Editing song brings now playing into album list

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

tommycrock
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 9:13 am

Editing song brings now playing into album list

Post by tommycrock » Wed Nov 02, 2011 5:19 am

Well this was a weird one, I was in Art Browser view, on an Album Artist's node with one album selected. I was editing the title of the songs, directly in the list (i.e. click on Title until it becomes editable, paste, press enter). Meanwhile, a different album by the same band was playing and switched tracks during one of the edits (i.e. came to end of one song, started next in now playing list). The song that had been playing was now showing in the album list as shown below:
ImageDon't know if this is repeatable.

rusty
Posts: 7203
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Editing song brings now playing into album list

Post by rusty » Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:27 pm

Can't replicate. Anyone else?

-Rusty

tommycrock
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 9:13 am

Re: Editing song brings now playing into album list

Post by tommycrock » Sat Nov 05, 2011 12:43 pm

It's not usually happening for me, but it's just happened again for me in 1455, though this time details only with a CD selected. Don't know if the same album artist playing is important but it's been that way both times for me.
Image

tommycrock
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 9:13 am

Re: Editing song brings now playing into album list

Post by tommycrock » Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:08 am

Again, just happened with a CD, this time in 4.0.1.1460. Still the same album artist

[edit]
And again, this time bringing 7 of the now playing into the detail list.

Lowlander
Posts: 46108
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Editing song brings now playing into album list

Post by Lowlander » Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:59 am

A debug log would be really helpful in resolving this as it is an uncommon occurrence.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Otello
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:06 am
Location: Roma - Italy
Contact:

Re: Editing song brings now playing into album list

Post by Otello » Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:41 pm

rusty wrote:Can't replicate. Anyone else?

-Rusty
I'm not sure it' the same problem I have. (I'm sorry, at the moment I have no free PCs for intalling the dedug version.)

While manteining the library in massive way (i'm converting my Classic music library logic from Artist/Album to Composer/Composition, so I edit many albums at once), when the program modifie the tags, theyr entries are appended in the main window, often repeated 2 or 3 times each entry, whatever I'm doing, sometimes after changeg tab; to get back the correct display I have to toggle view.
It happen random, for sure with 1459 and 1460.
Just in case I made a screen capture with Schubert tracks (just edited) apppended in the Bach-Milstein folder in File Location node.
http://www.marcobenedetti.it/Audio/MM4/Cap1.jpg

Lowlander
Posts: 46108
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Editing song brings now playing into album list

Post by Lowlander » Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:51 pm

Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Otello
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:06 am
Location: Roma - Italy
Contact:

Re: Editing song brings now playing into album list

Post by Otello » Tue Dec 13, 2011 8:35 am

Lowlander wrote:That sounds like: http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=8743
I'm not sure it's exactly the same problem (quite similar, thou): according to the .PNG attached in the linked page, you get the multiple tracks listed this way:

Track 1
Track 2
Track 3
Track 1
Track 2
Track 3
Track 1
etc.

I get this:

Track 1
Track 1
Track 1
Track 2
Track 2
Track 2
Track 3
etc.

Also, this listing "fload" in my actual view, in which these tracks do not belong.

tommycrock
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 9:13 am

Re: Editing song brings now playing into album list

Post by tommycrock » Thu Dec 15, 2011 5:40 am

Thanks Lowlander - I'll leave dbgview running and see if I can catch it. By the way, I've seen the problem you/Otello are experiencing, particularly when analysing volume but also the counter for the number of files to analyse can go a bit crazy - i.e. ripping a CD with auto analyse volume on, after each new track it begins examining all tracks ripped so far in the album but seems to count these multiply if it's not finished when the next track has ripped.
@Otello - The image Lowlander shows has the first bunch sorted 1, 2, 3, but then 1, 1, 2, 2, 3, 3, etc. I expect this is exactly the same problem and just to do with the sorting maybe caused by whether you've switched nodes or not in between, although them appearing in the wrong listing (like my problem) is odd.

Lowlander
Posts: 46108
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Editing song brings now playing into album list

Post by Lowlander » Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:35 pm

PS. on 1461 I have seen Now Playing files been added to the Filelisting. This might be fixed in 1462, but isn't exactly the same issue I've reported in Mantis. Keep DBGView running and send the log to support when you see it happen. I myself have not been able to reproduce it (ie figure out what triggers it) and wasn't running DBGView when it occurred.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

tommycrock
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 9:13 am

Re: Editing song brings now playing into album list

Post by tommycrock » Thu Dec 15, 2011 1:31 pm

Caught it. And for the first time it didn't involve the same album artist.
Sorry the log file is huge but it should be near the end, when I finish entering the title for the first track on the CD, the song that was playing when I started editing and wasn't when I finished arrived at the top of the detail list.
Image
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/39561993/EditBr ... yingIn.LOG

tommycrock
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 9:13 am

Re: Editing song brings now playing into album list

Post by tommycrock » Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:40 am

Just to say that in 1461 I've had a similar thing happen, except that this time nothing was playing. What was brought in to the detail list was being auto-analysed for volume.

tommycrock
Posts: 215
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 9:13 am

Re: Editing song brings now playing into album list

Post by tommycrock » Mon Jan 16, 2012 5:33 am

And in 1464, again, nothing playing, volume analysis was running while I edited the title of a track on a CD and some of the tracks that were being analysed appeared in the detail pane.

Lowlander
Posts: 46108
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Editing song brings now playing into album list

Post by Lowlander » Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:15 am

tommycrock wrote:And in 1464, again,
With http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=8743 not being fixed yet that isn't surprising.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

rusty
Posts: 7203
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Editing song brings now playing into album list

Post by rusty » Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:14 pm

If anyone can replicate this in 1484+ please let me know--I can't (but I never had much luck with this one in earlier builds either).

Thanks.

-Rusty

Post Reply