Some songs get added twice [#11029]

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

LifeTheLiving
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:53 am

Some songs get added twice [#11029]

Post by LifeTheLiving » Sat May 25, 2013 5:52 am

Hello,

I have MediaMonkey Gold 4.0.7.1511.

My 500,000+ music files are stored on a 10,5 TB raid 5. I have had MM many years and the raid has been upgraded / replaced a few times. Have followed the instructions to alter MM.db to reflect this and have my datatbase since 2004.

However recently some songs (not all) gets added twice. When I look at properties, it is the same songs from the same folder, that have been added twice. Even if I delete all occurences in the database and make a fresh rescan, then they appear twice.

Anyone have any idea why??

Regards Leif

Lowlander
Posts: 47589
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Some songs get added twice

Post by Lowlander » Sat May 25, 2013 11:15 am

Do they have the exact same Path (including same case)?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Guest

Re: Some songs get added twice

Post by Guest » Sat May 25, 2013 2:26 pm

Lowlander wrote:Do they have the exact same Path (including same case)?
Yes they do. I did wonder if I had them twice somewhere, but I don't. They are added from the same folder where there only is song 1-10, and they are all added twice.

I did wonder though --- In MM.db there is entries for the z: drive, where the music always has been placed. there are several z: drives, but only ONE with the correct number. The correct one is also the last one in the list. I have tried to delete the other entries, but SQLlite gives an error message.

I am NO expert on SQLite, I only use til to correct the number for z: when I have to install a new raid.

any idea will be appreciated

Regards Leif.

LifeTheLiving
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:53 am

Re: Some songs get added twice

Post by LifeTheLiving » Sat May 25, 2013 2:49 pm

Lowlander wrote:Do they have the exact same Path (including same case)?
One more thing. I delte all the songs from the library. then rescan and they are added twice.

Now if I try to play song no. 2, song no. 2 will be highlighned (bold). And BOTH the nr. 2 songs are bold at the same time. But ONLY the song I start to play has incremented it's play count.

Go figure

Regards Leif.

Lowlander
Posts: 47589
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Some songs get added twice

Post by Lowlander » Sat May 25, 2013 10:11 pm

Do you have MonkeyFlow (sometimes referred to as Cover Flow) installed?

If not
LifeTheLiving wrote: I delte all the songs from the library. then rescan and they are added twice.
I suggest you do this one more time, but this time capture this in a debug log (step 4b) and send it to support: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=69
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

LifeTheLiving
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:53 am

Re: Some songs get added twice

Post by LifeTheLiving » Sun May 26, 2013 8:12 am

Lowlander wrote:Do you have MonkeyFlow (sometimes referred to as Cover Flow) installed?

If not
LifeTheLiving wrote: I delte all the songs from the library. then rescan and they are added twice.
I suggest you do this one more time, but this time capture this in a debug log (step 4b) and send it to support: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=69
OK, thank you for your help

No I do not have MonkeyFlow installed.

Actually i never got that far earlier, but every time i make a rescan the album is added a new time.

I have my albums in this order:

Music/"alphabetic order"/"artist"/"Album"

The album I'm testing on is this one:

Z:\Music\0-9\2'nd Chapter of Acts\1974 - With Footnotes

I have set MediaMonkey to scan 2'nd Chapter Of Acts folder. Each time I scan just that folderthe Album "with Footnotes" is added. If I play song no. 2 then all the occurences (just now 6) of song no. 2 is highlighneted (bold). but only the one i let to play gets increaded player count.

Now I have tried a full scan too and it also gets added with a full scan every time, so Now I have 7 occurences of the album.

I've tried at database clenaup, but it doesn't clear the many times the same album has been added.

A number of other album, but NOT all experience the same thing. However with 42,000+ albums it's hard to spot the ones that does.


I have now tested this part too. I made a full rescan. Then I made no changes to anything, and made a new rescan an 891 files were added again. Then once again, no changes and made another rescan, again 891 files were added again.

I am not 100 % sure, but I think it happened 1 week ago, when my raid went bust and I installed a new one. the Z drive i still Z drive and the file structure is the same. with SQLite I changed the number for the Z drive to the new number.

Any ideas???

Lowlander
Posts: 47589
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Some songs get added twice

Post by Lowlander » Sun May 26, 2013 3:54 pm

LifeTheLiving wrote: with SQLite I changed the number for the Z drive to the new number.
Likely that Windows changed the driveID after the RAID failure: http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... w_computer
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

LifeTheLiving
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:53 am

Re: Some songs get added twice

Post by LifeTheLiving » Mon May 27, 2013 2:51 am

Lowlander wrote:
LifeTheLiving wrote: with SQLite I changed the number for the Z drive to the new number.
Likely that Windows changed the driveID after the RAID failure: http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... w_computer
Hi Lowlander,

Yes it did. And it has done everytime I changed my RAID, and I have changed it every time, so it works again.

If you don't change it, all the songs just gets greyed out and don't play, so I am aware of that one :-)


Thank you - Leif.

Lowlander
Posts: 47589
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Some songs get added twice

Post by Lowlander » Mon May 27, 2013 10:14 am

And at the moment the driveID changes any scanning (manual or Folder Monitoring) of your files will add it from the new driveID to the Library.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

LifeTheLiving
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:53 am

Re: Some songs get added twice

Post by LifeTheLiving » Mon May 27, 2013 1:54 pm

Lowlander wrote:And at the moment the driveID changes any scanning (manual or Folder Monitoring) of your files will add it from the new driveID to the Library.
Hi Lowlander,

Yes that is correct. There for I DON'T start MediaMonkey af a change of drive before I have chaned the drive ID in MM.db. Once I have changed the Drive ID in MM.db and start up, MM just reads the new drive with all the scanned songs as if it has always been.

Regards.

imagehopper

Re: Some songs get added twice

Post by imagehopper » Tue May 28, 2013 2:47 am

I use multiple drives its easier.

LifeTheLiving
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:53 am

Re: Some songs get added twice

Post by LifeTheLiving » Wed May 29, 2013 5:19 am

imagehopper wrote:I use multiple drives its easier.
Maybe, but it would be the same problem if one of the multiple drives caved in.

Anyway ANY supporters from MM who would like to comment or should I start a ticket??

Regards Leif.

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14162
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Some songs get added twice

Post by rovingcowboy » Wed May 29, 2013 9:08 am

i don't use raid either, like imagehopper i use multiple hard drives i've had one drive crap out on me before it was easy to replace
windows just changes the drive call letter if you change its placement in the gray cord plugs.
so just pluging in a new drive to the same plug and then booting windows gets you the same drive letters on the same hd drives,
or has on mine anyway.

but windows is also able to change them back and forth if you move drives i've had it do that when my hd had come unpluged.
all songs were messed up in mm but pluging in the hd again changed them back and mm was fixed.

so i'm not sure why your having troubles your having.
you could look for the script to fix hard drive id issues when you change to new computer. it might fix what is causing your trouble?
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Lowlander
Posts: 47589
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Some songs get added twice

Post by Lowlander » Wed May 29, 2013 11:11 am

You can capture the scanning resulting in duplicates in a debug log (step 4b) and send it to support: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=69
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

LifeTheLiving
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:53 am

Re: Some songs get added twice

Post by LifeTheLiving » Thu May 30, 2013 4:31 am

Lowlander wrote:You can capture the scanning resulting in duplicates in a debug log (step 4b) and send it to support: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=69
thank you. I will have to do this.

Post Reply