Can't select artist album

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

ikofig
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 11:36 am

Can't select artist album

Post by ikofig » Sun Mar 13, 2016 5:06 pm

After playing any album in MM, when I try to select a different album by the same artist (in the Album pane of the Music tab), the program will not display the songs of that album - it continues to display the songs of the album just played. I can select any different artist (in any genre), but, if that artist has multiple albums, I cannot choose one album of songs to display - only all songs are displayed. When the list of all songs is displayed, I can play any song in the list of all songs and MM will continue to play all songs after that one, even if they are on the next album in the song list. In order for MM to function normally, I have to close and reopen the program.
Does anyone know how to fix this problem?
I have tried to delete and reinstall MM, but it has not helped. I have a HP Envy (i7-5500) running 64-bit Windows 10 Home and have everything up to date.

Lowlander
Posts: 44267
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by Lowlander » Mon Mar 14, 2016 10:44 am

Which version of MediaMonkey?

Are you selecting a new Album in the Media Tree? Where does it fail to show the tracks? In the File Listing or Now Playing? Is the Column Browser involved in any of this?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

ikofig
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 11:36 am

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by ikofig » Sat Mar 19, 2016 2:46 pm

I'm using the latest version of MM.
When I have Music selected in the Media Tree (left panel), in the main central panel I have columns for Genre, Artist, Album across the top with a track list under them. Normally, when a single Album is selected, the tracks on that album should appear in the track list below.

Update on the problem:
After I play even one song from any artist/album, and then try to switch to another artist (by whom I have more than one album), I cannot play just one album - the list of tracks displayed below the top three columns is ALL tracks on ALL albums by the artist in album order. If I 2x-click on any album, the first track in the list of all tracks begins to play, regardless that it is not on that album. If I 2x-click any track, it begins to play, followed by all tracks listed below it in order regardless of which album they are on. I also cannot select any other sorting method. I have to shut down and restart the program in order to restore normal functionality, which lasts only until the first track starts to play.

zdislaw
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 2:49 pm

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by zdislaw » Fri Apr 22, 2016 2:15 pm

I am seeing exactly the same thing. I select genre from col1 of the Column Browser and col2 filters to artists in that genre. I then click on an artist and col3 filters to albums from that artist. So far, so good. But now, if I click on any of the albums in col3 the results continue to list all songs from all albums by that artist. So col1 and col2 are the only two columns that have any effect on the tracklist or col3.

Lowlander
Posts: 44267
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by Lowlander » Fri Apr 22, 2016 3:06 pm

Which version of MediaMonkey?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Nebel

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by Nebel » Fri Jul 29, 2016 6:05 pm

I'm having this same issue, using version 4.1.12.1798. I noticed it when I upgraded to Windows 10 a few weeks ago.

patforg

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by patforg » Tue Aug 16, 2016 6:50 am

I can confirm this problem is still present in 4.1.3.1708.

I am also using windows 10.

This started hapenning after updating to the new version of media monkey.

Nebel

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by Nebel » Sun Aug 21, 2016 6:00 pm

I updated to version 4.1.13.1801 and still have the issue.

Peke
Posts: 11049
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by Peke » Mon Aug 22, 2016 4:13 am

You should update to latest Beta
Best regards,
Pavle
MM Core Developer and Admin of free MediaMonkey extensions Hosting
Image
Image
How to add Images to forum

von Chaps

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by von Chaps » Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:17 pm

I've grappled with this problem for ages and finally found my way here looking for a solution. I still have this problem still in 4.1.18.1852. Was there a fix for this?

AintNoSin
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 1:56 am

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by AintNoSin » Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:56 pm

I find that no matter what I have as my third column (Album, Date, etc), selecting anything from column 3 does no good. So I just set the third column to something useless and use Column 4 instead. That's my workaround until this gets fixed.

Bertrand B
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 11:06 am

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by Bertrand B » Thu Mar 08, 2018 11:10 am

I have the same Behavior, Start MM, Browser Filtering works well for a while and stop working pass the second column selection
Using 4.1.20.1864 Gold
If I restart MM behavior return to the normal filtering Behavior
Annoying :-?

Lowlander
Posts: 44267
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by Lowlander » Thu Mar 08, 2018 11:39 am

Capture this in a debug log (step 4b) and attach the log to a Support Ticket: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=69
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Bertrand B
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 11:06 am

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by Bertrand B » Fri Mar 09, 2018 11:03 am

Will do, may take a couple of days to get you a short debug log , Thanks

von Chaps

Re: Can't select artist album

Post by von Chaps » Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:38 pm

Don't want to hijack this thread although I did post above. I installed the debug version and captured log output which is below.

