Media Keys

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

Media Keys

Postby Ramses » Sat Oct 14, 2017 4:45 pm

hi,

i am running mediamonkey on windows 10 64-bit, and my media keys sometimes didnt work. after some research i think the media keys dont work, when a 64-bit programm is active (window in the foreground). 32-bit programms seem to pass the media keys to media monkey, and 64-bit programms dont. can u confirm this behaviour and do u know a workaround (btw its the same with zoomplayer)?

thank you in advance

ramses
Ramses
 

Re: Media Keys

Postby Ludek » Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:07 am

Could you please refer the exact name of the foreground 64-bit application and which media keys you tested?
I guess you tested the media keys that are set to [x] Global by default, i.e. media stop, media play, media next, media previous?

Otherwise workaround should be to enable low level keyboard hook:
i.e. Add value PreferLLKeysHook = 1 to the [options] section of MediaMonkey.ini file. This cause MediaMonkey to use a low level keyboard driver that has the effect of allowing hotkeys to work globally, to edit the file see: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... e/View/16c

Also some other tips re media keys issues are here: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... -dont-work
Ludek
 
Posts: 2236
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Media Keys

Postby Ramses » Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:34 pm

thank you for the hints, i already tried the preferllkeyhook, but it didnt help.

i use the most recent version of mm and a logitech g910 keyboard with most recent driver with windows 10 (1703). media keys would be start/stopp, next, etc. (the keyboard has 4 separate media keys).
media keys work when mm is active window, and media keys are set to global in options.
other programs that work when their window is in foreground include: foxit reader (32 bit), notepad++ (32 bit), utorrent (32 bit)
firefox used to work, but stopped working with the newest version, which is now 64-bit by default. also not working are office 2016 (64-bit), explorer (guess 64 bit), winrar (64 bit), desktop.

best regards, ramses
Ramses
 

Re: Media Keys

Postby Peke » Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:09 pm

Hi,
I also use Win 10 x64 and absolutely have no issues using Media Keys if MMW is in background of x64 application.

I'm currently in FireFox 56 due the legacy support, same goes with explorer and edge and other x64 apps.

Only difference from you is that I have G15 keyboard and Gaming software 8.96.81 and instead of Logitech Media Control I Use G15 MediaMonkey v1.4, but controls work in both apps.

I also tested WinRar x64 trial and as I do not use Office 2016 I checked Libre Office x64 with no issues.
Best regards,
Pavle
MM Core Developer and Admin of free MediaMonkey extensions Hosting
Image
Image
Peke
 
Posts: 10441
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: Media Keys

Postby Ramses » Tue Oct 17, 2017 12:11 pm

thank you for your help, it seems like something is messed up with my system.
i also did some google research, but i didnt find a solution.
for now i will just use it as is and hope that some future driver or windows update will fix it.

best regards, ramses
Ramses
 


Return to Bug Reports (mmw)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests