Can MediaMonkey Completely Replace iTunes for iPod?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Iggy64

Can MediaMonkey Completely Replace iTunes for iPod?

Post by Iggy64 »

I recently received an iPod as a gift, and have begun encoding a large collection to mp3. I started playing with iTunes and found it very limiting in terms of how I could view and organize my files. So I've switched to MM and am very happy with the improvement. Now I wonder if I can dump iTunes completely. Specifically, I wonder:

(1) Can MM download future iPod software upgrades to the iPod? I understand that the iPod software needs to be updated occasionally, and I wonder if MM can do that for me.

(2) Can MM command iPod to defragment its hard disc? Do I need iTunes for that? What are the options?

(3) Forgive me for asking this again, but I'm still not sure of the answer: Can MM create AutoPlaylists that will work on the iPod? If an AutoPlaylist works OK on my computer, will it work OK on the iPod? Will it recognize new files that are added later to the iPod? If not, do I have to go back and rewrite the AutoPlaylist on my computer, then resync it to the iPod?

Thanks for any help on any of these items. I'm a newbie to both MM and iPod, and I'm sure I could benefit from others' experience.
Teknojnky

Re: Can MediaMonkey Completely Replace iTunes for iPod?

Post by Teknojnky »

I don't own an ipod and never will, so consider my answers as educated guesses.
Iggy64 wrote: (1) Can MM download future iPod software upgrades to the iPod? I understand that the iPod software needs to be updated occasionally, and I wonder if MM can do that for me.
No I am sure you need itunes or at a minimum the ipod updater utility.
(2) Can MM command iPod to defragment its hard disc? Do I need iTunes for that? What are the options?
I doubt it. You can defragment the drive by clearing and re-syncing tho.