Can I have, and manage, two libraries?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

VladTepes
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2017 7:07 pm
Contact:

Can I have, and manage, two libraries?

Post by VladTepes »

I am currently converting all my CD's to FLAC files.

Meanwhile I have a large library of MP3 files as well. (Many of which are additional to those on the CD"s - purchased and free music)

Is there a way of separating theses two groups of songs into two libraries or lists or something in MM?

The idea being that I would use my FLAC's but if the song I want isn't there I could then look in my mp3 collection....
Peke
Posts: 13680
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Can I have, and manage, two libraries?

Post by Peke »

Hi,
Yes in two ways.
1. Using two collections where you add Extension equals "FLAC" to One collection and others to second collection so you have Music collection that contain all (Both), FLAC for Rips and MP3+Others for rest.

2. Running two Separate MMW Portable Installations one for FLAC and One For rest.

I prefer First scenario but I've seen users prefer second one in order not to mix those two libraries.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
VladTepes
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2017 7:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Can I have, and manage, two libraries?

Post by VladTepes »

Thank you mate.

The first option is the one I'll investigate, I think I'd prefer that too.

cheers.
VladTepes
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2017 7:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Can I have, and manage, two libraries?

Post by VladTepes »

peke - I had a look and it appears that I can only do what you suggest (option 1) if I have the gold licenced version?

If it's available/possible in the free version I'd appreciate please if you could step me through it a bit so I can get it happening.

(I'm not averse to paying for a gold licence eventually, but I really want to get across all the features and operations of the free version of MM first).
Lowlander
Posts: 48350
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: Can I have, and manage, two libraries?

Post by Lowlander »

Yes, managing Collections requires a License.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Post Reply