Reorganizing Library, Album Artist = Artist, Genres...

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Reorganizing Library, Album Artist = Artist, Genres...

Post by Guest » Mon Jul 02, 2012 3:43 pm

Hiedi-ho, fellow music lovers, (and possibly inner librarians)

I feel so overwhelmed by my undertaking of attempting to wrangle order into my music collection. I have made this attempt before over the past several years and given up after several weeks. This particular attempt has been going on a couple of months, so I must be feeling particularly stubborn or I'm procrastinating about something else. ;)

I've been attempting to use MM4 for a couple of weeks now, and while I feel like things are better, I still feel like I'm swimming upstream in quicksand.

So, the first thing I did was back everything up. (Because I'm a programmer by trade and that's what we do.) Then I started only with the 380 tracks I have downloaded from iTunes in the last decade. Then I added to those the mp3s that I do not have on CDs. Most of these mp3s either were not tagged properly to begin with or were "fixed" by programs like TuneUp and the like and actually ended up with incorrect artwork, song titles, artists, genres, album titles, and other meta or a mish-mash of wrongness. So, I'll look over at my iPhone, thinking "I really like this. It's like Nickelback." And the album cover for ABBA Gold is displayed, which...hey, I like them both but they don't sound anything alike and Nickelback is way more naughty.

I started ripping my soundtrack CDs while I worked on the 1300+ tracks in the library, thinking it wouldn't take too long with MM's Add-on's and features. Boy, was I wrong!

So, here are the important things to me:

1. Have the following info correct on every song: Album, Album Artist, Artist, Song Title, Genre, Disc#/Track#, Artwork