Auto Rating of Songs & Radio Announcer v5.02 [Script]

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Tue May 02, 2006 9:30 pm

:o :( :o :-? :P :( :cry: :roll: :o :x :lol: :o 8) :-? :cry: :roll: :P :lol: 8) :D ooh.???

new codes to mess with :lol:


okay okay now where's that metal ruler? i got to slap my fingers. :wink:
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Teknojnky
Posts: 5533
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Teknojnky » Tue May 02, 2006 9:47 pm

You know, you could combine this to one script, just change the script.ini entry to point to the auto\autoratesongs.vbs file.

DiddeLeeDoo
Posts: 1017
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:09 am
Location: In a jungle down under
Contact:

Post by DiddeLeeDoo » Tue May 02, 2006 9:48 pm

I can make you a custom one if you like Roving Cowboy, but as you'll find out when you get to play with the AutoRateSongs Catch-Up script, the above makes sence.

However, it's a living process, and I think when results come in from the AutoRate Catch-up script, we'll be able to finalize it all!

By the way, I'm adding things as I go in the post above, and just put in results, and the layout of ratings.

When finished writing above, I'll get to that Catch-Up script, and we can 'shoot blanks' to see how the calibration issue works out!!

:D
Image

DiddeLeeDoo
Posts: 1017
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:09 am
Location: In a jungle down under
Contact:

Post by DiddeLeeDoo » Tue May 02, 2006 10:09 pm

Teknojnky wrote:You know, you could combine this to one script, just change the script.ini entry to point to the auto\autoratesongs.vbs file.
So there'll be no performance issues with that do you think?

Just though this Option Sheet is quite huge, and will lay dead at all times. It will only be called upon when changing options.

I thought it would be best to keep the 'Rate the Last song played' as small as possible, to ensure it works ok on a 486 machine too :wink:
Image

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Tue May 02, 2006 10:11 pm

oh so i got to copy it again okay? :lol:

autorate catch up. that would be good if it was to use the 0.0 stars to 5 stars rating. then i could see all my images. in the ratings colume. 8)

were the negative rating stars i made what you guys and gals expected and wanted.?

8)

i think the auto rate catch up should go as far back as the database allows.
and use all the stars. but make the play counts to be like this below.

PlaysRate_0_5_Stars = 20 'default = 0 over 1 day
PlaysRate_1_0_Stars = 30 'default = 1 over 2 day
PlaysRate_1_5_Stars = 40 'default = 2 over 3 day
PlaysRate_2_0_Stars = 60 'default = 3 over 4 day
PlaysRate_2_5_Stars = 70 'default = 4 over 1 day
PlaysRate_3_0_Stars = 80 'default = 5 over 2 day
PlaysRate_3_5_Stars = 100 'default = 6 over 3 day
PlaysRate_4_0_Stars = 110 'default = 7 over 4 day
PlaysRate_4_5_Stars = 150 'default = 7 over 5 day
PlaysRate_5_0_Stars = 200 'default = 7 over 5 day

that is what i am using for a 5 year time line now and think it would work for about 10 years before all the songs had aquired a 5 star rating.

of course that is presuming you never added any more songs after you first made your libiary.

8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy » Tue May 02, 2006 10:14 pm

DiddeLeeDoo wrote: I thought it would be best to keep the 'Rate the Last song played' as small as possible, to ensure it works ok on a 486 machine too :wink:

486? does any one still have one and does monkey work on it? :o

my windows 98 has a pent 2. in it.

8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

DiddeLeeDoo
Posts: 1017
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:09 am
Location: In a jungle down under
Contact:

Post by DiddeLeeDoo » Tue May 02, 2006 10:18 pm

I don't know if MM works on a 486 :lol: Just a joke..
I just want this AutoRate stuff to do as little as possible, but still produce results you can live with...
Image

DiddeLeeDoo
Posts: 1017
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:09 am
Location: In a jungle down under
Contact:

Post by DiddeLeeDoo » Tue May 02, 2006 11:20 pm

Actually if you want to, you can delete/disable the AutoRateOptionSheet.vbs if you never want to set options again, and the AutoRateSongs.vbs will still work.

Maybe alright if you want to clean up the Scripts\Auto\ one day, and put scripts there 'in park' by disabling them or something like that..
Image

Teknojnky
Posts: 5533
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Teknojnky » Wed May 03, 2006 12:06 am

Hmm.

What settings do you recommend to emulate the previous version?

Ie, I want 3 stars on first play?

Or is that not possible now?

DiddeLeeDoo
Posts: 1017
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:09 am
Location: In a jungle down under
Contact:

Post by DiddeLeeDoo » Wed May 03, 2006 12:10 am

Just set the 3.0 star level to 1 play... and 2.5 to 0 if you like....
or actually....

1 = 2.5 Star
1 = 3.0 Star

You'll carry on with the 3 Star level... as if both the bottom levels are the same, the highest will be read...

Basically if you set 1 to all of them, all the songs will get 5 stars if you play them..

May I just add there's "hardcoded" (finally got to say that cool word :wink: ) a 'New Album Leave Alone' system in the script.

Meaning if previously rated, jump over the 2.0 Star level, to keep the unplayed, unrated songs alone.....
You may want to 'hardcode' that to the 2.5 Star level... I'll just have to have a look at the script again, to find where.....
Image

DiddeLeeDoo
Posts: 1017
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:09 am
Location: In a jungle down under
Contact:

Post by DiddeLeeDoo » Wed May 03, 2006 12:21 am

'Hardcoding' (second time :lol: ) what happens...

