Can't see MediaMonkey

Get answers about how to share with different devices.

Moderator: Gurus

Can't see MediaMonkey

Postby MPG » Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:27 am

Hi,
I am running MediaMonkey 4.0.2.1462
WinXp Pro SP3
LinkSys Wireless Router
SamSung C650 TV, wired to the network. Confirmed network connectivity.

I have set up DLNA on MediaMonkey and the server is running on port 41802.
I have shared out my music collection.

My TV's AllShare is unable to see the MediaMonkey Server.

Any suggestions?

TIA,
Greg
MPG
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 11:22 pm

Re: Can't see MediaMonkey

Postby MPG » Mon Jan 09, 2012 4:20 pm

In further to my problem:
When I set the port to be 4000, MediaMonkey sees the MediaMonkey server and the files within it.

Does that help or confuse things more?
MPG
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 11:22 pm

Re: Can't see MediaMonkey

Postby Lowlander » Mon Jan 09, 2012 4:31 pm

Did you enable MediaMonkey in the Firewall on your PC?

Port 4000 can be used for testing, but as it is on the local PC it should still work even if the Firewall is blocking MediaMonkey.
Lowlander
 
Posts: 37057
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm

Re: Can't see MediaMonkey

Postby MPG » Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:15 pm

No, I did not. I assumed (don't go there :) ), that MediaMonkey would have taken the appropriate steps to set that up. So I'll assume that all I have to do is just open the port identified on the MediaMonkey server. Does it matter what the name is?
MPG
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 11:22 pm

Re: Can't see MediaMonkey

Postby Lowlander » Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:18 pm

The name doesn't matter.

If it's done automatically depends on your Firewall software and the settings you set.
Lowlander
 
Posts: 37057
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm

Re: Can't see MediaMonkey

Postby Lakuos » Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:59 am

It's a WinXP UPnP service problem. Resolved here.
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=64357#p330775
Lakuos
 

Re: Can't see MediaMonkey

Postby LuckyV » Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:22 pm

When I switched from Twonky Media server to MediaMonkey server, my network player and blu-ray disc player did not recognize MediaMonkey server running on Windows 7.

I’ve exactly followed the instructions on the MediaMonkey Web Help/Streaming to Other Devices (UPnP/DLNA) and turned on the Windows Firewall for MediaMonkey. I can confirm the MediaMonkey Server is running on the Windows 7 by seeing “MediaMonkey Server” in the MediaMonkey window (under Media Server) along with “LinkStation NAS” on which Twonky Media server runs. Music files on both servers display correctly in the MediaMonkey window. My network player and blu-ray disc player display only “LinkStation NAS” server, not “MediaMonkey Server.”

What’s more I need to set up to see the MediaMonkey server from Digital Media Render (DMR) such as my network player and blu-ray disc player? I really want to solve this problem to utilize MediaMonkey’s convenient features such as On-the-fly Audio/Video Conversion for sync, DLNA sharing, and burns etc.

My system environment/audio equipment:
1. Windows 7 Home Premium (version 6.1) - installed on Mac OS X (version 10.7.2) using Parallels Desktop 7 for Mac.
2. MediaMonkey Gold (version 4.0.2.1462)
3. BUFFALO LinkStation Pro LS-VL - Twonky Media Server (version 4.4.19_e2) is installed on this NAS.
4. Linksys E4200 Router
5. YAMAHA NP-S2000 Network Player
6. YAMAHA BD-A1010 Blu-Ray Disc Player

Any help? Please!
LuckyV
 

Re: Can't see MediaMonkey

Postby Lowlander » Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:40 pm

If MediaMonkey can see its own server, but other networked device can't it is most likely a Firewall issue. Make sure you don't have other firewalls running (like with Antivirus software) and you may want to explicitly allow the port MediaMonkey Server is running on in the Firewall.

Also go into the MediaServer settings in MediaMonkey and go to Access Control, make sure you automatically share with new devices. On the UPnP/DLNA Server tab you may want to enable accept external IP addresses.
Lowlander
 
Posts: 37057
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm

Re: Can't see MediaMonkey

Postby LuckyV » Sat Feb 11, 2012 9:04 pm

The MediaMonkey Server disappears from the Media Servers list intermittently. In any case I made sure all of your instructions were followed in the Media Sharing Options and in Windows 7 Firewall settings (Allow programs to communicate through Windows Firewall – I confirmed MediaMonkey and Home/Work (Private) columns are checked). No other programs including Antivirus software were running. However, the MediaMonkey Server was not showing in the Media Servers list.