I have 4 columns in the column browser. My 4 columns are;
1. Extension
2. Genre
3. Album Artist
4. Album

Referring to the log below,
When I select a row in column 1, events 1-12 fired
When I select a row in column 2 of the browser, events 18-29 fired
When I select a row in column 3 of the browser, events 30-39 fired
Every time I select a row in column 4 of the browser...no events fire. Specifically, "Track Browser selection changed" does not fire when I select different rows in column 4 of the browser (in my case, this is "Album").

If I restart MM, then behaviour is as expected for a while and then it breaks such that clicking in column 4 no longer changes the selection. I believe that sometimes, column 3 can exhibit this behaviour too.

Please let me know if I can help any more or if people want me to open a ticket. I am happy to help with this as I've used MM for a long time and it's been great for me except for this one issue.

Code: Select all

00000001	0.00000000	[10924] Track Browser selection changed	
00000002	0.00480074	[10924] Node Music going to clear SongList.	
00000003	0.00618946	[10924] Going to start filling thread, FFillingThreadCnt = 187	
00000004	0.03519248	[10924] TGenThread.Create: ThreadName: FillingThread , Running Threads: Internal: 1, All: 27	
00000005	0.05484971	[10924] Thread 'FillingThread' has started 1356	
00000006	0.10556985	[10924] Going 'FillingThread'to make final callback 1356	
00000007	0.15201493	[10924] Refreshing AlbumArtList	
00000008	0.18390650	[10924] 7984 DB open SQL: SELECT * FROM Filters WHERE ID=? 	
00000009	0.18425012	[10924] 7984 DB open SQL: SELECT ID, Name, View FROM Views WHERE ID = ? 	
00000010	0.18489406	[10924] 7984 DB open SQL: SELECT * FROM Filters WHERE ID=? 	
00000011	0.18516403	[10924] 7984 DB open SQL: SELECT ID, Name, View FROM Views WHERE ID = ? 	
00000012	0.18567364	[10924] Thread 'FillingThread'has finished 1356	
00000013	3.68184733	[10924] TGenThread.Create: ThreadName: UpdateDriveLetters_Var , Running Threads: Internal: 1, All: 27	
00000014	3.73078871	[10924] PostponeComputerSleep: Enabled = 0	
00000015	3.73518062	[10924] Thread 'UpdateDriveLetters_Var' has started 4484	
00000016	3.74720430	[10924] >UpdateDriveLetters - end<	
00000017	3.74739146	[10924] Thread 'UpdateDriveLetters_Var'has finished 4484	
00000018	8.97744942	[10924] Track Browser selection changed	
00000019	8.98036480	[10924] Node Music going to clear SongList.	
00000020	8.98130035	[10924] Going to start filling thread, FFillingThreadCnt = 188	
00000021	9.01081657	[10924] TGenThread.Create: ThreadName: FillingThread , Running Threads: Internal: 1, All: 27	
00000022	9.03889847	[10924] Thread 'FillingThread' has started 9656	
00000023	9.04799461	[10924] Going 'FillingThread'to make final callback 9656	
00000024	9.06667233	[10924] Refreshing AlbumArtList	
00000025	9.06984997	[10924] 7984 DB open SQL: SELECT * FROM Filters WHERE ID=? 	
00000026	9.07017994	[10924] 7984 DB open SQL: SELECT ID, Name, View FROM Views WHERE ID = ? 	
00000027	9.07081699	[10924] 7984 DB open SQL: SELECT * FROM Filters WHERE ID=? 	
00000028	9.07108307	[10924] 7984 DB open SQL: SELECT ID, Name, View FROM Views WHERE ID = ? 	
00000029	9.07162285	[10924] Thread 'FillingThread'has finished 9656	
00000030	15.45741558	[10924] Track Browser selection changed	
00000031	15.46010780	[10924] Going to start filling thread, FFillingThreadCnt = 189	
00000032	15.48957062	[10924] TGenThread.Create: ThreadName: FillingThread , Running Threads: Internal: 1, All: 27	
00000033	15.52057076	[10924] Thread 'FillingThread' has started 6616	
00000034	15.53004742	[10924] Going 'FillingThread'to make final callback 6616	
00000035	15.53855610	[10924] Refreshing AlbumArtList	
00000036	15.53976059	[10924] 7984 DB lock finished, took 339.	
00000037	15.53991985	[10924] 7984 DB lock finished, took 26.	
00000038	15.54061604	[10924] 7984 DB lock finished, took 209.	
00000039	15.54076576	[10924] 7984 DB lock finished, took 17.	

Post Reply