Borders in scripts

If you want to contribute MediaMonkey skins, themes, icons, etc...

Moderators: Morten, Gurus

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Skinning functionality wishlist

Post by rovingcowboy »

are you suggesting that vista has required skins to be made with css html codes also? or is it just for the web monkey that the codes are messing up because of the css code.
:o what i'm wondering is if the standard skins are not working or only the web monkey skins? if the standard are not working i'll have to find how to fix mine and make them work for vista. :(
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
ZvezdanD
Posts: 3257
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 7:40 pm

Re: Skinning functionality wishlist

Post by ZvezdanD »

There are two reasons why some dockable panel has the inner border:
1. using of the Align property for the contained control in the script, instead of the Anchors property;
2. setting of the border style to something else than none (if you don't specify it, Windows is using default one), but only if the script has the Web Browser ActiveX control. Scripts which are using Web Browser in dockable panel are LyricsViewer and MonkeyRok among others. If you are using some another control, then this second reason doesn't apply.

The second reason is not so important since it causes a border which is just one pixel wide, but the border as a result of the Align property is much thicker.

Newer versions of the IE (like the Vista one) has a possibility to work in Almost standards mode which is more CSS compliant, but AFAIK in that mode html element of the contained Web ActiveX cannot be set to border:none, so it is better to use Quirks mode. You just need to remove <!DOCTYPE HTML ... > from the begin of the html page - for example, for the MonkeyRok it is the first line of the skin.html file.

As I said before, this is almost all on the script developers to be resolved, not on skinners.
Magic Nodes 4.3.3 / 5.2 RegExp Find & Replace 4.4.9 / 5.2  Invert Selection/Select None 1.5.1  Export/Create Playlists for Child Nodes 4.1.1 / 5.4.1  Expand Child Nodes/Expand All 1.1.2  Event Logger 2.7  Filtered Statistics Report 1.6  Track Redirection & Synchronization 3.4.2  Restore/Synchronize Database 3.1.8 / 4.0.1  Find Currently Playing Track 1.3.2  Queue List 1.2.1  Add to Library on Play 1.0.1  Tree Report for Child Nodes 1.1.1  Update Location of Files in Database 1.4.5 / 2.3  Inherit Child Playlists 1.0.3  Add Currently Playing/Selected Track(s) to Playlist 1.2
gege
Posts: 866
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Borders in scripts

Post by gege »

I don't know who split the skinning functionality thread (nohitter?), putting all the border discussion in this one, but thanks anyway.

We really went off-topic in that one. Sorry for that, nohitter.
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Borders in scripts

Post by nohitter151 »

gege wrote:I don't know who split the skinning functionality thread (nohitter?), putting all the border discussion in this one, but thanks anyway.

We really went off-topic in that one. Sorry for that, nohitter.
I split it, and no problem :wink:
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Re: Borders in scripts

Post by Dreadlau »

Yep good idea.

And sorry for the off-topic.
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)
LikeMM
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 5:29 pm

Re: Skinning functionality wishlist

Post by LikeMM »

gege wrote:
ZvezdanD wrote:
gege wrote:Unfortunately, working in quirks mode will break lots of skins (again for both LV and MR) :(
I just tried MM in Vista and you are right - border is not displayed only if I remove <!DOCTYPE HTML ... >. Could you explain what is happening with skins in quirks mode? I cannot see any difference when it is in that mode.
Turns out you're quite right. Side effects are not that bad for LV.
I tested all built in LV skins and also some 3rd party ones, found in this forum. For some, like Forum and Songbird, min-width and max-width CSS properties are not respected, but that's not a big deal. The only one really affected is Forum_Noir, whose header section is not shown. But I think I can figure out what's causing the problem.
Hi gege, ZvezdanD,

I managed to get rid of the thick borders around MonkeyRok in my desktop, which IE6. Today I got a netbook and installed MM3 on it. The borders appear thick again. The netbook has IE7 pre-installed. The borders disappear only if I remove 'doctype' as you mentioned, but then the fonts are all out of whack in MonkeyRok. What should I do to get the fonts back to all 8pt bold/normal as desired? (I want to avoid going back to IE6.) The netbook is pretty responsive for MM or any other program :)

Here is a screenshot.
Image
ZvezdanD
Posts: 3257
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 7:40 pm

Re: Skinning functionality wishlist

Post by ZvezdanD »

LikeMM wrote:What should I do to get the fonts back to all 8pt bold/normal as desired?
Find table's styles in the skin.css file and add:

Code: Select all

	font-size:1em;
For example, for the basic skin this should be:

Code: Select all

/* tables */
table {
	border:none;
	padding:0;
	margin:0;
	text-align: left;
	font-size:1em;
}
Please let me know if it works as it should and I will update information about this on the first page of this thread.
Magic Nodes 4.3.3 / 5.2 RegExp Find & Replace 4.4.9 / 5.2  Invert Selection/Select None 1.5.1  Export/Create Playlists for Child Nodes 4.1.1 / 5.4.1  Expand Child Nodes/Expand All 1.1.2  Event Logger 2.7  Filtered Statistics Report 1.6  Track Redirection & Synchronization 3.4.2  Restore/Synchronize Database 3.1.8 / 4.0.1  Find Currently Playing Track 1.3.2  Queue List 1.2.1  Add to Library on Play 1.0.1  Tree Report for Child Nodes 1.1.1  Update Location of Files in Database 1.4.5 / 2.3  Inherit Child Playlists 1.0.3  Add Currently Playing/Selected Track(s) to Playlist 1.2
ZvezdanD
Posts: 3257
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 7:40 pm