Then, I changed the IP Port setting on the “UPnP/DLNA Server” tab to 4000 by following the instructions described in the MediaMonkey Help Content/Streaming your Library to Other Devices. This change did nothing. At this point, I closed everything and restarted the system (cold boot). Now I see MediaMonkey Server reappeared in the MediaMonkey Media Severs list along with the NAS (Twonky Media Server is running). But unfortunately, other networked devices can’t see the MediaMonky Media Server. I have no idea why.

After removing the Media Server with IP Port: 4000, I added a new Media Server (IP Port: 44347 was assigned). Currently the new server is running but other devices can’t see it.

The Help Content description (excerpt) is:
“If you’re having problems sharing your library, try setting the ‘IP Port:’ on the ‘UPnP/DLNA Server’ tab to ‘4000’. That will cause the server to be browsable directly from within MediaMonkey to help you debug any problems.”

How do you debug the problem with the IP Port: 4000 setting? What else can you suggest to resolve this problem?

Thank you.
LuckyV
 

Re: Can't see MediaMonkey

Postby Lowlander » Sun Feb 12, 2012 5:30 pm

It allows you to debug specific issues with content. In your case it confirms that the MediaMonkey Server is up and running.

In your case you may want to send a debug log step 4b of other clients trying to find DLNA servers on your network and send it to support: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=69 It may show why this is happening, although my hunch would still be a firewall/network issue.

Do you have multiple network connections on the PC? Does the PC belong to the same network as DLNA clients (all connected NICs)?
Lowlander
 
Posts: 37057
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm

Re: Can't see MediaMonkey

Postby LuckyV » Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:27 pm

My iMac belongs to the same network as DLNA clients belong. My home networking is very basic one: From DSL modem to Router to which iMac, NAS, Network Player and Blu-ray Disc Player are connected. Currently all connections are wired.

I saw Media Sever was running for a period of time yesterday. But I cannot see it at all for today. As always, the status in the Media Shearing/Options window indicates the server is “Running.” Your hunch may be correct but this sporadic behavior and the consistent display of NAS server under Media Servers are puzzling me. At this point there are several entries on the UPnP/DLNA server tag but the time stamps (Date column) seem static (no additional new entries). Maybe when MM4 was brought up, the MM4’s server layer was started but froze right away for some reason. I have not idea about the timing of bringing up the server layer.

I’ll report a bug. Please clarify some items for me.
1. To execute the debug version of MM4, do I need to uninstall the current MM4?
2. Where can I locate the log file after executing the debug version?
3. How does the debug version work? Does it execute step wise so that I can start logging from step 4b you mentioned? Are there start/stop/restart logging switches?
4. Do I need to set up the IP Port to 4000? If so, at which step should I do it?
5. When I report a bug, can I point to this forum URL instead of repeating the same problem description? I think my problem description in this forum is specific enough and I don’t think I can elaborate any further.

Thank you.
LuckyV
 

Re: Can't see MediaMonkey

Postby Lowlander » Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:13 am

1) No
2) You need to run DBGView as per instructions and save the log once done
3) Works exactly the same as normal version, DBGView will catch all debug messages
4) That shouldn't be necessary, but you can try it. So first under normal port, try connect clients, save log, start new log, then switch, try clients again, save log.
5) Include URL to thread in your Support Ticket
Lowlander
 
Posts: 37057
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm

Re: Can't see MediaMonkey

Postby khelsing » Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:40 pm

LuckyV wrote:1. Windows 7 Home Premium (version 6.1) - installed on Mac OS X (version 10.7.2) using Parallels Desktop 7 for Mac.

Have you made sure that OS X doesn't interfere? Maybe Lion's firewall is blocking incoming traffic.

Which networking mode are you using for Parallels? Bridged should be fine, Shared and Host-Only presumably will cause the issue you describe (see here for deatils).
khelsing
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 4:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Can't see MediaMonkey

Postby Lowlander » Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:50 pm

LuckyV wrote: installed on Mac OS X (version 10.7.2) using Parallels Desktop 7 for Mac
Completely missed that. I don't know if UPnP sharing is possible in that setup. You may want to try a different DLNA sharing on the same system. If it also fails that would mean your setup is the problem.
Lowlander
 
Posts: 37057
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm

Re: Can't see MediaMonkey

Postby khelsing » Tue Feb 14, 2012 5:14 am

Lowlander wrote:I don't know if UPnP sharing is possible in that setup.

It is, provided that the VM is correctly configured. As I write this I'm running MediaMonkey on Windows 8 DP in a virtual machine and MM's media server is visible and accessible from the local network.
khelsing
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 4:11 pm
Location: Germany

Next

Return to Need Help with UPnP / DLNA ?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest