Page 3 of 3

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 12:23 am
by Mark S
Sorry to bring this up again. I just can't work out volume levelling so I have turned off everything in MM. Clear (using the script previously mentioned) the Track Volume fields.

I then used MP3Gain to increase volume of an album's tracks by 3db. I then see that MM added values between -1.1 and -4.5 to these tracks. Can I stop this? I just want to be able to adjust volumes outside of MM but have MM ignore whatever I do.

Regards, Mark

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:14 am
by dypsis
Hi Mark.

I am not exactly sure of what you are asking.

Download mp3tag and browse to a file.
Browse to a folder that has some of your audio tracks, right click and select "Extended Tags".
You should see the Replay Gain tags in there.
You can delete them from there, if that is the question you are asking.

The advantage of Mp3tag over other taggers is that it can display all tags, standard and non-standard instead of defined program tags.

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 11:30 am
by Lowlander
Do you have the option to auto-analyze for unknown volume enabled or perhaps the tags were written by MP3Gain.

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 4:33 pm
by Peke
Hi,
PLease note that MM5 also read/write all the standard and non standard tags, which you can view/edit in file properties (under custom tab).

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Posted: Sat Jul 04, 2020 12:01 am
by Mr Fresco
Hi, hoping someone can help me with this volume issue:
I'm a guitarist using backing tracks through an mp3 player - I have leveled the volume using mp3gain, and they were working well. Somehow, with a few tracks, I seem to have leveled the volume within the actual track eg quiet fade ins are now same volume as rest of track? I've deleted these tracks from laptop, and imported fresh copies (which play perfectly well on another computer!!) and the same volume issue appears when I play the track - same in iTunes as well as MM? Is it a problem with settings in MM? What am I missing? Would appreciate any help - Regards

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Posted: Sat Jul 04, 2020 12:51 pm
by Lowlander
Did you delete them from MediaMonkey and PC, then replace them with a new unlevelled copy, or just delete and replace them on the PC?

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Posted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 10:08 pm
by Mr Fresco
Hi, I've replaced them with unlevelled copies from an external source, which show no signs of volume issues on other devices. Cheers

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Posted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 10:20 pm
by Lowlander
As you didn't remove them from the Library they still have the values in the database. Remove them from the Library and rescan them into the Library.

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 12:55 am
by Mr Fresco
I'm not sure I understand - I've deleted them from MM library, then deleted all trace of them from music folders on my laptop, then added a folder from a hard drive with tracks that are fine, re scanned these into the library, and still have this issue??

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 11:17 am
by Lowlander
Ah, you said replace so it didn't sound like you had removed them from MediaMonkey. What's confusing here is that you say iTunes also has this issue, indicating it is something with the files.

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:14 pm
by Erwin Hanzl
@Lowlander: correctly?

A quick note: If the music file has not been re-encoded,
you can enter -99999 in the "Track Volume" field.

Image

OR Addon: Clear Field 1.3 https://www.mediamonkey.com/addons/brow ... ag-fixers/

Re: How to delete Track Volume values?

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 3:51 pm
by Peke
Hi,
If you have done that and files do not contain replaygain index in file s it should not be imported.
Only way is to either open support ticket and supply us with original file from HDD for analyze or you can use free HEX editor like https://mh-nexus.de/ and load the file to see if you can search for word GAIN (case insensitive) in file.

@Erwin
Good catch I completely forgot on that