Database error: need Jet files

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14162
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Tue Jun 20, 2006 5:12 pm

Glad you got it figured out and working.

but go back and read my first post again. you got it messed up.

i said iF it is illegel ms would mess it up more with their spider they have
to find illegel instals. 8)

and going to their site with an illegel version is like going to the police and turning your self in after you robbed a bank. :(

i in no way said you had an illegel version i can not say that without seeing it.
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Steegy
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Steegy » Tue Jun 20, 2006 5:57 pm

i said iF it is illegel ms would mess it up more with their spider they have
to find illegel instals.

and going to their site with an illegel version is like going to the police and turning your self in after you robbed a bank.
People, don't believe a word of this. It's totally wrong. :o I'm sure Guest and others will agree.

What happens: Microsoft *can* (if you choose to) detect that your version of Windows isn't "genuine". You will not be able to get some things, like Microsoft Defender, and updates through the Windows Update site.
But you are able to get updates through the automatic updating of Windows (even if it has not been Genuine-checked or if the result is "not-genuine"). So basicly your system will be as safe as a genuine system.

Thousands of people have a version of Windows that isn't "genuine" without even knowing it. Do you thing they would all get a visit from the police? :lol:

Also, there's no such thing as an "illegal Windows version searching spider". I think you are confusing it with MSN search's spider/crawler... (the same as google, altavista, yahoo, ... are these all bad?..)

So RovingCowboy, please keep your "security" advisories to what is real. As I already said in a PM to you, I won't let you make people affraid for things that aren't real!

Thanks for understanding this 8)
(And yes, my software is genuine, and no, I'm not a Microsoft affiliate. I just want people to know the truth. Especially novice users and older people need the correct information, as they usually tend to be much more "affraid" in their selves.)
Sorry if this post seems a bit harsh, but I don't know any other way to say this.
Extensions: ExternalTools, ExtractFields, SongPreviewer, LinkedTracks, CleanImport, and some other scripts (Need Help with Addons > List of All Scripts).

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14162
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Tue Jun 20, 2006 6:01 pm

Steegy wrote:
i said iF it is illegel ms would mess it up more with their spider they have
to find illegel instals.

and going to their site with an illegel version is like going to the police and turning your self in after you robbed a bank.
People, don't believe a word of this. It's totally wrong. :o I'm sure Guest and others will agree.

What happens: Microsoft *can* (if you choose to) detect that your version of Windows isn't "genuine". You will not be able to get some things, like Microsoft Defender, and updates through the Windows Update site. But you are able to get updates through the automatic updating of Windows. So basicly your system will be as safe as a genuine system.

Thousands of people have a version of Windows that isn't "genuine" without even knowing it. Do you thing they would all get a visit from the police? :lol:

So RovingCowboy, please keep your "security" advisories to what is real. As I already said in a PM to you, I won't let you make people affraid for things that aren't real!

Thanks for understanding this 8)
(And yes, my software is genuine, and no, I'm not a Microsoft affiliate. I just want people to know the truth. Especially novice users and older people need the correct information, as they usually tend to be much more "affraid" in their selves.)
Sorry if this post seems a bit harsh, but I don't know any other way to say this.

steegy you just stepped over the line.

you do not know what i know and i have told them true.

for i have had this computer messed up by that ms spider.

so you best check your ego at the door, before you call me a liar again.
:x
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Lowlander
Posts: 47091
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Post by Lowlander » Tue Jun 20, 2006 6:06 pm

Steegy is right, although I think you can currently only install critical patches on a non-validated machine. All other updates/software from Microsoft require you to validate your copy of Microsoft.

And there certainly is no MS spider as that breaches privacy laws in most countries.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14162
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Tue Jun 20, 2006 6:15 pm

okay you two

go ahead put pirated software on your computers.

go to ms's update site.

and tell me it works with out no trouble.

sure it will. i'll say that much. but now ms knows you got the pirated software and you will soon get errors when you try to use it..

and soon after they start your computer will crash. and you will need to reformat. and or reinstall the windows folder just to get the computer back up and running.

then you look for your pirated software.

IT WONT BE ON THE COMPUTER

now only MS would want to remove pirated office or word. or other ms programs.

so it is not a virus that does that crap it is only a hidden ms spider. and this is not the only computer i have had to fix because of that dam thing.

but no you go ahead and put on a pirated copy of some ms software and then go on about your business. update window's os. tell them it is legel copy of windows. sure it will update that but it now knows your have a pirate copy of the office on it.

but don't worry you wont in 6 to 7 months
which is just about the time your getting ready to reformat because of all the errors you will have.

but don't come crying about having to format then. cause i told you about it.
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Lowlander
Posts: 47091
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Post by Lowlander » Tue Jun 20, 2006 6:23 pm

It's Microsoft you will need reinstall Windows with a valid license each year as well. It all depends on how much software you install/uninstall. I generally install Windows XP once a year and yes they have a valid license.

Win98 is even worse...


