1279 RC1 - Aero Peek

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

Goodog
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:28 am

1279 RC1 - Aero Peek

Post by Goodog » Wed Oct 28, 2009 3:26 am

Hi Guys

I thought I should report this as it seems to have been solved in a lot of cases. I'm using 1279 and my aero peek still isn't working properly. When I first load up MM, aero peek shows the last song selected complete with the album artwork as you would expect but, if I start to play songs, even the last selected song, aero peek just shows the blue 'busy' circle and the transport controls don't work, it's like it never finds the artwork or indeed the song it's looking for. The jumplist doesn't do what I would expect either, if I select a song from the jumplist, it attempts to open another MM session and this new session subsequently crashes locking up both open sessions..... Obviously this is not working correctly for me but from reading over some of the posts relating to this, you seem to have solved it for a lot of people.

Apologies in advance if there was a fix posted and I missed it.....

Any help that you can provide would be gratefully appreciated.

Thanks and best regards

Goodog

Peke
Posts: 12495
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: 1279 RC1 - Aero Peek

Post by Peke » Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:53 pm

Try with 1280 I have not observed That Behavior.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Goodog
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:28 am

Re: 1279 RC1 - Aero Peek

Post by Goodog » Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:45 pm

Hi Guys

I'm now using 1280 but still no difference, if I knew to post images I could show you....

Best Regards

Goodog

rusty
Posts: 7221
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: 1279 RC1 - Aero Peek

Post by rusty » Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:27 pm

Goodog,

Can you reboot your machine and then retest this? I'm wondering if an old MM process is lurking in the background...

Let us know.

Thx.

-Rusty

p.s. I have observed on the rare occasion, a failure to load the aeropeek window, however, the issue usually resolved after trying another track (I can't reproduce the problem).

Goodog
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:28 am

Re: 1279 RC1 - Aero Peek

Post by Goodog » Thu Oct 29, 2009 4:56 pm

Hi Guys

I've done a reboot with the same results.... Funny enough, the only button that works in aero peek is the close window red x, aside from that, just the same as before...... very frustrating!! Any ideas? I also tried another track but it was also the same.....

Best Regards

Goodog

rusty
Posts: 7221
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: 1279 RC1 - Aero Peek

Post by rusty » Fri Oct 30, 2009 11:43 am

Goodog,

A few changes were made to aeropeek for the next build (1282) that will hopefully resolve this--let us know:

http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=6038

Thanks.

-Rusty

Goodog
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:28 am

Re: 1279 RC1 - Aero Peek

Post by Goodog » Sat Oct 31, 2009 5:13 am

Hi Guys

Using 1282 now but still no difference (see image attached...) Any ideas?

Image
Image

Best Regards

Goodog

Edit: Fixed image tags

Guest

Re: 1279 RC1 - Aero Peek

Post by Guest » Mon Nov 02, 2009 1:32 pm

rusty wrote:Goodog,

A few changes were made to aeropeek for the next build (1282) that will hopefully resolve this--let us know:

http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=6038

Thanks.

-Rusty

Actually nohitter, it said 1282........

Goodog
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:28 am

Re: 1279 RC1 - Aero Peek

Post by Goodog » Mon Nov 02, 2009 1:34 pm

The last reply was actually me, I hadn't logged in.... D'oh!!!

I'd just like to say that this isn't a showstopper for me, I just wanted to let you know that it doesn't work....for me at least

Best Regards

Goodog

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: 1279 RC1 - Aero Peek

Post by nohitter151 » Mon Nov 02, 2009 1:37 pm

Guest wrote: Actually nohitter, it said 1282........
??

I don't even have a post in this thread until now.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Goodog
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:28 am

Re: 1279 RC1 - Aero Peek

Post by Goodog » Mon Nov 02, 2009 2:17 pm

Yeah

I had posted in another thread that was similar to this but had been started by someone else and you answered my post by saying this issue was fixed in 1283 according to the log and I would just have to wait until it was released....I was simply pointing out that I had been told that it was fixed in 1282.... it wasn't....

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: 1279 RC1 - Aero Peek

Post by nohitter151 » Mon Nov 02, 2009 2:40 pm

Goodog wrote:I had posted in another thread that was similar to this but had been started by someone else and you answered my post by saying this issue was fixed in 1283 according to the log and I would just have to wait until it was released....I was simply pointing out that I had been told that it was fixed in 1282.... it wasn't....
Ok, sorry, I see quite a few posts every day so it can be confusing if you reply to me in a post where I have not even posted before.

Anyway, I suppose you are talking about this post:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 01#p230040

But as you can see from the link I've posted there it indeed does say "Fixed in build 1283". I think in the future it would be less confusing to list your reply in that thread rather than a different one.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Goodog
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:28 am

Re: 1279 RC1 - Aero Peek

Post by Goodog » Mon Nov 02, 2009 2:51 pm

Hi Nohitter

Yes, apologies for that, my bad.

Best Regards

Goodog

rusty
Posts: 7221
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: 1279 RC1 - Aero Peek

Post by rusty » Mon Nov 02, 2009 5:33 pm

Gooddog,

Let us know if build 1283 does the trick. More changes were made in that build re. Aeropeek ;-)

-Rusty

NewRaven
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 6:01 pm

Re: 1279 RC1 - Aero Peek

Post by NewRaven » Mon Nov 02, 2009 6:11 pm

I maybe can add some kind of informations on this:

I had Media Monkey configured always to run as adminitrator per compatibility setting on MediaMonkey.exe to be able to install extensions (thats a thing you guys also need to fix quick, btw. ;) ). While configured this way I also didn't get Aero Peek to work. There were no cover arts (only the "loading" symbol) and the player controls did show, but didn't do anything. After setting this back to run with normal user rights Aero Peek worked fine... but sadly only with skinned Mode... the unskinned player doesn't work under 7 Ultimate (64) at all (doesn't care if startet with the unskinned-exe or disable skins at the option menu) if he had no administrator privileges. After hanging for nearly 20 seconds, media monkey starts without player (and the error message: "Error durring player initalization"). If you try to enable the player manually under "view" and then try to use it after that, you'll get a access violation. If you run the non-skinned-version as admin: works fine... but by running as admin, Aero peek don't work, like in skinned version also. What a mess ;) But to come back to the point: Maybe the thread starter runs MediaMonkey also in Administrator-Mode? :)

Edit: Need to correct myself. While in both versions aero peek don't work with admin rights compatibility setting, you CAN however get the non skinned version to work in non-admin-mode. You just have to deactivate the "Media Monkey Player" toolbar in your taskbar if you used it before with the skinned version. At least, this works sometimes... hmpf... wtf...

Post Reply