Converting Bitrate Type

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

Insomniac
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 5:04 pm

Converting Bitrate Type

Post by Insomniac » Mon Jul 12, 2004 11:31 am

I was going through one of my albums (HIM - And Love Said No) and noticed that the bitrates for all the songs were different, and all around 210-230kbps (MP3). I thought I would just go ahead and edit them all out to 192kbps (MP3).

I made them out to 192, VBR and checked the "Level Volume" box as well. It asked me if I wanted to replace the files it was converting, I said "Yes to All".

Right now it's going through and analyzing every song it does, but each song it finishes, it says it the file was not created. Though when I click "OK", it shows the volume was analyzed correctly, but the bitrate stays the same as before.

Am I doing something wrong here?

rusty
Posts: 7221
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

converting track in-place

Post by rusty » Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:08 pm

You're not doing anything wrong--it's a bug. To work around it, you should use a different filename and then delete the original track.

-Rusty

Insomniac
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 5:04 pm

Post by Insomniac » Mon Jul 19, 2004 3:35 pm

OK, well I tried doing it with a different filename as well, but this time, the bitrates don't come out to what I set them. They still come out all mixed around, except lower. :cry:

Peke
Posts: 12500
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Post by Peke » Mon Jul 19, 2004 4:32 pm

VBR is for Variable Bit Rate which means that encoder will calculate apropriate BitRate for each Stream Data and that set value Will be the ~average.

If you wanna set MP3 to 192Kbps Use 192Kbps and CBR (Constant Bit Rate) I'll Preffer useing of VBR but ....
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

pah68
Posts: 1496
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 5:26 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by pah68 » Mon Jul 19, 2004 5:47 pm

What's the benefit of using VBR over CBR? I guess it creates a smaller file more often than not but is it fully supported through most portable players.

ie. what's the downside of VBR?

Lowlander
Posts: 46278
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Post by Lowlander » Tue Jul 20, 2004 10:43 am

Not all players and software support it, but it is certainly smaller than CBR. CBR remains the safe bet if you work with different devices, but if you only play on your machine with MM, VBR can save you some room.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

pah68
Posts: 1496
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 5:26 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by pah68 » Tue Jul 20, 2004 4:22 pm

Cheers :wink:

Post Reply