More details Cnet
Last edited by Lowlander on Tue Jun 20, 2006 7:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14162
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Tue Jun 20, 2006 6:39 pm

how much plainer can i say it.?

i had illegel copy of office.

i went to windows update.

updated windows. it would update all other stuff, it did not update office.

6- 7 months later it was having troubles so bad i was going to reformat in the next moring. i went to turn the computer on it started got to the desk top and crashed. it took me 35 hours to get the dam thing working.

i had to replace the windows folder just like you can do on a mac.

i got the computer up and running. i went to check for anything that might be hidden such as a viruse or trojan? nothing. but in checking i found the folder for msoffice which was a priated copy.

was gone. and that was the only folder missing.

no other reason for it to be gone except ms wanted rid of it. no other way for them to find out i had it only by the hidden spider on the update site.

but no i who spent 35 hours fixing this computer and a couple more hours on the other computer don't know what i am doing. only you that did not get the trouble know what your doing.

:( :o
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Teknojnky
Posts: 5537
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Teknojnky » Tue Jun 20, 2006 6:55 pm

Is it really paranoia, if they really are out to get you?

:o 8) :lol:

DiddeLeeDoo
Posts: 1017
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:09 am
Location: In a jungle down under
Contact:

Post by DiddeLeeDoo » Tue Jun 20, 2006 11:46 pm

There is a difference between Private and Public, and personally I feel discomfort with how Steegy's script in the scripting forum have become a hub for sharing illegal serial numbers to enjoy the benefit from having privileges that is reserved for those who have proper licensed developer software.

That moderators here are also contributing to the Pirated distribution of this sort is something I feel great discomfort over. I would not like the Monkey to get in trouble for this kind of public pirate activity.

Lawyers and police cannot control everything that happens in every household, but they can target public matters, and this forum is public.

I can confirm to Roving Cowboy that I have had to repair client’s machines that have become corrupt due to updating non-genuine windows installations. This may be caused by the updates not reaching a complete stage. Genuine windows installations do not seem to have this problem as far as I've seen.

I simply do not feel comfortable about this public forum should be a place for pirate activity, or even close to it. To laugh about one that is concerned corrupted updates and licenses is just plain weird I think.

I feel you who want to share pirated software, serial numbers, and such, should establish your own private forum, and leave this public MediaMonkey forum publicly clean and respectable.

BTW, http://www.openoffice.org offer a fine MS Office alternative.
Image

Steegy
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Steegy » Wed Jun 21, 2006 5:18 am

DiddeLeeDoo, this license info really is another subject. I already removed the license info (on request) because of some of the reasons you mention.

ANyway, this is going way of topic, so I suggest we try to help Guest further instead.
Extensions: ExternalTools, ExtractFields, SongPreviewer, LinkedTracks, CleanImport, and some other scripts (Need Help with Addons > List of All Scripts).

DiddeLeeDoo
Posts: 1017
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:09 am
Location: In a jungle down under
Contact:

Post by DiddeLeeDoo » Wed Jun 21, 2006 7:58 am

Yes, I try to keep to the topic. This just irritated me, and I saw this quiet corner a suitable place to let of some steam. This topic is basically solved anyways.

In respect for all those who are proud owners of proper license of MediaMonkey and like to keep things clean, I felt it was appropriate to stand up for this tendency to try to preach that illegal is cool and being concerned is not.

That is how I read this topic, and it triggered my response. Hope this sort of school yard cool dude stuff can be held in private forums instead of this public one.

I would not be the only one with friends and family employed by Microsoft, and you are an easy target in this public forum. They can afford to make you an example of what not to do, and MediaMonkey could also risk being grilled. It's much more fun to go on, without this kind of worry.
Image

Lowlander
Posts: 47091
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Post by Lowlander » Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:57 am

The whole idea of the illegal software discussion was that often illegal copies of software contain bugs. Due to the fact that TS mentioned the use of a stripped version it was quickly assumed that it might be an illegal version of Windows (doesn't need to be though). This is of interest as bugs become really hard to solve when the OS has fundamental bugs due to the version used. Luckily TS was able to resolve the issue and hopefuly is now a satisfied MediaMonkey user. In no way was this topic meant to promote illegal software and I'm pretty sure that Steegy made a honest mistake when sharing the keys in his script.

Peace
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

DiddeLeeDoo
Posts: 1017
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:09 am
Location: In a jungle down under
Contact:

Post by DiddeLeeDoo » Wed Jun 21, 2006 11:28 am

Same here, peace. Glad it's resolved, and it's possible to say things you may be concerned about. I guess that's half the idea with a forum, share and learn, even though there may be a bump on the road every now and then.

I heard for awhile ago that a trimmed down Windows was planned for distribution, but I was not aware that it actually were released. Glad MM can work on this distribution too.
Image

Lowlander
Posts: 47091
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Post by Lowlander » Wed Jun 21, 2006 1:21 pm

More information about the various versions of Windows XP: Wikipedia
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply