Page 1 of 1

[Minor] Update overrides settings

Posted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:20 am
by frankk-de
Dear team,

when updating my MediaMonkey installation to the newest version using the download on the official setup, the setup overrides my settings in the Auto-Organizer. I am using MediaMonkey in portable mode. I was using a quite sophisticated destination pattern with a lot of conditions, which is all gone now. It would be great to have a setup routine that doesn't touch user settings when overriding an existing installation!

Cheers,

Frank

Re: [Minor] Update overrides settings

Posted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 12:51 pm
by Lowlander
Did you install the update as Portable too? I haven't seen this using a Portable setup as well.

Re: [Minor] Update overrides settings

Posted: Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:53 pm
by frankk-de
Yes I did.

Re: [Minor] Update overrides settings

Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:21 pm
by Ludek
Are you sure that you installed it to the same portable folder?
The settings persists within [MM Install Folder]/Portable/MM.DB (in table OrganizeRules) and I don't see a reason to override it.
Are you saying that _all_ your settings is preserved except for the auto-organize rules??

But maybe your DB got to a malformed state for some reason.
You could try menu > Tools > Maintain Library... > Optimize database (complete)
to fix this. Or share e.g. DropBox link to your MM.DB and I will check whether the OrganizeRules are there and whether the DB is OK.

Thanks!