Excel report doesn't work if Excel is not installed

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Onweerwolf
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Excel report doesn't work if Excel is not installed

Post by Onweerwolf »

Not sure why this is but I'm trying to create a report and export is an excel file but MM tells me that 'Microsoft Excel could not be found' and I should 'reinstall and try again'. Now i'm using a portable version of excel 2007 with which I'm very happy and I don't want to install the clutter that is Office.

Does MM actually need Excel to create a simple spreadsheet?
Last edited by Onweerwolf on Thu Apr 11, 2013 11:58 am, edited 2 times in total.
Image
Lowlander
Posts: 49054
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Excel report doens't work if Excel is not installed

Post by Lowlander »

You need Excel to get an Excel report, if you don't use the CSV option instead (can be imported into a Spreadsheet program like Excel).
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Onweerwolf
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Excel report doens't work if Excel is not installed

Post by Onweerwolf »

Why do we need excel installed to get an excel report?
Image
Lowlander
Posts: 49054
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Excel report doens't work if Excel is not installed

Post by Lowlander »

Because it uses Excel to generate the report.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Excel report doens't work if Excel is not installed

Post by nohitter151 »

Onweerwolf wrote:Why do we need excel installed to get an excel report?
.xls format is proprietary, you can't generate this type of file without the program being installed. Like lowlander said, you can just use the CSV format instead, it will work just as well in excel.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Excel report doens't work if Excel is not installed

Post by rovingcowboy »

I believe the kingsoftware office can handle xls format, it does other ms office ones. :D
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
dtsig
Posts: 3374
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Excel report doens't work if Excel is not installed

Post by dtsig »

rovingcowboy wrote:I believe the kingsoftware office can handle xls format, it does other ms office ones. :D
Though I haven't tried 'Kingsoft Office Suite' i do use OpenOffice. It does xls format quite well.

I would think their api would allow creating xls format files.
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig
Onweerwolf
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Excel report doens't work if Excel is not installed

Post by Onweerwolf »

So the .csv file does work. It's a little bit of a hassle but it's workable. Thanks.

However there is a problem with the .csv export. The songlength that MM exports into a .csv table is not correct when imported into excel. MM exports seconds as minutes when using .csv

You can compare to see for yourself. I used a song with a length of 2:56. Export once as .xls and once as .csv. Open the .csv in excel en the normal .xls file as well. Select the cell that contains the song length. In both cases it should look like '2:56'. However if you go -> format cells -> Number -> Custom and then select 'mm:ss'. The xls file will stay the same but the .csv import will change to 56:00.
Image
khelsing
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 4:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Excel report doens't work if Excel is not installed

Post by khelsing »

Onweerwolf wrote:MM exports seconds as minutes when using .csv
I can confirm this behaviour. MM does not write the hours to the length field if the track is shorter than an hour. Excel and also Open/LibreOffice therefore automatically append ":00" to the field's content and then interpret the length as "hh:mm:ss".

Here's what MM outputs:

"Sting","Fragile","...all this time","4:35",2001,"Rock",-1,192,"E:\Media\Musik\CD\Sting - All This Time\01 Fragile.mp3","Media"

The correct output would be:

"Sting","Fragile","...all this time","00:04:35",2001,"Rock",-1,192,"E:\Media\Musik\CD\Sting - All This Time\01 Fragile.mp3","Media"
Lowlander
Posts: 49054
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Excel report doesn't work if Excel is not installed

Post by Lowlander »

On line 138 of Export.vbs (in Program Files\MediaMonkey\Scripts folder) replace QAStr(itm.SongLengthString) with QAStr(FormatStrTime(itm.SongLengthString)). That would seem to give you the desired result (don't have spreadsheet software to test).

http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=10728
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Onweerwolf
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Excel report doesn't work if Excel is not installed

Post by Onweerwolf »

That worked. Great fix! Thank you.
Image
Onweerwolf
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Excel report doesn't work if Excel is not installed

Post by Onweerwolf »

There is another problem though. Foreign characters like 'Ș' appear as question marks in Excel when you import them from a .csv file that was exported by MM.
Image
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Excel report doesn't work if Excel is not installed

Post by nohitter151 »

Onweerwolf wrote:There is another problem though. Foreign characters like 'Ș' appear as question marks in Excel when you import them from a .csv file that was exported by MM.
Custom report supports unicode characters:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/addons/brows ... om-report/
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
Onweerwolf
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Excel report doesn't work if Excel is not installed

Post by Onweerwolf »

nohitter151 wrote:
Onweerwolf wrote:There is another problem though. Foreign characters like 'Ș' appear as question marks in Excel when you import them from a .csv file that was exported by MM.
Custom report supports unicode characters:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/addons/brows ... om-report/
Nope. Doesn't work.

Edit: I shouted too soon.

It does work, but only with newer versions. 3.0 works, 2.8 doesn't. (I was running 2.8 ).
Image
Onweerwolf
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Excel report doesn't work if Excel is not installed

Post by Onweerwolf »

However, custom report has the same songlength bug as normal report.

Edit: which now that I think about is something that I already complained about in the custom report thread a long time ago, but it was never fixed.
Image
Post Reply