Knowledgebase: Install and Config
UAC prompt appears each time MediaMonkey for Windows starts
Updated by Pavle Lacarac on May 20, 2014

In order to save certain system configuration settings (e.g. play audio/video files on double-clicking them, or installation of addons), MediaMonkey for Windows requires temporary administrator access when first run.

Windows will ask for confirmation (it will show a User Access Control prompt) that MediaMonkey is allowed to access protected parts of the system in order to make these changes.  Once accepted, these system changes will be made, and the prompt shouldn't appear again.

If you don't need MediaMonkey to use Addons or to integrate with third-part apps, and don't care to have it associated with audio/video files, you can either:

  1. Not accept the prompt, and then change MediaMonkey's configuration to not associate itself with audio/video files. To do so, click Tools > Options > OS Integration, and then disable 'Re-associate File Types on Startup'
  2. Uninstall MediaMonkey, and then re-install it in Portable Mode.
(72 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)