What am i doing wrong ?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

lambytone
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 8:19 am

What am i doing wrong ?

Post by lambytone » Fri Apr 03, 2020 7:13 am

Hi first post here. Every time i use this program my music library gets messier all the time. I've got about 180gb of music, rips, downloads etc. A lot of it is duplicates as i have ipod back up,s hard drive back ups and other stuff. Any way I'm not worried about stats or play lists or play counts or any thing. All I want is a library to display albums as I've ripped them. So in auto organise I want the folder structure to be album name, artist, track, track number, year and art work. I've spent weeks using mp3 tag to sort albums and then when I've added them to MM they are all over the place. What am I doing wrong. Also, is there a way of not deleting the duplicates but moving them and consolidating them into a single location. Thanks

Lowlander
Posts: 47025
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: What am i doing wrong ?

Post by Lowlander » Fri Apr 03, 2020 11:37 am

Can you explain all over the place?

You have the Location node to browse by folder structure on your PC. As for Albums you need the Album and Album values to be the same for all files on the Album: https://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index. ... erties/4.0

As for duplicates you can manage them: https://www.mediamonkey.com/support/ind ... ate-tracks and move them with tools like right click Send To > Move and Auto-Organize Files: https://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index. ... enames/4.0
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

lambytone
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 8:19 am

Re: What am i doing wrong ?

Post by lambytone » Fri Apr 03, 2020 1:41 pm

Thanks for the reply. I've ripped and tagged cds but when I view them there are tracks missing or the alnums are split into single tracks.

Lowlander
Posts: 47025
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: What am i doing wrong ?

Post by Lowlander » Fri Apr 03, 2020 2:26 pm

You likely have differing Album Artist values in the case Albums are split in single file Albums.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply