Can't add new music-files with UNC but can with drive letter

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

steve_c
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:06 am
Location: SE Norway
Contact:

Can't add new music-files with UNC but can with drive letter

Post by steve_c »

Hi,

Suddenly, MM3 does not add new files to the library when told to add new files by network location (UNC path) but it will with the Windows drive letter. My whole database is with UNC references, so far, and I want to continue like that. Am I overlooking something? Any idea what the problem could be?

I run MM3 gold on a laptop, using a Synology CS-406 NAS drive on a home network. The NAS music collection is mounted in windows as X:\ and the UNC location is \\music-cube\music. Previously, I had all music entered in MM as X:\... but I was advised for another reason that it is best to use the UNC method of referencing. So I emptied the database and added the files by pointing to their location on the network, so as to get a UNC reference. All the existing files were then added in the expected way and shown as such in MM, i.e., \\music-cube\music\<Artist>\<Album>\01 track.mp3, etc. So far so good - I have about 18000 existing files in MM correctly for a few days.

Yesterday I bought some mp3 downloads, placed them in the network location, and asked MM to find them with the rescan/add folders option, pointing to the network location (UNC) for the new artist and album. This did not work - the command went in with no error message, but all new information simply did not appear: no new artist, album, or incremented total track count. However, I can see the files under the My Computer node, and I can add them if I Rescan/add and point to the drive letter X:\ The trouble is, I don't want them referenced by drive, I want UNC as for the other 18000. Any idea what could be causing this? Thanks.
steve_c
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:06 am
Location: SE Norway
Contact:

Re: Can't add new music-files with UNC but can with drive le

Post by steve_c »

steve_c wrote:Hi,

Suddenly, MM3 does not add new files to the library when told to add new files by network location (UNC path) but it will with the Windows drive letter. My whole database is with UNC references, so far, and I want to continue like that. Am I overlooking something? Any idea what the problem could be?...
I don't have a solution yet, but the workaround is to put new acquisitiions in a temporary directory on a C: drive, and then use Auto-organize to move them to the UNC path. This works, so why I can't just put them on the UNC location directly and re-scan them in is otally mysterious.
jiri
Posts: 5397
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by jiri »

Try to e-mail us a debug log of the scanning. If it doesn't help, maybe also MM.DB could show something...

Jiri
Post Reply