5-Channel Songs Get Empty Channels Field

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Scottes
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 6:51 am

5-Channel Songs Get Empty Channels Field

Post by Scottes » Thu Feb 12, 2015 6:43 am

I have an album ripped from SACD, Dave Brubeck's Time Out. MediaInfo says the songs have 5 channels - not 6 which would indicate 5.1.
In MediaMonkey the Channels field is blank.
I find the same thing for a Beethoven album with 5 channels. These are the only 2 albums in my collection where MM shows a blank Channels field.

Does MM not recognize 5-channel tracks? Is this a bug? Or is there possibly a problem with the FLACs? (Though this is all tracks for 2 albums, ripped the same way I've ripped other SACDs, so I tend to think it's MM.)
MonkeyMatch - Find and fix similar/incorrect spellings
MonkeyMatch Thread

Lowlander
Posts: 46261
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: 5-Channel Songs Get Empty Channels Field

Post by Lowlander » Thu Feb 12, 2015 11:29 am

Could be an inability to read or corrupted tags. The best is to offer an affected file to support: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... ets/Submit (use a file sharing service like dropbox and add link to file in ticket).
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Scottes
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 6:51 am

Re: 5-Channel Songs Get Empty Channels Field

Post by Scottes » Thu Feb 12, 2015 11:36 am

Well I went through all my 5- and 6-channel albums, and the only songs that don't have the number of channels listed in MM are from 2 albums. All songs from these albums don't list the channels in MM. Smells like an inability to recognize 5-channel songs.

I will open a ticket and upload a song.

Thanks.
MonkeyMatch - Find and fix similar/incorrect spellings
MonkeyMatch Thread

Scottes
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 6:51 am

Re: 5-Channel Songs Get Empty Channels Field

Post by Scottes » Thu Feb 12, 2015 11:42 am

Either I'm doing something wrong or something is wrong with that URL. I went to it, and tried to log in and it said my username or password was invalid. I double-checked and tried again. Same thing. I did a password reset, same thing. So I clicked on the Register button, figuring that the MM Forums account is not the same as the "submit a ticket account", but "registering" just brings me back to the forum page, http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/index.php.
MonkeyMatch - Find and fix similar/incorrect spellings
MonkeyMatch Thread

Lowlander
Posts: 46261
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: 5-Channel Songs Get Empty Channels Field

Post by Lowlander » Thu Feb 12, 2015 11:53 am

It should be the same, you may want to PM Rusty with your account details.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Scottes
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 6:51 am

Re: 5-Channel Songs Get Empty Channels Field

Post by Scottes » Thu Feb 12, 2015 6:35 pm

I will do that. Thanks again.
MonkeyMatch - Find and fix similar/incorrect spellings
MonkeyMatch Thread

Post Reply