1357: MM4 localization issues (updated)

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

gege
Posts: 861
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

1357: MM4 localization issues (updated)

Post by gege » Mon Feb 21, 2011 9:39 pm

Edit: updated to reflect status of each issue, as of build 1357.

With the start of localization process for MM4, some bugs have raised. All issues reported here are being tracked by:
issue 7413 and issue 7546.


The following strings are missing in localization files:
  • Tracks added within 30 days (in playlists node) [FIXED]
  • Classical music (node) [FIXED, should be translated in a clean install]
  • File list (HTML) (from report menu) [FIXED]
  • Video (node) [FIXED, should be translated in a clean install]
  • MusicMatch Situation [Not a bug, should not exist in a clean install]


The following fields, in Options dialog, are missing tooltips:
  • General > Show splash screen at startup [Won't be FIXED]
  • OS Integration > Default Action for files [Won't be FIXED]
  • Library > Generate thumbnails for videos [FIXED]
  • Media Tree > Up, Down, New and Delete icons [FIXED]
  • Collection Options > Enable Grouping (Artwork views) [Won't be FIXED]

Collection Options > Icon tab [FIXED]
  • "Choose new" and "Reset to default" buttons should have the same size, simply because from a language to another their size will vary. Suggestion: make both have size of the bigger one.
Wrong file filter when selection an icon for a Collection: [FIXED]
  • All (*.ico)|*.ico|Icons (*.ico)|*.ico --> All (*.*)|*.*|Icons (*.ico)|*.ico
Share Tree&Columns settings [FIXED]
  • Share Tree&Columns settings --> Share Tree & Columns settings:
  • Translated text is being cut off
  • 'none' is not localized
Last edited by gege on Sat Apr 02, 2011 10:07 am, edited 11 times in total.

gege
Posts: 861
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

Cut-off text

Post by gege » Mon Feb 21, 2011 9:44 pm

The following strings are cut-off when localized
  • Art & Details window > Select fields > "Text height" ("Text size" would be better wording, IMO) [FIXED]
  • Search dialog > Basic tab > Date field > "to" [FIXED]
Last edited by gege on Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

gege
Posts: 861
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

Inconsistencies

Post by gege » Mon Feb 21, 2011 9:52 pm

  • Although 'Auto-DJ' is the correct nome of the feature, 'Auto DJ' is also used in default.po. [FIXED]
  • Inconsistent use of .m3u vs M3U / .xspf vs XSPF: I think it is supposed that .m3u/.xspf (lower case) should be used when referring to the extension, and M3U/XSPF (upper case) should be used when referring to the file format itself. But is is not always like this, both forms are used inconsistently.[FIXED]
  • Advanced Search > Add search criteria > File type property: extensions have mixed case in the list. [FIXED]
  • Audio CD vs audio CD is used inconsistently throughout localization files.[NOT FIXED, There are still two occurences of 'audio CD'. In fact these strings are duplicated with both capitalizations: 'Buy audio CDs at CDUniverse', 'Buy audio CDs at Amazon'.]
Last edited by gege on Sat Apr 02, 2011 10:23 am, edited 3 times in total.

gege
Posts: 861
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

Script strings missing in catalog

Post by gege » Mon Feb 21, 2011 9:55 pm

Some bundled scripts use the SDB.Localize function with most strings, but some of these strings are missing in official catalog. No change in scripts' code is necessary in this case. Adding the following strings to the end of default.po file is enough (I already do this extra-officially in pt-br):
[FIXED]

Code: Select all

# Script: Case Checker
msgid "Old Value: "
msgstr ""

msgid "Recommended changes to capitalization:"
msgstr ""

msgid "Case Checker"
msgstr ""

msgid "Select tracks to be updated"
msgstr ""

# Script: Export all playlists
msgid "Select where to export all M3U files."
msgstr ""

# Script: Export subscribed podcasts
msgid "Select where to export the OPML file."
msgstr ""

msgid "My podcasts"
msgstr ""

# Script: Create Reports > Statistics
msgid "Generated by "
msgstr ""

msgid " ON "
msgstr ""

msgid
Last edited by gege on Sat Apr 02, 2011 10:20 am, edited 3 times in total.

gege
Posts: 861
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

Script strings missing localization

Post by gege » Mon Feb 21, 2011 9:59 pm

Some bundled scripts don't use the SDB.Localize function with certain strings, and thus they can't be localized. Some small change in scripts' code is necessary.

These are the strings:

- Script: Create Reports > File list (HTML)
"Generated by " [FIXED]

- Script: Case Checker
"Select tracks to be updated" [FIXED]

- Script: Create Reports > Statistics
Resulting date in footer is printed always in english form, it's not localized. [Won't be FIXED]
Last edited by gege on Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:29 am, edited 6 times in total.

gege
Posts: 861
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

What are these?

Post by gege » Mon Feb 21, 2011 10:07 pm

Where the following strings are used (so I can verify if they are fine in context)?
  • HDTracks
  • Move Video Using Sliders:

rusty
Posts: 7217
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: What are these?

Post by rusty » Tue Feb 22, 2011 2:13 pm

gege wrote:Where the following strings are used (so I can verify if they are fine in context)?
  • HDTracks
  • Move Video Using Sliders:
HDTracks doesn't need to be translated, but it should appear sub to the web node.
Move Video using sliders appears when playing a video, right click > Adjust video > Move

btw, thanks for all the feedback.

-Rusty

REIKA
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 1:32 am
Location: Osaka , Japan

Re: MM4 localization issues

Post by REIKA » Tue Feb 22, 2011 3:13 pm

"HDTracks" is here.
Tools > Options > Appearance > Show Links in File List: > HDTracks


File list (HTML)
You need to change strings in DB.po file .

msgid "Track List (&HTML)"
-> msgid "File List (&HTML)"
Win10 64bit , MM4.1 Gold , Japanese Lang files
dsp_vst + iZotope Ozone + out_asio , Magic Nodes , Minilyrics
MM Japanese Wiki : http://mediamonkey.xn--m8jfw.jp/index.php?FrontPage

gege
Posts: 861
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

"Scan at startup" wraps unnecessarily

Post by gege » Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:00 am

In "Add/Rescan folders" dialog, the "Scan at startup" string wraps unnecessarily when translated to pt-br.
As we can see in image below, there's enough room for it to fit in one single line, just like "Scan continuously" does.
[FIXED]

Image
Last edited by gege on Mon Mar 28, 2011 9:05 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: MM4 localization issues

Post by Dreadlau » Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:08 am

Also the two icons are not rendered correctly.
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

gege
Posts: 861
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: [1355] MM4 localization issues

Post by gege » Fri Mar 18, 2011 7:28 am

I have updated all issues I reported above, showing current status (as of build 1355).

gege
Posts: 861
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

[1355] Wrong string in installer, using pt-br

Post by gege » Fri Mar 18, 2011 7:41 am

When installing MM4, using pt-br, "Additional icons:" string is displayed as "=cones adicionais:" when it should be "Ícones adicionais:". String is correct in both "install.po" and "BrazilianPortuguese-16-5.1.0-rev.isl", but I suspect this is coming from an *.isl provided by the NSIS team, not me.

"Create a &Quick Launch icon" suffers from the same problem. It should be "Criar ícone na Barra de Ícones", although in my *.isl it is better translated as "Criar ícone na &Barra de Inicialização Rápida"

[FIXED]

Image

Image
Last edited by gege on Thu Mar 24, 2011 7:29 am, edited 2 times in total.

gege
Posts: 861
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

[1355] Built-in Collection names not localized

Post by gege » Fri Mar 18, 2011 7:45 am

As of build 1355, all built-in Collections names are not localized.
[FIXED, it only needs a clean install, because the translated collection names are picked during database creation. Workaround for existing databases: go to 'File > Manage Collections...', then edit each Collection and rename it.]
Last edited by gege on Fri Mar 18, 2011 1:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rusty
Posts: 7217
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: [1355] MM4 localization issues

Post by rusty » Fri Mar 18, 2011 1:00 pm

Thanks. Tracked at: http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=7546

Note: please try to do a clean install--it should resolve some of the issues re. Collection names that weren't localized.

-Rusty

gege
Posts: 861
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: [1355] MM4 localization issues

Post by gege » Fri Mar 18, 2011 2:07 pm

rusty wrote:Thanks. Tracked at: http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=7546
Note: please try to do a clean install--it should resolve some of the issues re. Collection names that weren't localized.
Thanks, rusty. I edited (again) all issues of this thread with latest status.
A clean install resolves that problem indeed.

Post Reply