last.fm doesn't work

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: last.fm doesn't work

Post by nynaevelan » Sun May 22, 2011 7:21 am

Pman2009 wrote:Mine worked instanstly and a bit like above you need to make sure you run MM under "run as admin" and untick the option for current user, ie you want it to work for all users on your computer.

Things to check are:

1. Under Tools>Extensions there's only 1 Last.fm ext installed. If there's two then uninstall the one "for current user only"
2. Under C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey delete all last.fm entries, most likely a auto file with last.fm in it too (if exists).
3. Under Tools>Options, under submission rules that only ".....submit tracks if Album metadata exists" is ticked NOTHING else.
(Note. on the "...part of the library" option ticked does also work but it depends on your luck)

If all that dont work, DONT uninstall MM, keep it be but do the following:

1. Uninstall last.fm
2. Under C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey delete all last.fm entries (if exist)
3. Under same folder in 2, open the file Extensions.ini (in notepad) and delete any last.fm rubbish in there (if exists). Also open the file MediaMonkey.ini, search for last.fm and delete the big section (Should look like [Last.FM] then a bunch of lines of stuff, delete all this).
4. Under C:\ProgramData\MediaMonkey check Extensions.ini and delete any last.fm stuff and also delete the LastFMScrobbler folder if exists.
5. Under C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\ make sure no last.fm stuff is left like in Scripts>Auto folder and Plugins folder (delete gen_LastFMScrobbler)
6. Restart MM with "run as admin"
7. Install last.fm (new one) with "install for current user" UNTICKED and then tweak the settings like in 3. under Tools>Options

Hopefully that should work.

Your instructions fixed my scrobbling, thanks. :D
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

timelezz
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:08 am

Re: last.fm doesn't work

Post by timelezz » Sun May 22, 2011 11:15 am

I run WinXP. Where can I find a folder such as C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey ??

Pman
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 11:57 am

Re: last.fm doesn't work

Post by Pman » Sun May 22, 2011 12:11 pm

timelezz wrote:I run WinXP. Where can I find a folder such as C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey ??
Ive never actually used XP besides on uni pcs but i googled the folder and it's in either or these two places:

C:\Documents and Settings\User\Application Data\
C:\Documents and Settings\User\Local Settings\Application Data

If not in there, have a look around folders in the docs and settings and there should be one for MediaMonkey.

Good luck!

p.s. Make sure you "show all files" on XP
  • W7Ultimate x32 - MM4 - SHABBA!
Image

j1232

Re: last.fm doesn't work

Post by j1232 » Sun May 22, 2011 12:35 pm

yeah still issue the previous ideas did not work. . Windows 7 32bit :roll:

timelezz
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:08 am

Re: last.fm doesn't work

Post by timelezz » Sun May 22, 2011 2:33 pm

GREAT! I'm feeling I'm getting somewhere now. Did not solve completely, but maybe you can solve my last problems.
Pman2009 wrote:
timelezz wrote:I run WinXP. Where can I find a folder such as C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey ??
Ive never actually used XP besides on uni pcs but i googled the folder and it's in either or these two places:
C:\Documents and Settings\User\Application Data\
C:\Documents and Settings\User\Local Settings\Application Data
This is what I did in these folders

CUT AWAY
Last.fm Entry from C:\Documents and Settings\Emile\Local Settings\Application Data\MediaMonkey\MediaMonkey.ini

REMOVE FILES
C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Scripts\Auto\!LastFM.Options.vbs
C:\Documents and Settings\Emile\Local Settings\Application Data\MediaMonkey\LastFM_Cache.dat

RESTART MM
* In MM OPTIONS, the Last.fm Service is gone

INSTALL
http://www.mediamonkey.com/beta/Last.fm ... .2.25.mmip

* The Last.fm Service appears again. For some reason it still knows my username/password and also the last scrobbled names.

* I clicked Show Log, and get an Error.

RESTART MM

* I clicked Show Log, and no errors anymore. Instead:

Code: Select all

22-May-2011 21:25:46.062: MediaMonkey v4.0.0
22-May-2011 21:25:46.078: Loading Last.fm Scrobbler
22-May-2011 21:25:46.078: ----------------------------------------
22-May-2011 21:25:46.078: Last.fm Scrobbler v1.0.2.25
22-May-2011 21:25:46.078: ----------------------------------------
22-May-2011 21:25:46.078: Last.FM: Player got Command wParam (1)
22-May-2011 21:25:46.078: Last.FM: Player got Command wParam (1)
22-May-2011 21:25:51.531: Last.FM: Player got Command wParam (1)
22-May-2011 21:25:51.531: Last.FM: Player got Command wParam (1)
22-May-2011 21:25:51.546: Last.FM: Player got Command wParam (1)
22-May-2011 21:25:51.953: Last.FM: Player got Command wParam (1)
22-May-2011 21:25:51.968: Last.FM: Player got Command wParam (0)
22-May-2011 21:25:51.968: Last.FM: Player got Command wParam (2)
22-May-2011 21:25:52.000: Last.FM: Nowplaying Play Detected at 1306092351
22-May-2011 21:25:52.000: Last.FM: NowPlaying Disabled
22-May-2011 21:29:57.015: Last.FM: Player got Command wParam (2)
22-May-2011 21:29:57.015: Last.FM: Player got Command wParam (1001)
22-May-2011 21:29:57.015: Last.FM: Submit Started at 1306092597
22-May-2011 21:29:57.031: Last.FM: Plugin set to CacheOnly
22-May-2011 21:29:57.234: Last.FM: Player got Command wParam (1)
22-May-2011 21:29:57.234: Last.FM: Player got Command wParam (1)
22-May-2011 21:29:57.234: Last.FM: Player got Command wParam (1)
22-May-2011 21:29:57.234: Last.FM: Player got Command wParam (2)
22-May-2011 21:29:57.250: Last.FM: Nowplaying Play Detected at 1306092597
22-May-2011 21:29:57.250: Last.FM: NowPlaying Disabled
22-May-2011 21:29:57.265: Last.FM: Cache add Skipping Track Artist must exist
22-May-2011 21:29:57.437: Last.FM: Player got Command wParam (1)
22-May-2011 21:29:57.453: Last.FM: Player got Command wParam (0)
22-May-2011 21:29:57.453: Last.FM: Player got Command wParam (2)
22-May-2011 21:29:57.453: Last.FM: Nowplaying Play Detected at 1306092597
22-May-2011 21:29:57.453: Last.FM: NowPlaying Disabled

