Problem moving my music collection to new hard drive

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

grillmeister7
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:16 pm

Problem moving my music collection to new hard drive

Post by grillmeister7 » Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:00 pm

I know that using auto-Organize is the recommended procedure to move a Media Monkey collection to a new hard drive, but I could not do that because the new drive (2TB) and the old drive (500GB) were internal. My spare drive bay contained a disk with my My documents and my e-mail, which I didn't want to remove (although in the end I found that necessary).

My 'old' Media Monkey library was stored at X:\Musicfiles, where X is a 500GB Seagate with a volume label of SG_SATA.

So what I did was copy the library to an external drive (using explorer), install the 2TB drive and copy the library to the 2TB drive. Then I made the label of the 2TB drive the same as the old 500GB disk (SG_SATA) and mapped the 2TB drive to the same drive letter X. Yet MediaMonkey could not find the new/old library on the 2TB SG_SATA drive. I am led to believe Media Monkey uses something other than drive letter and volume label to locate the library. Btw, iTunes and WMP could find the library at X:\Musicfiles.

How does MM find the library?
Last edited by grillmeister7 on Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Lowlander
Posts: 47301
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Problem moving my music collection to new hard drive

Post by Lowlander » Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:02 pm

Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

dypsis
Posts: 1211
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm

Re: Problem moving my music collection to new hard drive

Post by dypsis » Tue Dec 07, 2010 3:06 pm

I hope this facility is built in to MediaMonkey 4.
This is simply not good enough for people having to do this every time they change drives.

Just my opinion. :wink:

grillmeister7
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:16 pm

Re: Problem moving my music collection to new hard drive

Post by grillmeister7 » Tue Dec 07, 2010 3:25 pm

Thank you very much. Should've asked first.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Problem moving my music collection to new hard drive

Post by nohitter151 » Tue Dec 07, 2010 9:26 pm

dypsis wrote:
I hope this facility is built in to MediaMonkey 4.
This is simply not good enough for people having to do this every time they change drives.

Just my opinion. :wink:
Technically it is already in MM4 (and MM3, and MM2, etc.) using the "Locate moved/missing tracks" feature. It's just unfortunate that it doesn't always work.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

dypsis
Posts: 1211
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm

Re: Problem moving my music collection to new hard drive

Post by dypsis » Thu Dec 09, 2010 6:56 pm

nohitter151 wrote:
dypsis wrote:
I hope this facility is built in to MediaMonkey 4.
This is simply not good enough for people having to do this every time they change drives.

Just my opinion. :wink:
Technically it is already in MM4 (and MM3, and MM2, etc.) using the "Locate moved/missing tracks" feature. It's just unfortunate that it doesn't always work.
So, you can move to a new drive with that?

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Problem moving my music collection to new hard drive

Post by nohitter151 » Thu Dec 09, 2010 7:11 pm

dypsis wrote: So, you can move to a new drive with that?
Sure, just copy the DB over and then use "Locate moved/missing tracks" on the new PC.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

dypsis
Posts: 1211
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm

Re: Problem moving my music collection to new hard drive

Post by dypsis » Thu Dec 09, 2010 7:45 pm

nohitter151 wrote:
dypsis wrote: So, you can move to a new drive with that?
Sure, just copy the DB over and then use "Locate moved/missing tracks" on the new PC.
And all your history/play count is saved?

nynaevelan
Posts: 5559
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Problem moving my music collection to new hard drive

Post by nynaevelan » Thu Dec 09, 2010 7:55 pm

dypsis wrote:
I hope this facility is built in to MediaMonkey 4.
This is simply not good enough for people having to do this every time they change drives.

Just my opinion. :wink:
I agree 100000000000%.
3.2x - Win7 Ultimate (Zen Touch 2 16 GB/Zen 8GB)
Link to Favorite Scripts/Skins

Join Dropbox, the online site to share your files

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Problem moving my music collection to new hard drive

Post by nohitter151 » Thu Dec 09, 2010 8:53 pm

dypsis wrote:
nohitter151 wrote:
dypsis wrote: So, you can move to a new drive with that?
Sure, just copy the DB over and then use "Locate moved/missing tracks" on the new PC.
And all your history/play count is saved?
Yes, of course. The whole point is that the same database references have updated file paths.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

dypsis
Posts: 1211
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm

Re: Problem moving my music collection to new hard drive

Post by dypsis » Thu Dec 09, 2010 9:18 pm

OK. I wonder why I have never seen that method advised over the years.
It has always been the Change Drive ID script method advised.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Problem moving my music collection to new hard drive

Post by nohitter151 » Fri Dec 10, 2010 6:09 pm

dypsis wrote:OK. I wonder why I have never seen that method advised over the years.
It has always been the Change Drive ID script method advised.
Because like I said in my first post, it doesn't work all of the time. I'm not sure why.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Peke
Posts: 13154
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Problem moving my music collection to new hard drive

Post by Peke » Fri Dec 10, 2010 8:30 pm

Have anyone Heard of Acronis True Image?

I Switched Tens Of HDDs over the years myself, along hundreds for friends and business, with 99.9% success (1 HDD Died During Clone+Resize). So Acronis True Image is I MUST Have app in my collection.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

dypsis
Posts: 1211
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:51 pm

Re: Acronis True Image

Post by dypsis » Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:25 pm

Peke wrote:Have anyone Heard of Acronis True Image?
Yeah, but with Windows 7, you don't need Acronis True Image anymore.
The system image utility in Windows 7 is superb, in my opinion. And very fast.

Peke
Posts: 13154
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Problem moving my music collection to new hard drive

Post by Peke » Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:42 pm

And Do not Clone Partitions(Serial Numbers Too)+Resizing+Fix Lettering,..., Secured Backup Partition, ...

Only Think I was missing From Bootable CD/USB is Advanced Features of Acronis disk Director or Partition Commander Utils from its Boot CD.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Post Reply