The return of the dreaded BUG#6421

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

Pathduck
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:26 am

The return of the dreaded BUG#6421

Post by Pathduck » Sat Jul 17, 2010 8:18 am

Hi,
it appears this regression is back in the latest 3.2.1.1297:

http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =6&t=36481
http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=5256

EDit: Its not exactly the same it seems: If album field is blank (like when selecting several albums) and you tab out of the field the Album Artist field is cleared and the checkbox next to it enabled.

Its a pretty bad one :o

I haven't used MM this way for a long time so first noticed it today.

Anyone confirm?

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: The return of the dreaded BUG#5256

Post by rovingcowboy » Sat Jul 17, 2010 8:40 am

not sure if it is the same thing i'm getting.

but i don't have some fields filled in, and i auto rate the songs which will adjust the tags.

now if this bug is being triggered by the auto rating of that tag for the song.
then that would explain why my album artist tag is being removed but mine is only being
removed on various artist albums. or single artist albums with just the album name of " greatest hits "
which seems to be looked at as a various artist album by mediamonkey by the shear number
of the albums called "greatest hits."

if that is the same thing your getting then i can say the bug is messing up with others.

but there has been a few other posts with simular bug issues. so it could be the same for all of us?
:-?

8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: The return of the dreaded BUG#5256

Post by nohitter151 » Sat Jul 17, 2010 9:46 am

Pathduck wrote:EDit: Its not exactly the same it seems: If album field is blank (like when selecting several albums) and you tab out of the field the Album Artist field is cleared and the checkbox next to it enabled.
That's always been that way. If the album field is blank, the album artist field is too.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Pathduck
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:26 am

Re: The return of the dreaded BUG#5256

Post by Pathduck » Sat Jul 17, 2010 9:51 am

nohitter151 wrote:
Pathduck wrote:EDit: Its not exactly the same it seems: If album field is blank (like when selecting several albums) and you tab out of the field the Album Artist field is cleared and the checkbox next to it enabled.
That's always been that way. If the album field is blank, the album artist field is too.
Sorry - but no, that would not make sense. If you select several albums from the same artist, the Album field will be blank (obviously). But the Album Artist will be the same for all these albums and should not be changed.

Try it yourself - choose an artist with several albums where Album Artist is set, tab through the properties and see the Album Artist field get blanked. Do NOT press enter now :wink:

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: The return of the dreaded BUG#5256

Post by nohitter151 » Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:06 am

Pathduck wrote:
Sorry - but no, that would not make sense. If you select several albums from the same artist, the Album field will be blank (obviously). But the Album Artist will be the same for all these albums and should not be changed.

Try it yourself - choose an artist with several albums where Album Artist is set, tab through the properties and see the Album Artist field get blanked. Do NOT press enter now :wink:
Ok you're right, thanks for the specifics. It seems to me that it only happens when you select tracks that have the same album artist but different album names.

This is not related to bug 5256, the problem is because when a track has no value for "Album" MM does not save any value for "Album artist", and right now it doesn't differentiate that rule when multiple tracks are selected.

http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=6421

Thanks again for the report.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Post Reply