timelezz
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:08 am

Re: last.fm doesn't work

Post by timelezz » Sun May 22, 2011 2:42 pm

GOT IT WORKING!!! (only forgot to hit the Green button for Last.fm Service)

Thank you all sooooo much. My heroes!

Pman
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 11:57 am

Re: last.fm doesn't work

Post by Pman » Sun May 22, 2011 2:44 pm

timelezz wrote:GOT IT WORKING!!! (only forgot to hit the Green button for Last.fm Service)

Thank you all sooooo much. My heroes!
SCORE!!!

It knows your username/pword because all those files you deleted appear in the main MM folder. So by deleting the double entries you stopped MM from being all confused.
  • W7Ultimate x32 - MM4 - SHABBA!
Image

tinana
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 1:52 pm
Location: new orleans los angeles

Re: last.fm doesn't work

Post by tinana » Tue May 24, 2011 8:40 pm

The last.fm plugin finally works for me with 1379. I could never get last.fm to work in MM4 until this build...either it wouldn't install, or if it did it wouldn't scrobble. Thanks!
Image
MM Gold/Lifetime member

alystair
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:16 pm

Re: last.fm doesn't work

Post by alystair » Wed May 25, 2011 1:39 pm

Looks like I'm the odd man out, installation and logging in single user mode seems to be successful but last.fm still takes up 100% of cpu time once first song finishes playing and does not scrobble at all in either ways possible (now playing and standard). I'm at a loss here :(

Peke
Posts: 12284
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: last.fm doesn't work

Post by Peke » Wed May 25, 2011 9:39 pm

OK People due the plugin and MM changes when testing it ensure that you use 1.0.2.26 and 1380+
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: last.fm doesn't work

Post by nynaevelan » Wed May 25, 2011 10:43 pm

Unless I am missing something the link still points to 1.0.2.25.
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

alystair
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:16 pm

Re: last.fm doesn't work

Post by alystair » Sat May 28, 2011 2:31 am

Peke, I'm on 1381 and .25 last.fm plugin... nothing has changed at all in any version I've used - what should I do? I don't want to lose my library.

TedMosby
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 10:28 am

Re: last.fm doesn't work

Post by TedMosby » Sun May 29, 2011 5:07 pm

Pman2009 wrote:Mine worked instanstly and a bit like above you need to make sure you run MM under "run as admin" and untick the option for current user, ie you want it to work for all users on your computer.

Things to check are:

1. Under Tools>Extensions there's only 1 Last.fm ext installed. If there's two then uninstall the one "for current user only"
2. Under C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey delete all last.fm entries, most likely a auto file with last.fm in it too (if exists).
3. Under Tools>Options, under submission rules that only ".....submit tracks if Album metadata exists" is ticked NOTHING else.
(Note. on the "...part of the library" option ticked does also work but it depends on your luck)

If all that dont work, DONT uninstall MM, keep it be but do the following:

1. Uninstall last.fm
2. Under C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey delete all last.fm entries (if exist)
3. Under same folder in 2, open the file Extensions.ini (in notepad) and delete any last.fm rubbish in there (if exists). Also open the file MediaMonkey.ini, search for last.fm and delete the big section (Should look like [Last.FM] then a bunch of lines of stuff, delete all this).
4. Under C:\ProgramData\MediaMonkey check Extensions.ini and delete any last.fm stuff and also delete the LastFMScrobbler folder if exists.
5. Under C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\ make sure no last.fm stuff is left like in Scripts>Auto folder and Plugins folder (delete gen_LastFMScrobbler)
6. Restart MM with "run as admin"
7. Install last.fm (new one) with "install for current user" UNTICKED and then tweak the settings like in 3. under Tools>Options

Hopefully that should work.
Nice!! this works... since testing began i never got scroblling working, but with versions available and this set of instructions, all started working... yet, there's still a BUT...

isn't suposed to scrobble a track after 50% or more was played? here, if i skip a track 5 before it ends, won't get scrobled... this isn't suposed to happen, right?

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: last.fm doesn't work

Post by nohitter151 » Mon May 30, 2011 8:18 pm

TedMosby wrote:BUT...

isn't suposed to scrobble a track after 50% or more was played? here, if i skip a track 5 before it ends, won't get scrobled... this isn't suposed to happen, right?
No, the MM scrobbler has never worked that way. When the playcount is increased in MM, then the scrobbler count is submitted too. The MM playcounter only increases when the whole track is played or if you skip to the end of the track.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

heartofhate
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 1:43 pm
Location: berlin

Re: last.fm doesn't work

Post by heartofhate » Tue May 31, 2011 12:20 am

i noticed that too. but wouldn't it be nice to have an option where the user can decide after how much percent of the song-playing the playcount increases?
i have many songs in my database which have a slighty overlength. sometimes it is really annoying when i'm listening to a song with 20+ mins of playing time and then i need to turn off the computer or something and the song does not get a playcount.

Post Reply