Automatic BPM detection for FLAC

Any ideas about how to improve MediaMonkey? Let us know!

Moderator: Gurus

Postby Lowlander » Wed Mar 15, 2006 10:10 am

There is no such project at this point.

You'll need some external application/plugin to calculate the bpm value. This value then needs to be save to the library and tags which can be done with scripts.

Teknojnky's method might work. MediaMonkey sees the files in the library and the VirtualCD as one file. So saving to virtualCD as mp3 might do the trick. You might want to try this method.

Another way would pretty much do the same. You'll need to convert the flac's to mp3, calculate the bpm and use a script to copy the mp3 bpm to the flac files. If you keep the same names it shouldn't be that difficult to code.

The question is if you could add conversion to a script so you could have the script do the conversion. Then either the script could call MixMeister or you'll have to do it manually if MixMeister doesn't support it. Have the bpm value calculated. Then update the library (or read the id3 tag) and get the bpm value. Save this to Flac version and delete the mp3. This all together would not be a simple script.
Lowlander
 
Posts: 35366
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm

Postby Guest » Wed Mar 15, 2006 11:40 am

Thanks for the suggestion, lowlander, but this is a hell of a workaround!

Converting every file to mp3 soley in order to calculate the BPM seems like overkill. BPM is a property of the audio, not the audio file format. The MixMeister app must decompress the mp3 in order to find the BPM of the audio content.

This comes back to my original wishlist request. I need something that can detect BPM of audio from any source format.

I have no problem with doing a bit of scripting. Perhaps the best solution is to make a script that converts the flac file to an mp3 snippet, calls the MixMeister app to insert the BPM tag, copy it to the MM database and delete the file. Still a bit of a work-around, but it's all automatic that way.

Can the MixMeister app be called from a VB script? If not, there is still a strong case for a generic BPM plugin.
Guest
 

Postby andysaul » Wed Mar 15, 2006 11:43 am

Anonymous wrote:Thanks for the suggestion, lowlander, but this is a hell of a workaround!

Converting every file to mp3 soley in order to calculate the BPM seems like overkill. BPM is a property of the audio, not the audio file format. The MixMeister app must decompress the mp3 in order to find the BPM of the audio content.

This comes back to my original wishlist request. I need something that can detect BPM of audio from any source format.

I have no problem with doing a bit of scripting. Perhaps the best solution is to make a script that converts the flac file to an mp3 snippet, calls the MixMeister app to insert the BPM tag, copy it to the MM database and delete the file. Still a bit of a work-around, but it's all automatic that way.

Can the MixMeister app be called from a VB script? If not, there is still a strong case for a generic BPM plugin.


That was me, BTW. Thought I'd logged in...
andysaul
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:09 pm

Postby Lowlander » Wed Mar 15, 2006 12:16 pm

It was suggested as workaround as there is no solution currently and it seems a solution might not be available in the near future. And the problem it seems that MixMeister doesn't calculate BPM on Flac.
Lowlander
 
Posts: 35366
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm

Postby Teknojnky » Wed Mar 15, 2006 12:28 pm

MM doesn't calculate BPM at all, so maybe you could contact the mixmiester people and see if they would be willing to support other file types.
Teknojnky
 
Posts: 5509
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:01 pm

Postby Tylast » Sun May 14, 2006 8:07 am

Any BPM projects on the horizon?
Image
Tylast
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:54 pm
Location: US

Postby rovingcowboy » Sun May 14, 2006 12:40 pm

why not just go in to the scripts forum's all script thread and get the one in there that makes adding bpm's to the songs for all songs in your lib simple.

psyxonova, made the script his should work for you. but if not i had to adjust his to work on my computer so it might work for you.

try his first it might be easier then my redo of his which is not to much of a redo just an adjustment for my win98 computer.

but get his first version of the script before you try mine.

http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5803
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at viewtopic.php?p=44008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Xp pro sp3, vers 3.2 jukebox, pcchips mb. amd sem... built by me) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.2 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.WinXp pro sp 3 version 2.5 and version 3.2 work gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 4.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox. 5.WinXp pro sp3, vers 2.5.5, moms computer. Sony vaio.)6. Motorola Photon. Android 4.1.2
rovingcowboy
 
Posts: 13740
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)

Postby Tylast » Sun May 14, 2006 4:25 pm

OK, tried that....they don't work.
Image
Tylast
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:54 pm
Location: US

Postby rovingcowboy » Sun May 14, 2006 7:03 pm

darn? i don't know then that works for me. :o
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at viewtopic.php?p=44008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Xp pro sp3, vers 3.2 jukebox, pcchips mb. amd sem... built by me) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.2 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.WinXp pro sp 3 version 2.5 and version 3.2 work gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 4.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox. 5.WinXp pro sp3, vers 2.5.5, moms computer. Sony vaio.)6. Motorola Photon. Android 4.1.2
rovingcowboy
 
Posts: 13740
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)

Postby andysaul » Thu Aug 31, 2006 5:54 am

In case anyone's still interested, here's the solution I finally used.

1) Create an auto-playlist that lists all tracks without BPM
2) Convert all files from FLAC to MP3 at the same location. I used 96k mono files to save space.
3) Run MixMeister on the whole directory. This calculates BPM for the new MP3 files & writes it in their tags.
4) Open the 'Duplicate Titles' node. Use a script to copy the BPM field to the FLAC entry.
5) Delete MP3 duplicates that are no longer necessary.
6) Defrag.

Thanks to Teknojnky & Lowlander for suggesting this workaround. It's a long way round, but is fully automated so I can just leave the PC to get on with it.:wink:

The script I used is from this post. I just hacked it to use the BPM field rather than the ratings field.
andysaul
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:09 pm

Postby Frank67 » Sun Oct 22, 2006 6:46 am

well i think i push this thread up again...

I really would like to see a real BPM counter (calculator) in the player display
with the abillity to save the result in the played file by pushing
a button...
For me, i don´t need a script to proccess "all" files,
beause automatic BPM counting doesn´t work well all the time...

I don´t understand that this function isn´t build in already, because
there are cheaper tools or freeware mixers who can show BPM's
like "MJ Studio" or Mix Meister...
cheers
Frank
Frank67
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 1:15 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Lowlander » Sun Oct 22, 2006 8:38 pm

Well, only a few DJ's would find the BPM value useful. Besides it probably uses additional CPU to show BPM in real time. We'll see if the developers include more BPM functionality in the future (like autoDJ with BPM in decision making of next track).
Lowlander
 
Posts: 35366
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm

Postby Frank67 » Mon Oct 23, 2006 1:54 am

Lowlander wrote:Well, only a few DJ's would find the BPM value useful. Besides it probably uses additional CPU to show BPM in real time. We'll see if the developers include more BPM functionality in the future (like autoDJ with BPM in decision making of next track).

Na i don´t think that only DJ´s are interested in this function..
I am using the BPM field to categorize music for my sports,
like Jogging or Spinning ...
cheers
Frank
Frank67
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 1:15 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Lowlander » Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:41 pm

But for jogging a static BPM value (calculated over the whole song) is enough I would think. And for that you can use the MixMeister BPM calculator.

Build in BPM analyzer was promised a long time ago, but I assume it has since dropped on the priority wishlist.
Lowlander
 
Posts: 35366
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm

Postby Tylast » Sat Oct 28, 2006 8:10 am

But it doesn't work with Flac & it writes to a text file. There needs to be something more integrated that write directly to the database.
Image
Tylast
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:54 pm
Location: US

Previous

Return to Wishlist (mmw)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests