Page 1 of 1

Crash (RC2) when accessing menu [#8242]

Posted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 8:55 pm
by drjohn
Any time I click on any of the Menu items (File, etc) the program crashes... I had the same issue when trying to change auto-playlists imported from MM3 earlier. After installing the debug version, that cleared up. Right now, it is basically not usable... I have an error-log, but am not sure how to attach it...

Re: Crash (RC2) when accessing menu

Posted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 8:57 pm
by Lowlander

Re: Crash (RC2) when accessing menu

Posted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 9:04 pm
by drjohn
Thanks! Should have read all the way to the bottom... :)

File posted to the help desk.

JL

Re: Crash (RC2) when accessing menu

Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 1:27 am
by rusty
Hi DrJohn,

Are you sure you're using RC2? The logfile you sent was generated with a much earlier beta build.

Thanks.

-Rusty

Re: Crash (RC2) when accessing menu

Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:01 am
by drjohn
Hi Rusty,

Yes, i was using thenRC2 build. I did not check the date of the log and it was old. MM did generatenamlog during any of RC2 crashes. I completely uninstallesd MM4 and put the lataest build on and, so far, it seems to be OK.

Thanks!

Re: [notrep] Crash (RC2) when accessing menu

Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 6:48 am
by Random123
I am having the same problem with RC3 (Build 4.0.0.1455).

Running on a HP 2740p, Win7 x64 Pro SP1, 8 GB RAM with an outboard monitor. So far as I can tell my install is vanilla; I have done various permutations including completely removing MM3, running as Admin, running debug and production versions of the code, and avoiding skins and plug-ins. The same thing always happens: MM4 builds my library and plays music fine. But as soon as I click on a menu item it crashes very ungracefully. No log file seems to be created so I cannot send that. BTW, MM3 works perfectly on this system.

Re: [notrep] Crash (RC2) when accessing menu

Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 10:12 am
by nohitter151
Random123 wrote:I am having the same problem with RC3 (Build 4.0.0.1455).

Running on a HP 2740p, Win7 x64 Pro SP1, 8 GB RAM with an outboard monitor. So far as I can tell my install is vanilla; I have done various permutations including completely removing MM3, running as Admin, running debug and production versions of the code, and avoiding skins and plug-ins. The same thing always happens: MM4 builds my library and plays music fine. But as soon as I click on a menu item it crashes very ungracefully. No log file seems to be created so I cannot send that. BTW, MM3 works perfectly on this system.
If a log file is not automatically generated then generate one manually by running the debug view program. All the instructions are posted in the thread "Reporting bugs...".

Thanks.

Re: [notrep] Crash (RC2) when accessing menu

Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 5:14 pm
by drjohn
Thanks, but since I completely un- and reinstalled (now several newer versions) MM4, the problem is cleared up. It was likely just a bad install.

Re: [notrep] Crash (RC2) when accessing menu

Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 10:42 am
by Random123
Thanks both for your comments. Luckily, I installed the latest version (RC5) and the problem has gone away.
Brilliant software - thanks for doing a good job!

Re: [notrep] Crash (RC2) when accessing menu

Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 1:30 pm
by Random123
Hmm, seems I spoke too quickly. I have now realised that MM4 crashes but only when Dragon NaturallySpeaking is running. I have version 11.5 SP1.
This is exactly the same behaviour reported in this thread: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =6&t=58918
Unfortunately no debug file is created either with the normal or debug version of the .exe installed.
Some sort of low-level conflict between NaturallySpeaking and MM4 apparently. Strangely it only arises if you try to interact with MM4 through the menu??

Re: [notrep] Crash (RC2) when accessing menu

Posted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 12:22 pm
by nohitter151
Random123 wrote:Hmm, seems I spoke too quickly. I have now realised that MM4 crashes but only when Dragon NaturallySpeaking is running. I have version 11.5 SP1.
This is exactly the same behaviour reported in this thread: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =6&t=58918
Unfortunately no debug file is created either with the normal or debug version of the .exe installed.
Some sort of low-level conflict between NaturallySpeaking and MM4 apparently. Strangely it only arises if you try to interact with MM4 through the menu??
This has been reported before:
http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=8242

It looks like it isn't planned to be fixed for version 4.0.

Re: [notrep] Crash (RC2) when accessing menu

Posted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 1:02 pm
by drjohn
Just for the record, though: I do not have NaturallySpeaking on my computer... Like I said, it SEEMS to be resolved now, but I will keep an eye out for a repeat of the problem.

Re: [notrep] Crash (RC2) when accessing menu

Posted: Sat Dec 03, 2011 11:49 am
by drjohn
Well, actually, the problem came back. I am not sure why. I am working with tech support on it. I CAN say that found a work-around to completely resolve the issue (at least so far). Run the program "as an administrator." We can't figure out WHY this should be necessary, but so far it has worked.

Re: Crash (RC2) when accessing menu [#8242]

Posted: Sat Dec 03, 2011 8:49 pm
by Peke
For now I added link to MM bug to see if we can make permanent solution/workaround.