thread creation error not enough storage is available to pro

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Daz1967
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 6:48 am
Location: England

Re: thread creation error not enough storage is available to

Post by Daz1967 » Sat Sep 04, 2010 6:56 pm

The crashes I'm getting seem to always tie back to a Windows 7 file: Kernalbase.dll according to Event Viewer. I believe this is also the cause of the occasional crashes I get with Firefox too. I Goggle-d this file and seems that others are experiencing crashes related to this file and not just MediaMonkey and Firefox.

I've submiited a debug file to technical support yesterday when MM crashed (as it does so so many times these days unfortunately) so I'll have to see what they say. Maybe there's a fix or workaround because I'm not going to hold my breath waiting for Microsoft to fix what may be a buggy system file.
Intel Core i7-920 @ 3.2 GHz, ASUS P6T Deluxe v2101, 6 GB G.SKILL DDR3 1,600 MHz RAM, Sapphire ATI RADEON HD 5870 Vapor-X CrossFireX graphics, Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer sound, 128 GB Crucial SSD + 2 TB SATAII HDDs, LG DVD Rewriter, Windows 7 Home Premium (x64)

Peke
Posts: 13305
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: thread creation error not enough storage is available to

Post by Peke » Sat Sep 04, 2010 8:34 pm

This might have happened if some non Microsoft programs are conflicting on the computer, you may have to perform clean boot on the computer to check if the issue persists even in clean boot state, you can start Windows Vista by using a minimal set of drivers and startup programs. This kind of startup is known as a "clean boot." A clean boot helps eliminate software conflicts.

The following link has steps showing how to perform clean boot: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929135

1) Perform clean boot (Check the link for Performing clean boot)

2) Enable half of the services

3) Determine whether the problem returns

4) Enable half of the startup items

5) Determine whether the problem returns

6) Repeat the above steps until you find out which service or program is causing the issue

After you determine the startup item or the service that causes the problem, contact the program manufacturer to determine whether the problem can be resolved. Or, run the System Configuration Utility, and then click to clear the check box for the problem item.

Note: Please ensure that the computer is set to start as usual by following the step 7 from the article: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929135.

B) If Clean Boot does not isolate the issue, then we have to run the System File checker tool

i) To run the System File Checker tool, follow these steps:

ii) Click, and then type cmd in the Start Search box.

iii) Right-click cmd in the Programs list, and then click Run as administrator.

If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type your password or click Continue

iv) At the command prompt, the following line, and then press ENTER:sfc /scannow

Check the article: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/936212:“How to repair the operating system and how to restore the operating system configuration to an earlier point in time in Windows Vista”


Let me know if this worked.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

LifeTheLiving
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:53 am

Re: thread creation error not enough storage is available to

Post by LifeTheLiving » Sat Apr 02, 2011 10:36 am

Until the Error is fixed by the guys at MediaMonkey, here is a workable workaround to the problem caused by the two errors:

Thread creation error: not enough storage is available to process this command

Not enough storage is available to process this command


Reason:

I have from time to time during the years I have used MediaMonkey Gold received the above errors about every 6 months. And in the beginning it really took a long time to find solutions, because I have data in the MediaMonkey database MM.DB, especially play count, which I do not want to lose.


What is Happening:

You try to ADD / Rescan tracks to the library. Suddenly boxes appear on the screen one by one on top of each other with the above error messages. If you don’t do anything, MediaMonkey eventually stops responding. And you can only close it down through Windows Task manager.

I have asked for help before and people point out that the above messages are Windows Error Messages, so it is most likely a windows fault. I have in my earlier searches for a solution found ways to increase the number of allowed threads in windows, which may have helped for awhile.

This time when it happened I was either going to find a solution or a workaround or change my media player. I like MediaMonkey player … So I took some time to investigate and am now sharing the result with you …

It is not a general Windows problem. Off course you need to check that you are not short of resources, but my system has a 4 cores processor, 8 GB memory, 5.45 TB of hard disk space. When it starts to happen I have 3 GB of memory free and about 1.90 TB of hard disk space, so it was NOT a resource problem.

If you start Windows Task Manager, and choose the Processes tab, then I can see that MediaMonkey uses about 24.000K to 35.000K of Memory (Private Working Space), when it runs normally.

I have a rather large music collection, I have 431,000+ songs in my playlist, so I work with a large MM.DB (MediaMonkey Database) 1.3 GB.

When I do a normal Add / Rescan tracks to the library, there is a small increase in the memory used, if I do more things at once, like playing music, viewing playlists, the memory usage increases. But nothing dangerous and MediaMonkey does not give errors.


What Goes Wrong:

I am not sure why exactly it happens.

But it seems to me, that something went wrong in the MM.DB.

Once it has gone wrong MediaMonkey needs to do something different during the ADD / Rescan tracks to the library, so the scan takes about 5 to 7 times longer than a scan, when the fault isn’t active.

How to you know, that things have gone wrong? In my system I can see in Windows Task Manager under the Processes tab the memory usage of MediaMonkey. When it is wrong and I start a scan the memory count just VERY steadily increases by aprox 1.000K every second. Once it reaches somewhere between 1.740.000K and 1.750.000K memory it apparently hits a memory loft, the maximum memory MediaMonkey is allowed and at that point the above errors start to happen.

When you are doing the scan the memory use is increased 1.000K every 1 second. However when the scan stops the memory leak stops too. However the used memory is not released again.


The Goal:

I have found, that once the fault happens, then MediaMonkey needs to rescan the whole library to get rid of the fault and work normally.

I have found, that once a scan is started, then stops successfully and saves the result, then there is no more memory leak for the files scanned.

So in my case, I need to scan the whole library again in order to get back to normal.


The Challenge:

I need to scan the library in small portions, so the memory count doesn’t hit 1,740,000K before the scan is over and successfully saved.

I have my music library in folders, like A, B, C …. Various, Musicals etc. In each folder there are a number of artist folders and in each artist folder there is album folders.

I found out, that my G folder, which has 84,1 of files consisting of 18,452 songs, can just be scanned in one go and finish just before the memory count reaches 1.740.000K


What to Do:

First you have to find your memory loft for MediaMonkey. Open Windows Task Manager and look at the Processes tab. Start a scan. Look at the memory usage for MediaMonkey, see it counting up and up. When the first error box comes and the memory usage stops counting up you have found out how much memory MediaMonkey can use in your system, this is your memory loft.

IMPORTANT: because MediaMonkey doesn’t clear the used memory after a scan when this fault is active, it is VERY important to quit MediaMonkey after every successful scan and then restart MediaMonkey, this way the memory is cleared and you can do the next scan.

So this Is what I did. I started to scan folder A. However before the scan was finished MediaMonkey memory usage reached 1.740.000K and the boxes started to pop up one by one on my screen.

I found I had two options:

Option 1: let the boxes appear. When there is about 50 boxes highlight the last box and hold down the ESC key. The boxes disappear. Keep doing this as long as the scan is in progress. This will allow the scan to complete and save the result.

It is important if you choose this option, that you do NOT play music or change settings in MediaMonkey after the memory loft is reached. This will give other errors, which means that you cannot close MediaMonkey down normally.

Option 2: [Prefered option for me]

My A folder has 120GB of songs. since one scan can only take aporxemately 80 GB of songs, I would take the last half of the folders in my A folder and move to a different folder (preferable on the same drive otherwise it takes too long to move).

Then I rescan the remaining folders in my A folder which can be done before it reaches the memory loft of 1.740.000K – REMEMBER at the end of the scan MediaMonkey askes if it should remove the songs not found, DO NOT DO THIS!! Because then you will lose the count information and other information for the missing files.

Then I quit MediaMonkey, I move the folders back into the A folder. I then rescan the A folder to add the last files too.

Because MediaMonkey successfully scanned and saved the first part of my A folder, then the memory leak doesn’t start until it begins to scan the first of the files which have just been moved back to the A folder and because it is only half of the A folder, the scan of the last folders completes and is saved before MediaMonkey Memory reaches 1.740.00K


So in this way I go through all the folders with my music and rescan all the folders in small pieces. Once the files are all scanned MediaMonkey and Add / Recans files to library works normally again, including scanning 5 to 7 times faster than during the scan where MediaMonkey apparently repairs something which went wrong at the time this fault occoured.

Now I am reasonably safe until about 6 months time, when it likely will happen again ... Unless it is fixed.LifeTheLiving.


CONTINUED 1st November 2011.

My six months are apparently up and this fault re-appeared. Using the second option I succesfully rescanned the whole liberary without errors. One folder at a time. In folders over 80 GB I moved 1/2, or somethimes 2/3, to a temporary folder on the same drive. Then I scanned the remaining folders without the memory leak reaching the limit. I then quit and restarted MediaMonkey. Then I moved the last 1/2 or the middle 1/3 back to the right folder and scanned again.

Time consuming, but a good solution if you want to preserve your library settings.

gimmeagig
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 7:11 pm

Re: thread creation error not enough storage is available to

Post by gimmeagig » Tue Mar 06, 2012 11:56 am

I have the same problem.15000 songs in my library plenty of space on my HD and 3 gig of memory running XP. Problem started with the latest update.
I get multiple error messages. When i click on all of them I can make them disappear, but then when I try to open another program I get the message:
Not enough quota is available to process this command.
All I can do the is restart, then it's OK again.

Lowlander
Posts: 47589
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: thread creation error not enough storage is available to

Post by Lowlander » Tue Mar 06, 2012 11:59 am

Send a debug log (step 4b) to support for this error: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=69
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply