1282 ReplayGain tags on M4A/AAC files [#7839]

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

whitehat2k9
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 1:35 pm

1282 ReplayGain tags on M4A/AAC files [#7839]

Post by whitehat2k9 » Sun Nov 01, 2009 1:39 pm

I know that MediaMonkey saved replay/album gain tags to MP3 files after analysis. However, this seems not to be the case with m4a/AAC files. I just moved my library and did a DB reset, and it started (re)-analyzing the volume for tracks that I know were already analyzed. This implies that the volume info, at least for m4a files is saved only in the DB and not in the tag?

rusty
Posts: 7266
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: 1282 ReplayGain tags on M4A/AAC files

Post by rusty » Mon Nov 02, 2009 3:52 pm

whitehat2k9,

I just tested this and the replay gain tags _are_ being saved correctly. e.g. select all tracks in an album, verify that Track and Album Gain tags exist, delete the tracks from the library, and rescan --> Track/Album Gain values are populated.

Could it be that some or all tracks were missing album gain calculations (in which case all tracks on the album are re-analyzed)?

-Rusty

etheriau
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 11:28 am
Location: Montréal

Re: 1282 ReplayGain tags on M4A/AAC files

Post by etheriau » Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:32 am

Were those files tagged with DBpoweramp?

Looks like MM 3 and 4 don't read REPLAYGAIN tags in uppercase (which is how DBpoweramp writes RG tags in Applelossless files)

Foobar takes both lowercase and uppercase replaygain tags but not MM3-4.

I think this should be fixed in MM.
thx

etheriau
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 11:28 am
Location: Montréal

Re: 1282 ReplayGain tags on M4A/AAC files

Post by etheriau » Thu May 19, 2011 12:20 pm

Problem is logged in the bug tracker. Thx guys:

http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=7839

Post Reply