Multimedia Keys on HP Keyboard

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

pigpen
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 6:17 pm
Contact:

Multimedia Keys on HP Keyboard

Post by pigpen »

I have read through many of the post dealing with the hotkey/multimedia key functionality. That being said, I think I am even more confused. :-?

Does anyone know what is needed, if possible at all, to get the multimedia keys to work on an HP Keyboard (Model: RT7H10). I am running XP SP2.

Thanks to any and all that can help.

I heart MM!!!!
pushpull
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: Formerly WNY, now Portlandia
Contact:

Mutlimedia keyboards

Post by pushpull »

Not sure what you are asking. Are you wondering if it will work with MM or how you make the keyboard work at all? I bought a cheap multimedia keyboard to use for a hack I was thinking of using but never did. The multimedia keys work with MM without any problem so your HP should work as well.
drjboulder
Posts: 1119
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:03 am
Location: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Multimedia Keys on HP Keyboard

Post by drjboulder »

pigpen wrote:I have read through many of the post dealing with the hotkey/multimedia key functionality. That being said, I think I am even more confused. :-?

Does anyone know what is needed, if possible at all, to get the multimedia keys to work on an HP Keyboard (Model: RT7H10). I am running XP SP2.

Thanks to any and all that can help.

I heart MM!!!!
What version of the Monkey are you using?
Some multimedia key functionality issues have been addressed in the current beta, 3.0.3.1140.
D Rock
Image
MediaMonkeyGoldv3.0.3.1183
Vista Home Basic|4thGen 20GPod
Zune Small Player Skin w/ Aqua 4 Player Mod
Backup | Last FM Node | Scrobbler DJ | TopTracks | StayInSameStyleDJ
RadioDJ | RadioFreeMonkey | PrettyPictures | MiniLyricsEmbedder
LyricsViewer | Lyricator | LyricsPlugin | VisualizationEmbedder | MonkeyRok
RightClickForWeb | WebSearchPanels | WebNodes | MagicNodes | FavoritesNodes
NowPlayingArtNode |AutoRateAccurate | TaggingInconsistencies
AdvancedDuplicateFind&Fix | CaseModify | PlayHistory&Stats | Etc...
smiller
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:44 pm
Contact:

Post by smiller »

drjboulder wrote:Some multimedia key functionality issues have been addressed in the current beta, 3.0.3.1140.
HP multimedia keyboards are still not functional in .1140, or at least mine isn't.
pigpen
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 6:17 pm
Contact:

re: Multimedia Keys on HP Keyboard

Post by pigpen »

Iam using MM 3.0.1.1127. I was referring to the previous, play, next, and stop multi-media keys at the top of the of the keyboard to control the player in MM. They worked on 2.5, but when i updated to 3.0.1.1127 the no longer work.

Thanks for all the help!!
Snydar
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 10:05 pm
Contact:

Post by Snydar »

Yeah, I have a similar problem. The hotkeys worked perfect in MM2.5, but after upgrading to MM3 (1140) the hotkeys don't work at all. They work in Windows Media Player and most other players... (all but Winamp as far as I have noticed...)
pushpull
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: Formerly WNY, now Portlandia
Contact:

Try this

Post by pushpull »

AmazingChicken
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 8:16 am
Location: Seacoast, NH
Contact:

Re: Try this

Post by AmazingChicken »

pushpull wrote:Maybe this will help-

http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... ticleid=50

Um.... no, because HP doesn't use the .xml file mentioned.

I really like the new MM, but it's a real drag not being able to use the keyboard controls. I know, wah :roll: wah, but darn it I've been using MM for a *long* time and I'm used to it. Nothing else comes close to managing my library, which has 22,500+ songs (154.7 Gb)

Can you guys think of soemthing else I can try? Please??

TYVM and keep rocking. John.
johnb
_______
"Wisdom does not always come with age.
Sometimes age comes alone."
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Multimedia Keys on HP Keyboard

Post by nohitter151 »

What about this in the support article:
KB wrote:Keyboards that are not listed above and still do not work with
MediaMonkey (Some TurboVision, Trust, Microsoft Keyboards, Safeway,...) can integrate via a third party utility called MMkeys (MediaMonkey Multimedia Keyboard Key
Manager): http://www.mmfanbox.x10hosting.com/util ... _setup.exe (recent update is at: http://www.mmfanbox.x10hosting.com/util ... 012008.rar
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
AmazingChicken
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 8:16 am
Location: Seacoast, NH
Contact:

Re: Multimedia Keys on HP Keyboard

Post by AmazingChicken »

MMKeys does provide shortcuts, but how to integrate them with keyboard control panel list? We're getting there, now I have controls in my Program list but still not on keyboard keys.

THANK you though. Sooner or later I'll get there!
johnb
_______
"Wisdom does not always come with age.
Sometimes age comes alone."
smiller
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Multimedia Keys on HP Keyboard

Post by smiller »

Just FYI, I believe that there is an open ticket on this (meaning the problem with HP keyboards in particular)... I have sent additional data to the developers and I understand that it will be addressed in a subsequent release so... there is hope!
xma
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Multimedia Keys on HP Keyboard

Post by xma »

I hope so too...

Multimedia keys work perfectly in Media Center 12 by jriver.
Image
Peke
Posts: 13461
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Multimedia Keys on HP Keyboard

Post by Peke »

Just to confirm that there is an open Ticket and we are working on problem.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Post Reply