' SONG SKIPPED, DEGRADE OR NOT?
'---------------------------------------------------------
If arSongRating < 0 Then
If Not dbTable.EOF Then
dbSong.Rating = 30

Set 30 to 40 if you want 2.5 Star as the reserved Unrated area.

If arSongRating = 50 Then arSkipVal = 20 Else arSkipVal = 10
Change 50 to 60 to jump over the reserved Unrated area.

Think that's it... I reduced my collection with half a star all by going to the Rating node, find 0.5 Stars, setting them to 0.0 Star and going up.. Have to figure out proper calibration for this new script by testing the Catch-Up script a bit..
Image

DiddeLeeDoo
Posts: 1017
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:09 am
Location: In a jungle down under
Contact:

Post by DiddeLeeDoo » Wed May 03, 2006 12:32 am

By the way, would that be something to have in the Option Sheet?

My baserate= 2.5 Star or something ? (Default=2.0 Star)
Image

Teknojnky
Posts: 5533
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Teknojnky » Wed May 03, 2006 12:44 am

Ok,

2.5 ~ 1
3.0 ~ 1

Made the first play 2.5

2.5 ~ 0
3.0 ~ 1

made the firt play 3.0

So I made the defaults, with 9 day play time
0
1
3
5
7

Another song played, went from no rating to 3.5 ratings with only 2 play count.

so not sure if a bug somewhere, or what.

I will give this a chance, but I think the previous script behavior was about perfect, this one something seems off.

For explaination, Here is how I was doing it before.
I set all new/unknown rating to 2.5 stars.

Using the previous script, the first play would put tracks at 3 if I let it play through, or 2.0 if I skipped it.

I will have keep playing with this version to see if I can keep the same behaviour.

DiddeLeeDoo
Posts: 1017
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:09 am
Location: In a jungle down under
Contact:

Post by DiddeLeeDoo » Wed May 03, 2006 12:51 am

It seems to be this line that's a bit hard to understand... don't really know how to improve it.. ?

Minimum 3.5 Stars when played up to or equal to # (Default=3)

When played up to or equal to

If you set it to 3, 2 plays will be Up to or Equal to 3


If the option sheet was huge, I guess it could look like

When a song is played between 0 and 0 then set it to 2.5 Star
When a song is played between 1 and 1 then set it to 3.0 Star
When a song is played between 2 and 3 then set it to 3.5 Star

2 plays = 3.5 Star

You're not the first one misunderstanding that setting.. so it may have to be changed.....

It's just that this 2 plays is not used as such in the script, and I didn't find ways to do 'live corrections' of virtual values.... in the option script... just have to explain in a way it can be understood I guess.
BTW, this was the same in the 'Old' version.
Last edited by DiddeLeeDoo on Wed May 03, 2006 1:01 am, edited 2 times in total.
Image

Teknojnky
Posts: 5533
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Teknojnky » Wed May 03, 2006 12:57 am

You can keep the option sheet text shorter, and add a .hint "text" for mouseover explaination.

I used this on my tweakmonkey autorate sheet.

You can even do multiline mouseover text by using "Line 1" & VBLF & "Line 2".

Code: Select all

  edt.Common.Hint = "Change this to True if you want a note about" _
    & VBLF & "when a song received a playcount rate upgrade." _
    & VBLF & "The Custom2 field receive a note formatted like" _
    & VBLF & "WeekDay TimeOfDay Season" _
    & VBLF & "(time of day = morning, dinner, evening etc.)" _
    & VBLF & "Can be used later to find popular songs in these time segments." 

I have 3 set for minimum for 3.5 stars, there no logic that says that 2 plays should be 3.5 stars.

Text should be simple, (example using your default values)

At least 1 play for 2.5 stars
At least 2 plays for 3.0 stars
At least 3 plays for 3.5 stars
At least 4 plays for 4.0 stars
At least 5 plays for 4.5 stars

and by inference, anything 6 plays or more will be 5 starred.

But that's not the way it seems to work, at least with my 9 day repeat interval.

edit again:

I was just thinking more about this.
I'm not sure your current is the best approach.

I am thinking that a better approach might be:

For specified interval, for example 1 day.

1 play = no change
Increment every 2 plays +0.5 change (from current)

So, assuming you either pre-assign a base rating 2 or 2.5 or whatever you want, the first time its played within the interval, will get no change.

For every 2nd play (3, 5, 7, etc) it will increase 0.5 up to the max of 5 stars.

For skips, every skip = -0.5 stars.


Your options then would be,
skipped tracks = -[0.5] decrease from current (user selectable 0/0.5/1.0/etc).
1st Played tracks = +[0.5] increase from current (user selectable 0/0.5/1.0/etc)
Every [2] Repeat plays = +[0.5] increase from current (user selectable 0/0.5/1.0/etc)

so using my base 2.5 rating for new tracks example:

first play from 2.5 to 3.0

second play, from 3.0 to 3.5

third play, no change

forth play, from 3.5 to 4.0

fifth play, no change

sixth play, 4.0 to 4.5

7th play, no changes

8th play, 4.5 to 5.0


Now, to my point of view, most do not want drastic increases in automatic rating. But some may want to increase the values to 1.0 so the rating goes up or down sooner/more often.

also, you could change the repeat play to 3, (from 2 in my above example)

first play from 2.5 to 3.0

second py, no change

third play, 3.0 to 3.5

forth play, no change

fifth play, no change

sixth play, 3.5 to 4.0

7th play, no changes

8th play, no changes

9th play, 4.0. to 4.5

and so on.


Anyway, I am rambling on now and super tired so none of the above may not even make any sense.

:o
Last edited by Teknojnky on Wed May 03, 2006 1:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply