How to Set Up Basic Sync

Get answers about the current release of MediaMonkey for Android

Moderator: Gurus

iloveaiff
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:51 pm

How to Set Up Basic Sync

Post by iloveaiff » Thu Jun 01, 2017 6:03 am

So I managed to get a sync server up and running.. and it's showing on my MMA device via wifi now (Samsung S8).

Basically I go through a lot of music, and rate it by slowly going through playing it and assigning ratings. Then I'll go back and delete everything below three stars, and do this by genre or directory.

so I would like to extend that to my Android device. I just want to sync directories or genres, with ratings carried across, or just sections of a directory or genre rated say 3 stars or above.

Ideally, I can then rate on my device and that will sync back to the MMW server.

So in essence - I dump a heap of music on the device - sort it out by ratings, and carry that back over the server, and occasionally sync only certain rated songs for specific directories or genres...

I tried syncing from MMW to the device directly and ratings were lost :-( When I press sync on MMA it connects and briefly does something, then nothing.

So I am going to try using this MMA <-> MMW sync option, if it works.

Is this possible?

I have been through the guides and and I can't work out how to make this happen..

Thanks...

Lowlander
Posts: 45854
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: How to Set Up Basic Sync

Post by Lowlander » Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:24 am

Start here: http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... oid_device
and also see:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... ork-at-all
http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... tion-fails

Which version of MMW, MMA and Android are you using?

The best approach would be an AutoPlaylist with Criteria Genre = X; Y: Z and Rating >= 3 stars.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

iloveaiff
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:51 pm

Re: How to Set Up Basic Sync

Post by iloveaiff » Thu Jun 01, 2017 3:44 pm

Yep that's great, I'll try that..

Using latest versions on both.

Basically I record a lot of Internet radio - and then just assign a genre for each station or station genre - and that can really add up. I get maybe a 10% hit rate of stuff I actually want to keep (and don't worry, I do buy or subscribe through Spotify for stuff I end up really liking). And sifting through it all on a PC has just never worked - so being able to sync to my mobile device - star rate - sync back and then delete everything with below 3 stars - would be fantastic - it would be ten years of looking for something like this - finally at an end.

But this morning (after leaving it all overnight, running) WMA cannot see any UPnP servers, including others running on the PC... so something's amiss there. Last night (after following those instructions) I tried disabling IGMP Snooping and "Enable Wireless Multicast Forwarding (WMF)" in wireless settings and then WMA could see UPnP servers, complete a sync. This morning however the problem as returned. So I wonder if Bitdefender could be causing any issues. I'll give it another go with that firewall disabled later, although from experience that won't help either..

This happened last night but the UPnP servers appeared on WMA after disabling those options and I thought that fixed it, but it may have been entirely coincidental.

So WMA is not seeing any servers, that could be the issue.

Even so, when I could sync - nothing happened.. So is there something I need to do on the PC side? I was hoping I could just pull up WMA and select Genre X and then sync 3+ stars, or everything.

Or do I need to do that from the PC (once I get it working). I just want to sync a directory or genre and then go have fun rating and / or deleting on the phone and syncing back to the PC.

Serious bonus points if I can then automate then when I walk in the house. That would be heaven.

Internet radio, after 20 years, is still my main source of exposure to new music. Followed by Spotify but I still find Internet radio still so useful. But the problem is that only a small amount of it I actually like so I need to do a LOT of filtering.

I will also try from a Windows 7 laptop this weekend too, and actually completely uninstall Bitdefender on that laptop just to rule it out too (but for some reason I don't think that's the issue). I'll also look for a UPnP browsing app on Android to see if it's isolated to the WMA app.

Any other suggestions welcome. I've been trying to get something like this going for a loooooong time and I will be so grateful to you all if I can. I'll shout MediaMonkey from the rooftops and get others on board. Because it's so awesome. Like my wife. She'll love it if we can do this for her too.

Lowlander
Posts: 45854
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: How to Set Up Basic Sync

Post by Lowlander » Thu Jun 01, 2017 7:26 pm

Firewall can be the cause as they block network traffic. Linked Knowledge Base should help. It may be good to restart PC, phone and router.

You can do the whole sync from MMA, however in MMW you can manipulate AutoPlaylists (which auto-update) which is a more powerful method of filtering files out. Of course once you've created them you can use MMA to select which should be synced to your device.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

iloveaiff
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:51 pm

Re: How to Set Up Basic Sync

Post by iloveaiff » Thu Jun 01, 2017 9:13 pm

Thanks... I'l check if the PC firewall is causing issues then. It shouldn't be.

When it did work though, I clicked sync and nothing happened. No error, just nothing happened... Maybe I'm doing it wrong.

The auto playlist is the way to go. I could sync a genre for rated and not rated, i.e. a workflow of tracks to rate, and a playlist of ones I have selected already.

iloveaiff
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:51 pm

Re: How to Set Up Basic Sync

Post by iloveaiff » Sat Jun 03, 2017 2:00 am

After much back and forth and significant effort - I seem to have isolated the issue to my wireless router. Even with disabling the firewall, IP6 and anything else I can find - it still won't work through that, while if I force connect to a different AP, then UPnP servers show up in both BubblePNP and WMA. So something is funny there.

HOWEVER, I created some auto-playlists as suggested and had the time of my life in the house today with the music up loud as a result. I could sync a playlist to the device and even stream to a Chromecast. Happy days.

I have to say it is a little un-intuitive but it seems to work - i.e having to dig deep in the settings to find the option to select playlists to sync, rather than being able to browse from the front screen once having selected a sync server. And what's the difference between WMD Server and Library? Both seem to do the same thing.

Also confirmed that star ratings sync BACK - VERY HAPPY. That's all I want do do. Would be easier if I could just play and rate straight from the server without syncing files but that's ok, I can finally do this. So I have created two playlists for a genre - non-rated and rated 3+ and that's great.

Downloaded artwork is not syncing back as far as I can see though. Would be nice to get that working although being able to do it one go from the PC would be handy but WMD does not seem to handle a general directory very well (i.e. a ripped radio stream).

Still, it's a significant step forward. I'll see if this continues to work and if it does then at least I have isolated the issue although for the life of me I cannot work out why the WLAN point would obstruct UPnP - especially considering that is the modem and gateway, and the AP that is working with UPnP hangs off that. Odd.

Lowlander
Posts: 45854
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: How to Set Up Basic Sync

Post by Lowlander » Sat Jun 03, 2017 9:34 am

You may have a guest wifi that is isolated from the rest of the network. DLNA (UPnP) only works on the local network (by design) and this is used for wifi sync in MMA.

Make sure you set MMA to update the files when tagging in the Options.

I'm not sure what WMD is.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

iloveaiff
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:51 pm

Re: How to Set Up Basic Sync

Post by iloveaiff » Sat Jun 03, 2017 4:28 pm

MMD sorry, Media Monkey Desktop... Whoops my mistake... No it's not a WMD..

I think I had Windows Media on my mind so was trying to be smart with acronyms but slipped and spelt out a acronym for mass destruction instead.. oh well, fool on me. Turn the W in to a M and it makes sense now.

Well flashed latest firmware on the router and so far it seems to be working fine. Maybe it just got itself in to a knot somewhere (it was also being slow over wireless too, but not wired).

Thanks for the tips though.

I have around 800 non rated files, can I part sync or create split up auto playlists..

This is great.

I'm going to sign up to DI.FM for a month again and load up a month of ElectroPop and other stations to keep my sifting workflow going for another year with this... Very happy..

This is basically all I ever wanted to do - to be able to mass load up a bunch of tracks and sift through them on a portable device rather than having to sit in front of a PC to do it. I can go for a walk or whatever and sift away.

Now I presume MMA can save to an external card, because the Samsung S8 still supports that so I can load it up and be away.

Very very happy.

Lowlander
Posts: 45854
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: How to Set Up Basic Sync

Post by Lowlander » Sun Jun 04, 2017 12:27 pm

If you have 2 Media Servers in MMW you can remove one of them. This likely means you've been using MediaMonkey since 4.0.

MediaMonkey can sync to external memory. It will be treated as a separate Device Profile, but it can be synced to.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

iloveaiff
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:51 pm

Re: How to Set Up Basic Sync

Post by iloveaiff » Sun Jun 04, 2017 5:46 pm

Nice, will do... I'll remove Library then and keep Server...

Got it working with StationRipper too, although I wish MMW could have have stream ripping function built in... But it works... So it assigns all incoming tracks to a playlist, which I then sort by Path and assign genre accordingly (pretty much one genre for each station, generally, although I could split stations out individually if needed)..

Next I will create auto playlists for each, rated and non rated...

Then sync and go to a external card! Happy days...

iloveaiff
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:51 pm

Re: How to Set Up Basic Sync

Post by iloveaiff » Wed Jun 07, 2017 10:31 pm

Moving along nicely now :-)

Issue now though is that sync is getting stuck / failing after a point - with a long list of tracks that could not be sync'd and I don't know why - there's no specific error message.

What I do notice though is that there are 50 tracks in two new playlists I am trying to sync, although others have more so I am not sure if that's relevant.

Is there any way I can reset it or something without borking up the whole process due to tracks already on the device or whatever... Or is there a way to find out what is causing the failed sync?

Some it is syncing fine though, like star ratings back and forth and then removing tracks with less than 3 stars so that seems to be working....

I am also setting up auto playlists using Path Contains variables rather than genre - for each station - and that seems to work.

Lowlander
Posts: 45854
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: How to Set Up Basic Sync

Post by Lowlander » Thu Jun 08, 2017 11:55 am

Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply