Autotag from amazon.UK

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

GSV3MiaC
Posts: 448
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:32 pm
Location: Shropshire, England

Autotag from amazon.UK

Post by GSV3MiaC » Sat Oct 29, 2011 12:50 pm

For some reason amazon.uk is returning 'no result was found', when I search (artist, album, asin - makes no difference) whereas amazon.com is giving me the right answer(s), but obviously not for UK only CDs. Is this a known problem .. is there a solution?? I am mostly trying to get album art ..

Lowlander
Posts: 46188
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Autotag from amazon.UK

Post by Lowlander » Sat Oct 29, 2011 4:15 pm

It's working here, but I'm on MediaMonkey 4.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

REIKA
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 1:32 am
Location: Osaka , Japan

Re: Autotag from amazon.UK

Post by REIKA » Sat Oct 29, 2011 8:05 pm

I have the same issue.

UK , DE , FR , JP ---> "no result was found"
US , CA ---> OK
Win10 64bit , MM4.1 Gold , Japanese Lang files
dsp_vst + iZotope Ozone + out_asio , Magic Nodes , Minilyrics
MM Japanese Wiki : http://mediamonkey.xn--m8jfw.jp/index.php?FrontPage

GSV3MiaC
Posts: 448
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:32 pm
Location: Shropshire, England

Re: Autotag from amazon.UK

Post by GSV3MiaC » Sun Oct 30, 2011 7:20 am

I wonder if they (amazon) are rolling out new interface software again .. ISTR that they made some change before which required a MM update to cope with?

GSV3MiaC
Posts: 448
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:32 pm
Location: Shropshire, England

Re: Autotag from amazon.UK

Post by GSV3MiaC » Sun Oct 30, 2011 1:36 pm

Well thanks for that, but you'd assume that MM would be generating enough revenue (via the purchase MP3 etc links) to keep Amazon happy. I certainly spend enough money that way. Maybe MM just needs to provide this appropriate ID somehow??

Weird that Amazon USA still works .. normally they roll out the new cr&p there firstest?!

MM authors .. over to y'all??

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Autotag from amazon.UK

Post by nohitter151 » Sun Oct 30, 2011 2:41 pm

Looks to me like they've already made the necessary changes, but in MM4:
http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=8440
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

high5in

Re: Autotag from amazon.UK

Post by high5in » Thu Nov 03, 2011 10:05 pm

Is this completly broken now? Not getting results from any sites for Autotag from the Web functionality.

MiPi
Posts: 583
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:56 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Autotag from amazon.UK

Post by MiPi » Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:51 am

It should be working in MM4, new API is supported there. But the problem is, that Amazon now limits the number of items in response to 100, so if the right item is not in first 100 received items, it cannot be found :-/.

GSV3MiaC
Posts: 448
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:32 pm
Location: Shropshire, England

Re: Autotag from amazon.UK

Post by GSV3MiaC » Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:55 pm

But MM4 is not released yet and right now I am not in position to play with betas (usually I do, but I'm already messing about with Win7 64 bit and have plenty of wildlife to skin).
A quick fix for MM3 would be very nice (not just for me).

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Autotag from amazon.UK

Post by nohitter151 » Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:23 pm

GSV3MiaC wrote:But MM4 is not released yet and right now I am not in position to play with betas (usually I do, but I'm already messing about with Win7 64 bit and have plenty of wildlife to skin).
A quick fix for MM3 would be very nice (not just for me).
MM4 is close to release and according to the devs, there will not be any further MM3 updates.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

eric.stephani
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:40 pm

Re: Autotag from amazon.UK

Post by eric.stephani » Mon Nov 07, 2011 11:05 pm

I am seeing failures on all the Amazon sites when trying to auto tag, including the US can CA.
Last edited by eric.stephani on Mon Nov 07, 2011 11:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

eric.stephani
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:40 pm

Re: Autotag from amazon.UK

Post by eric.stephani » Mon Nov 07, 2011 11:07 pm

GSV3MiaC wrote:But MM4 is not released yet and right now I am not in position to play with betas (usually I do, but I'm already messing about with Win7 64 bit and have plenty of wildlife to skin).
A quick fix for MM3 would be very nice (not just for me).
I agree, a fix for the current release would be nice.

phantomwhale
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 3:36 am

Re: Autotag from amazon.UK

Post by phantomwhale » Mon Nov 07, 2011 11:10 pm

Been totally broken for me over the last two weeks. Don't mind waiting a little while if MM4 is due for a (non-beta) release soon (e.g. pre-xmas) but otherwise this does strike me as a potentially simple fix for the current production version, if it's to remain the latest stable build for at least 1-2 more months.

eric.stephani
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:40 pm

Re: Autotag from amazon.UK

Post by eric.stephani » Mon Nov 07, 2011 11:11 pm

Why not make the URL used for the web queries, and the number of items returned configurable in the options? That might mitigate the risk of future changes causing problems in the future.

GSV3MiaC
Posts: 448
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:32 pm
Location: Shropshire, England

Re: Autotag from amazon.UK

Post by GSV3MiaC » Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:28 am

And it's not just autotag that's broken - it seems the links which take me to 'buy an MP3' or 'Buy a CD' no longer work either. They open the Amazon site in question, but not at the right place (i.e. the data about track or artist is not getting through).

This one is costing Amazon money - well lost sales, anyway..

Post Reply