by rovingcowboy » Tue May 05, 2009 9:17 am

i wasn't too far off base on it since office has been known to mess with the sound drivers before why not with the mouse and keyboard drivers? i've got errors here when typing these messages the wrong combo of keys hit will make the focus go to the browser. the error is not monkey its this keyboard and drivers i got from ms. so presuming something is messing with your drivers too is based on actual driver troubles here. and the fact the main developer for mediamonkey can't reproduce your error. but there is the chance its hardware on your systems that is not liked. so get the beta version if you have it already do a manual crash when you are getting the error.

when you do that anything that is being done by monkey will be in the report send that one to rusty so he can see in the report what is going on. some where in the forum rusty said before how to do a manual crash of mediamonkey. but ask him again he might say again.

8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

robojock
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 12:01 pm
Location: Windhoek,Namibia

Re: I dont like how (MM scrolls in Now Playing by itself)

Post by robojock » Tue May 05, 2009 1:54 pm

Hi Rusty

Why that happens is because the recording software i was using "skips frames" so you dont see the mouse move to where i select the 1st song.
I have tried this now on a xp machine and i still get the same effect :(

Rusty, Can you do this?

1. Select all the songs
2. Right click > Analyze Volume
3. Select the 1st song in the list
4. Scroll down till you cant see the selected file
5. Just wait a bit till the volume analyzing has found a song without the analysis info and tags it... you'll see mediamonkey then jumps up to the track you selected.

Hope this helps

robojock
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 12:01 pm
Location: Windhoek,Namibia

Re: I dont like how (MM scrolls in Now Playing by itself)

Post by robojock » Sun May 17, 2009 2:52 am

This issue is also not fixed :(

Peke
Posts: 12591
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: I dont like how (MM scrolls in Now Playing by itself)

Post by Peke » Sun May 17, 2009 7:04 am

I have one question, can you try to close track Browser and retest?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

k_r_eriksson
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Gotland, Sweden

Re: I dont like how (MM scrolls in Now Playing by itself)

Post by k_r_eriksson » Sun May 17, 2009 3:39 pm

What have you done with the Now Playing? I use the artist and album artist node to edit my tags and the now playing panel is dock so I can rate my songs when i'm listening. I use shuffle. When I rate a song and hit next it doesn't scroll any more. I guess this is what Rusty talked about in this post. What do I do to get the now playing panel to scroll to the song I'm listening to so I can rate it? It is very annoying........

robojock
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 12:01 pm
Location: Windhoek,Namibia

Re: I dont like how (MM scrolls in Now Playing by itself)

Post by robojock » Mon May 18, 2009 2:37 pm

Peke wrote:I have one question, can you try to close track Browser and retest?
Could you please explain how i do that? Im a little bit lost now :roll:

Peke
Posts: 12591
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: I dont like how (MM scrolls in Now Playing by itself)

Post by Peke » Mon May 18, 2009 6:41 pm

@robojock
Disable View-> Show track Browser and try to replicate again.

@k_r_eriksson
Open Now playing in Track Browser and also have it open separately then select track in Now Playing -> Next -> Track view should focus to track -> Rate/select Track in Track View -> Next -> Now Playing Should focus on Track -> Select library Tree Node -> Leave Mouse cursor on players next Button on for 15 Sec -> next -> Now playing Should Focus Track. That Means Smart Focusing, I know that it needs to get used to but trust me it is much better than current behavior.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

robojock
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 12:01 pm
Location: Windhoek,Namibia

Re: I dont like how (MM scrolls in Now Playing by itself)

Post by robojock » Tue May 19, 2009 12:13 am

Peke wrote:@robojock
Disable View-> Show track Browser and try to replicate again.
You right!!!! :D With the track browser disabled it does not scroll back the moment i enable the track browser and the volume analyzing tags a song it scrolls back to the selected mp3 ;)

k_r_eriksson
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: Gotland, Sweden

Re: I dont like how (MM scrolls in Now Playing by itself)

Post by k_r_eriksson » Tue May 19, 2009 12:23 pm

Peke wrote: @k_r_eriksson
Open Now playing in Track Browser and also have it open separately then select track in Now Playing -> Next -> Track view should focus to track -> Rate/select Track in Track View -> Next -> Now Playing Should focus on Track -> Select library Tree Node -> Leave Mouse cursor on players next Button on for 15 Sec -> next -> Now playing Should Focus Track. That Means Smart Focusing, I know that it needs to get used to but trust me it is much better than current behavior.
I'll get use to it. Like all stupid functions you learn to work around them. The only way to get the now playing to focus on the track is to click in track view (track view shows artist and album artist) and then wait for maybe 10 sec before I click on next (5 sec was to little but it worked with 10 sec). I can't click on track view and then click next whitout waiting. If i'm stupid to forget about the smart focusing it's no way to get now playing to focus. I then have to click on track view and wait for 10 sec and then click on next and then back.

Smart focusing means rate track and wait for 10 sec and then click on next after I've click in track browser. So every rating takes 10 sec extra. How that can be much better than current behaivor I don't understand.

rusty
Posts: 7228
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: I dont like how (MM scrolls in Now Playing by itself)

Post by rusty » Thu May 21, 2009 8:51 pm

Thanks for everyone's persistence on this issue (unintended scrolling). I've entered a bug at:
http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=5653

I've also re-opened another bug regarding k_r_erikson's complaint about the fact that users manually switching tracks must wait before focus is shifted:
http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=5536

-Rusty

Benn
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:59 am
Location: Cornwall, United Kingdom

Re: I dont like how (MM scrolls in Now Playing by itself)

Post by Benn » Tue May 26, 2009 11:51 am

Mine is maybe a simpler issue:

I am playing my library in shuffle, am viewing the NP node; track#3 is playing, but I double-click to play track#5 because I prefer it. When track#5 finishes, and shuffle takes me somewhere at the other end of the list, the NP still shows track#5 centrally.

I can't follow the issues above, but I am using 3.1... 1247 build.

rusty
Posts: 7228
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: I dont like how (MM scrolls in Now Playing by itself)

Post by rusty » Wed May 27, 2009 11:19 am

These issues should all be addressed in the next build (1249+).

-Rusty

fourteen
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: I dont like how (MM scrolls in Now Playing by itself)

Post by fourteen » Wed May 27, 2009 5:56 pm

rusty wrote:Thanks for everyone's persistence on this issue (unintended scrolling). I've entered a bug at:
http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=5653
You said, and that link states, it has been fixed in 1249 - great.

That bug report mentions the problem occuring when doing Analyze Volume. FYI, I am running into the same thing while using the "Files to Edit/Unsynchronized Tags" node as well. Perhaps/probably the fix takes care of that too, but I wanted to mention it since we don't have access to 1249+ yet (but you do so you can check it).

Post Reply