Sitecom WL-060

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Malfidus
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 7:49 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Sitecom WL-060

Post by Malfidus »

Today I've installed this Wireless Audio Transmitter.
The box told me that it works well wit WinAmp and WMP.
But now I know it doesn't work in MM, only with the WinAmp player mode.
Does somebody knows how I can let it work in MM only?
Thank you.
Eyal
Posts: 3113
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:27 am
Location: Québec
Contact:

Re: Sitecom WL-060

Post by Eyal »

The Sitecom WL-060 you described is not software specific, it just sending the sound of the PC through wireless wi-fi connection. So it should work no matter what software you use. Can you hear something on your pc when playing with MediaMonkey?
Skins for MediaMonkey: Cafe, Carbon, Helium, Spotify, Zekton. [ Wiki Zone ].
Malfidus
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 7:49 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Sitecom WL-060

Post by Malfidus »

Eyal wrote:The Sitecom WL-060 you described is not software specific, it just sending the sound of the PC through wireless wi-fi connection. So it should work no matter what software you use. Can you hear something on your pc when playing with MediaMonkey?
Nope.
I've sound with MM, playing directly on my pc.
The WL-060 works with an usb dongle. If I connect it with a pc, in the sound options the notification of my Audigy soundboard has been changed by an 'Usb speaker'.

Using MM with WinAmp, it works. Disabling WinAmp bij switching it off or changing the preferences in MM, there is no sound anymore.

But.
If I start my pc with the Sitecom stick in it, I can hear the system sounds on my hifi set. That means that windows media player is working well on the background together with the Sitecom.
So, the sound is basically generated by software that is 'understandable' for this Sitecom.
ITunes, Winamp, WMP, VLC, Divx player and many more, the manual tells me. MM is sadly not one of the guys :x .

Hope someone knows why and for all: can I change it?
Thank you.
Eyal
Posts: 3113
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:27 am
Location: Québec
Contact:

Re: Sitecom WL-060

Post by Eyal »

OK. So it's just a matter of redirecting the sound to the proper output.

Use the the inbeded player in MM again and set the output plugin to play through the USB:

Do: Tools|Options|Player|Output Plug-Ins|MediaMonkey DirectSound Output -> Configure -> and select the output.
Skins for MediaMonkey: Cafe, Carbon, Helium, Spotify, Zekton. [ Wiki Zone ].
Malfidus
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 7:49 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Sitecom WL-060

Post by Malfidus »

Wow, this works.
Thanks a lot. Image
Thank you.
Peke
Posts: 13461
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Sitecom WL-060

Post by Peke »

@Malfidus
May I ask you as owner of device that you should contact Sitecom and tell them to include MM configuration/setting/support also. That would help any future users which would be more than thankful for that.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Malfidus
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 7:49 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Sitecom WL-060

Post by Malfidus »

I would like to do that, but I don't give it a chance...
The Sitecom manual is very briefly, you don't even have to read it.
And the device is also very simple in use, except with MM
The pics on the manual are fine, if you think that everybody uses one of the players I wrote above.
And, as most of the hardware manufacturers do; they are not responsible for other ones software.

But the topic is clearly mentioned at this forum and so does the solution. :wink:
Thank you.
Post Reply