Noob with some Questions

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Ebein
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:24 am

Noob with some Questions

Post by Ebein » Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:41 am

Here is what Im trying to do, please let me know if its possible. Ive been trying to get iTunes/WMP/Anything to work, when I found MM3.

I have a Windows Home Server, with four shared drives

Music on M:\ ( 13,000+ songs )
Software S:\
TV Shows on T:\ ( 2500+ episodes )
Movies/Videos on V:\ ( 800+ movies )

I also have multiple computers I want to access my Media from.

Ideally I would like to install MM3 to S:\MediaMonkey\ And configure it to see the other 3 Shares. Then just go to the other
computers and create a shortcut to the MM3 executable and have all my metadata show up on all systems, and allow
each system to make changes to the metadata. ( Though only one systems will be accessing the files at a time ).


Secondly I would love to be able to backup all my metadata ( played #, rating, etc etc ). As I'm rather sick of having to re-rate all my music with each install ( thanks for nothing iTunes ).

Is there a way to backup games purchased in iTunes to MediaMonkey3 and reload them later?

Help/Advice Please
Thanks
Ebein

Lowlander
Posts: 46614
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Noob with some Questions

Post by Lowlander » Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:04 pm

You might want to just share the database: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... 68&nav=0,3

Most tags are written to the files so even a loss of the database shouldn't result in the loss of these tags. Anyway backing up is a good thing: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... ticleid=65

Also see the following wiki on installing MediaMonkey on a network share: http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... ediamonkey
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Teknojnky
Posts: 5533
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Noob with some Questions

Post by Teknojnky » Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:11 pm

you don't mention it, but I assume you realize that MM does not yet support videos (tv/movies).

davidbspalding
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 3:53 pm
Location: Durham, NC

Re: Noob with some Questions

Post by davidbspalding » Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:11 pm

Running software from a shared network drive .... Huh-uh, I wouldn't do that. But there's a Support post about locating the database as well as the music on a server. I suppose you could have your .INI copied to the server routinely, and have other computers download the latest copy before running MM. This is a sort of Parent - Child relationship, with a network server as the "drop box." But I would definitely keep the software running locally. (A non-commercial gold license is allegedly good for three computers to use, so there's no economic necessity for this.)

I tried hosting the dB on my network share ... and endured intermittent problems with MM having queries fail ... and it wouldn't recover very gracefully from it. Fortunately, I had a scheduled batch file making backups of the database. Another member suggested keeping the database locally (on the system which I sync with), and that's helped with the errors and performance; I edited the batch file to copy the dB to a shared drive for my secondary computer (which I rip CDs on) to access. My primary, syncing computer scans the NAS share where my music is stored for changes, so when the secondary, ripping computer uses AutoOrganize to move music (and m3u playlists) to the NAS, the primary computer picks up on the new music when it starts.

BTW, I would NOT access the shares in your MEDIAMONKEY.INI via drive letter ... use IP address (e.g. \\192.168.1.2\share1\mp3files\), or UNC if you have an entry in your hosts file and the share is on a static ip (e.g. \\simpleshare\share1\mp3files\). Why? Some operating systems (cough -- Windows) are crotchety about reading or writing to network drives if they haven't been "accessed" first. Don't ask me to explain, it's as mystifying to me as it is lame.
«Tell me and I'll forget; show me and I may remember; involve me and I'll understand.» Chinese proverb
T43 XP-SP3 2GB RAM, dual hard drives, MM 4.0.3 Gold; Ipod Classic 7G v2.0.4, Nano 3G v1.1.3.

Lowlander
Posts: 46614
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Noob with some Questions

Post by Lowlander » Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:04 pm

Definitely, mapped drives may cause problems in MediaMonkey.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply