Year not showing in version 3.1

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

Sammy20
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 5:42 am

Year not showing in version 3.1

Post by Sammy20 » Thu Jun 11, 2009 6:55 am

I upgraded from version 3.0 to 3.1 (backed up .ini, and .db file, then did a clean install of 3.1 beta). Everything works fine and dandy, except the year is not showing in the date filed. Even when I select properties, the date isn't show there. I've tried rescanning all the files, optimizing the database, re-tagging with mp3tag, and still nothing.

The only thing that does work is starting a new db file, and rescanning all the files - then yes that works perfectly, but I don't want to do that, cause I will lose all my playcounts and play history, thats it though, since everything else I have is saved in my tags.

Does anyone know what I can try? Is there a script that can help me?


+I'm using version 3.1.0.1250. My 3.0 database was converted with a early version of 3.1beta (can't remember which one).
+All my tags are saved with mp3tag (latest version) as ID3v2.3 UTF-16
+Even completely new tracks added to the database don't get their date date read. I think something might be wrong with my .db file.

Lowlander
Posts: 46648
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Year not showing in version 3.1

Post by Lowlander » Thu Jun 11, 2009 11:09 am

Moved to the beta forum as this is an issue with a beta version.

Which version of the beta are you using (Help > About)?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

rusty
Posts: 7265
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Year not showing in version 3.1

Post by rusty » Thu Jun 11, 2009 12:10 pm

It sounds like you're db is corrupted--early 3.1 builds had problems with the 3.0-->3.1 upgrade :(

I suggest either a) rescanning b) reverting to your 3.0 db (it should be backed up in the same directory as your 3.1 db), and letting the current 3.1 build do the 3.0 --> 3.1 upgrade.

-Rusty

Sammy20
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 5:42 am

Re: Year not showing in version 3.1

Post by Sammy20 » Thu Jun 11, 2009 9:00 pm

I see, thanks for your input.

Does anyone know a script that can back up 'Last Played' data? Or can transfer what was Last Played to a new database? i figured I can just use last.fm playcount importer for the playcounts, but all I need now is something that will do with last played field.

Sammy20
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 5:42 am

Re: Year not showing in version 3.1

Post by Sammy20 » Sat Jun 27, 2009 3:55 am

After a lot of playing around and testing. I've come to the conclusion that its a Windows 7 issue. If I use the database and INI files in XP SP3 with MM3.1 it works perfectly, and the date shows up perfectly.

Strange how this happens, but I guess this is what happens when I use a beta operating system, and should probably wait until Windows 7 is officially supported by the Mediamonkey team.

Post Reply