Split album in Art Browser display

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

allwi
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 7:34 pm
Location: Sydney NSW

Split album in Art Browser display

Post by allwi » Sun Feb 08, 2015 5:33 pm

Hi,

finally, I got a new computer with a much bigger display - yeah!

So I played around with the different view modes, however when I use the Art Browser, the display is strange. Several albums are "split", i.e. I see multiple displays of the cover in the album browser and when I select them, I see only part of the songs. I assumed that this related to some settings which are different like album title with trailing space, different art per song etc but I couldn't find any difference.

When I use the Art with Details view everything is fine, i.e. all songs of the albums are combined. Any clue? Is this a bug or don't I use the feature correctly?

Please find below a screenshot of the Art Browser. If required, I can add one of the Art with Details of the same artist:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/l0affx4xgvelv ... s.jpg?dl=0

plus1

Re: Split album in Art Browser display

Post by plus1 » Sun Feb 08, 2015 5:43 pm

Are the files all grouped under the same Album Artist?

allwi
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 7:34 pm
Location: Sydney NSW

Re: Split album in Art Browser display

Post by allwi » Sun Feb 08, 2015 7:46 pm

Yep, they are - this was the most obvious :)

I checked and saw no difference. I even selected all files and in the properties dialog set the album artist explicitly again (the tick box that the setting has to be changed was marked).

Lowlander
Posts: 46080
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Split album in Art Browser display

Post by Lowlander » Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:21 pm

You've sorted on Rating thus the Albums are split among the different Ratings values you've assigned. If you want Albums grouped sort on Album instead.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

allwi
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 7:34 pm
Location: Sydney NSW

Re: Split album in Art Browser display

Post by allwi » Mon Feb 09, 2015 11:30 pm

Lowlander wrote:You've sorted on Rating thus the Albums are split among the different Ratings values you've assigned. If you want Albums grouped sort on Album instead.
Ahhh ... so easy, thanks :D

It didn't came to my mind that the sorting in the details panel affect the art browser. I assumed that the art browser always combines the albums. I guess I assumed this because I hoped that this would be the case ;)

allwi
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 7:34 pm
Location: Sydney NSW

Re: Split album in Art Browser display

Post by allwi » Fri Mar 06, 2015 5:57 pm

Lowlander wrote:You've sorted on Rating thus the Albums are split among the different Ratings values you've assigned. If you want Albums grouped sort on Album instead.
Hi Lowlander, this "fixed" my issue ... but unfortunately not in all cases.
I discovered a few albums which are still shown split however they have the same album title, the same album artist and the same album picture(s). I checked and to be sure updated the album title and the pics - no change.

As you can see in the pic, I use the album title as sort criteria. Any ideas?
https://www.dropbox.com/s/oq8oz5td9aapx ... y.png?dl=0

Edit: Sorry I tried to include the image with the <img> tag but it didn't work

Lowlander
Posts: 46080
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Split album in Art Browser display

Post by Lowlander » Fri Mar 06, 2015 8:02 pm

You're not showing the Album Artist column.

When sorting on Album and Album and Album Artist being the same for all tracks on the Album it should show together.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

allwi
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 7:34 pm
Location: Sydney NSW

Re: Split album in Art Browser display

Post by allwi » Fri Mar 06, 2015 10:45 pm

How embarrasing :oops:

I bet I check all settings a thousand times and updated them to be safe ... but obviously not ...
You were right the Album Artist was different.

Many thanks for the prompt response.

Post Reply