Re: Borders in scripts

Post by ZvezdanD »

I just noticed one more problem with MonkeyRok and Quirks mode - the first box is wider than it should be. Here are examples before and after modification:
Image Image

Find the .content styles in the skin.css file and add:

Code: Select all

    width:100%;
Alternately, you could modify the skin.html file - instead of the line (20):

Code: Select all

<div id="info_content" class="content">
you should write:

Code: Select all

<div id="info_content" class="content" style="width:100%">
Magic Nodes 4.3.3 / 5.2 RegExp Find & Replace 4.4.9 / 5.2  Invert Selection/Select None 1.5.1  Export/Create Playlists for Child Nodes 4.1.1 / 5.4.1  Expand Child Nodes/Expand All 1.1.2  Event Logger 2.7  Filtered Statistics Report 1.6  Track Redirection & Synchronization 3.4.2  Restore/Synchronize Database 3.1.8 / 4.0.1  Find Currently Playing Track 1.3.2  Queue List 1.2.1  Add to Library on Play 1.0.1  Tree Report for Child Nodes 1.1.1  Update Location of Files in Database 1.4.5 / 2.3  Inherit Child Playlists 1.0.3  Add Currently Playing/Selected Track(s) to Playlist 1.2
LikeMM
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 5:29 pm

Re: Skinning functionality wishlist

Post by LikeMM »

ZvezdanD wrote:
LikeMM wrote:What should I do to get the fonts back to all 8pt bold/normal as desired?
Find table's styles in the skin.css file and add:

Code: Select all

	font-size:1em;
...
Please let me know if it works as it should and I will update information about this on the first page of this thread.[/quote]

Worked like a charm! Needed to use both font-size and width attributes. [b][color=#BF0000]You rock![/color][/b]  :D

I used <b> attribute to bring the table headers back to bold. The headers are themselves one-line table with 2 or 3 <td> in my modification.
gege
Posts: 866
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Skinning functionality wishlist

Post by gege »

LikeMM wrote:You rock! :D
Yep! He does!
steviegt
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:39 am

Re: Borders in scripts

Post by steviegt »

I've been trying to get rid of the white border arounf Monkey Rok Eclipse skin. I tried following the directions and can't seem to get it to work. I am running Vista & IE8. Can someone help or offer a little more clarity on how to accomlish this. Thanks.
MMW Gold Lifetime v4.1.21.11875
MM Pro Android v1.3.2.0824
Windows Home 10.0.17134.228 64-bit Build 1803
MS Edge


Next to MediaMonkey, the best program available: Total Commander http://www.ghisler.com/

"Being mean to someone takes more effort than being nice to them"
ZvezdanD
Posts: 3257
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 7:40 pm

Re: Borders in scripts

Post by ZvezdanD »

Here is a guide how to remove the inner border from Monkey Rok Eclipse:

1. In the c:\Program Files\MediaMonkey3\Scripts\Auto\MonkeyRok.vbs file, instead of the line 306:

Code: Select all

  web.Common.Align = 5
you should write:

Code: Select all

  web.Common.ClientWidth = pan.Common.ClientWidth
  web.Common.ClientHeight = pan.Common.ClientHeight
  web.Common.Anchors = 15
2. Add the next lines to the c:\Program Files\MediaMonkey3\Scripts\MonkeyRok\skins\animated_eclipse\skin.css file:

Code: Select all

html {border:none;}
table {font-size:1em;}
.content {width:100%;}
3. remove the first line (<!DOCTYPE HTML ... >) from the begin of the c:\Program Files\MediaMonkey3\Scripts\MonkeyRok\skins\animated_eclipse\skin.html file.

4. restart MM program.

EDIT: gege and DreadM just updated Eclipse skin for MR, so steps 2 and 3 are not necessary anymore.
Magic Nodes 4.3.3 / 5.2 RegExp Find & Replace 4.4.9 / 5.2  Invert Selection/Select None 1.5.1  Export/Create Playlists for Child Nodes 4.1.1 / 5.4.1  Expand Child Nodes/Expand All 1.1.2  Event Logger 2.7  Filtered Statistics Report 1.6  Track Redirection & Synchronization 3.4.2  Restore/Synchronize Database 3.1.8 / 4.0.1  Find Currently Playing Track 1.3.2  Queue List 1.2.1  Add to Library on Play 1.0.1  Tree Report for Child Nodes 1.1.1  Update Location of Files in Database 1.4.5 / 2.3  Inherit Child Playlists 1.0.3  Add Currently Playing/Selected Track(s) to Playlist 1.2
Post Reply