Analyze Files For Duplicates Doesn't Seem To Work MM 4.0.6

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

Lovelyman
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:49 pm

Analyze Files For Duplicates Doesn't Seem To Work MM 4.0.6

Post by Lovelyman » Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:21 pm

Hello friends,

I'm using MM 4.0.6 Build 1501on Windows 7 64 Bit

Here is a problem I was hoping someone might help me with. I want to stop adding duplicate files to my library. I believe MM is capable of flagging this if I try to add the same file twice. However it doesn't seem to work. Here is how I am replicating this...

1) Enable Tools->Options->Library Analyze Files For Duplicates (takes extra time).
2)Add an exact same file into the library by dragging into the "Entire Library" node that you already have in your library. I've tried this with a file in a different folder on my computer to the file that already exists in the Library. Same song, different folders. So, two copies.
3) I now have two copies of the same file in different directories/folders on my drive and both in the MM Library. Boo. Mediamonkey has said nothing and allowed this to go ahead.
4) Click in the media tree MUSIC->FILES TO EDIT ->DUPLICATE CONTENT. You see that nothing is showing up.

I should mention that the very first time I installed MM and scanned in my Library, when I clicked on MUSIC->FILES TO EDIT ->DUPLICATE CONTENT it worked fine and there were indeed files with duplicate content there. I was of course given the option to scan the files. Since then though, there seems to be no option to rescan the library. Furthermore, new duplicates aren't being picked up.

Thanks for you help.
Last edited by Lovelyman on Tue Aug 14, 2012 11:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Lovelyman
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:49 pm

Analyze Files For Duplicates Doesn't Seem To Work MM 4.0.6

Post by Lovelyman » Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:33 pm

Double post, sorry
Last edited by Lovelyman on Tue Aug 14, 2012 11:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Lovelyman
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: Analyze Files For Duplicates Doesn't Seem To Work MM 4.0

Post by Lovelyman » Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:35 pm

Double post, sorry

Aff
Posts: 301
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Analyze Files For Duplicates Doesn't Seem To Work MM 4.0

Post by Aff » Wed Aug 15, 2012 7:18 am

Try to collapse and expand the node "Duplicate Content". Otherwise it isn't updated.

Lovelyman
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: Analyze Files For Duplicates Doesn't Seem To Work MM 4.0

Post by Lovelyman » Wed Aug 15, 2012 6:32 pm

Hi Aff,

I did that. When I expand the node, the little triangle disappears to show that nothing is there.

Can someone please follow my steps and confirm this as a bug?

Thanks

CM_

Re: Analyze Files For Duplicates Doesn't Seem To Work MM 4.0

Post by CM_ » Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:56 am

I've followed your steps and can conform the (same) track that's now in 2 different locations is not in the Entire Library / Files to Edit / Duplicate Content area.

I did a "add/rescan folders" and the 2nd copy was mentioned in my playlist "last added files" but wasn't mentioned in the Duplicate Content area. Also the 2nd copy wasn't counted as new file in the "scan results" window which you get after using "add/rescan folders"

Lovelyman
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: Analyze Files For Duplicates Doesn't Seem To Work MM 4.0

Post by Lovelyman » Mon Aug 27, 2012 3:16 am

Thanks CM,

Can someone please list this as a confirmed bug then?

Thanks.

Lowlander
Posts: 46273
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Analyze Files For Duplicates Doesn't Seem To Work MM 4.0

Post by Lowlander » Fri Aug 31, 2012 12:17 pm

I just tried it myself and on empty Library added 2 copies of the same file. Then expanded the Duplicate Content node and the files were listed as duplicates.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Analyze Files For Duplicates Doesn't Seem To Work MM 4.0

Post by nohitter151 » Fri Aug 31, 2012 1:17 pm

Works fine for me as well.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Lowlander
Posts: 46273
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Analyze Files For Duplicates Doesn't Seem To Work MM 4.0

Post by Lowlander » Fri Aug 31, 2012 1:37 pm

To further test I instead of scanning dropped the files, one at the time, on the Music node and they were again listed under the expanded Duplicate Content node.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Lovelyman
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: Analyze Files For Duplicates Doesn't Seem To Work MM 4.0

Post by Lovelyman » Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:08 am

Hi guys.

Lowlander, are you trying this on a blank, virgin library? I can repeat this with a library of 35Gig or so. Also, this is happening to some duplicate files and not others. Can you please check again on a big library and try it with more than just one track?

Thanks again.

Lowlander
Posts: 46273
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Analyze Files For Duplicates Doesn't Seem To Work MM 4.0

Post by Lowlander » Sat Sep 01, 2012 10:49 am

I did it with a blank Library.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Lovelyman
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: Analyze Files For Duplicates Doesn't Seem To Work MM 4.0

Post by Lovelyman » Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:05 pm

I think that MM works fine on a blank library. It is subsequent imports where I find this bug. Would you be kind enough to check for me please?

Lowlander
Posts: 46273
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Analyze Files For Duplicates Doesn't Seem To Work MM 4.0

Post by Lowlander » Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:10 pm

Works as expected too for me.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Lovelyman
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:49 pm

Re: Analyze Files For Duplicates Doesn't Seem To Work MM 4.0

Post by Lovelyman » Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:48 pm

Ok, thanks for checking. I'll see if I can get this behaviour to repeat another way and report back with the steps.

Post Reply