1511 How to determine Search "Current Collection"

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

chrisjj
Posts: 4933
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

1511 How to determine Search "Current Collection"

Post by chrisjj »

How may I determine which collection is the Current Collection referred to by the Quick Search bar here:

Image

Thanks.
Chris
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: 1511 How to determine Search "Current Collection"

Post by nohitter151 »

MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
chrisjj
Posts: 4933
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 1511 How to determine Search "Current Collection"

Post by chrisjj »

Thanks NH. If the answer is "There's no way", I suggest this be noted in the Mantis report.
Chris
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: 1511 How to determine Search "Current Collection"

Post by nohitter151 »

chrisjj wrote:Thanks NH. If the answer is "There's no way", I suggest this be noted in the Mantis report.
I thought it was clear from the notes in the ticket.
Rusty wrote:When 'Current Collection' is selected as the Search type, it would be preferable that the Search text box show the name of the Collection to be searched in greyed out text rather than 'Current Collection'. (e.g. if the user switches to the Video node, then 'Video' would display).
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
chrisjj
Posts: 4933
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 1511 How to determine Search "Current Collection"

Post by chrisjj »

nohitter151 wrote:
chrisjj wrote:Thanks NH. If the answer is "There's no way", I suggest this be noted in the Mantis report.
I thought it was clear from the notes in the ticket.
It is not. The notes in the ticket suggest merely the Search text box does not show the name of the Collection

Can you or anyone confirm nowhere shows the current collection name?
Chris
Sizzly
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:46 pm
Location: Worcester, MA
Contact:

Re: 1511 How to determine Search "Current Collection"

Post by Sizzly »

When you're looking at the node created by the search there's no way to tell what library it's being generated from.

When you're entering in the search criteria from the main window you can see the active library in the tabs across the top - before the search is submitted.
Rob
DJ Sizzly
http://djsizzly.com
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: 1511 How to determine Search "Current Collection"

Post by nohitter151 »

chrisjj wrote:
Can you or anyone confirm nowhere shows the current collection name?
The "Current collection" is whichever collection you are currently browsing.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
Lowlander
Posts: 47960
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: 1511 How to determine Search "Current Collection"

Post by Lowlander »

Using 4.1 it uses the Collection name instead of "Current Collection" both in the search box (greyed out) and the drop-down.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
chrisjj
Posts: 4933
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 1511 How to determine Search "Current Collection"

Post by chrisjj »

Sizzly wrote:When you're entering in the search criteria from the main window you can see the active library [collection] in the tabs across the top
Except when you can't e.g.

Image
Chris
chrisjj
Posts: 4933
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 1511 How to determine Search "Current Collection"

Post by chrisjj »

Lowlander wrote:Using 4.1 it uses the Collection name instead of "Current Collection" both in the search box (greyed out) and the drop-down.
Except when it doesn't e.g.

Image
Chris
Lowlander
Posts: 47960
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: 1511 How to determine Search "Current Collection"

Post by Lowlander »

I believe that in certain tree nodes like Now Playing and Playlists the search scope is Entire Library when Current Collection is selected as no Collection is actually selected. This means that in those nodes it may show a Collection name or Current Collection as option (former in my case on 4.1), but the scope is Entire Library. I believe this was already raised a long time ago.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
chrisjj
Posts: 4933
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 1511 How to determine Search "Current Collection"

Post by chrisjj »

Aha, thanks. Do you have a Mantis number for this bug?
Chris
Post Reply