Disk I/O error after PC sleep

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Aff
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Disk I/O error after PC sleep

Post by Aff »

Hi

Whenever my PC goes to sleep with MM running, I get loads of error messages after wake up "Error executing SQL statement" and "disk I/O error (10, 10)".
I can press Cancel, Repeat or Ignore, either way the error messages come again and MM isn't usable.
Sometimes MM doesn't completely close and locks the MM.Db, so at the next start of MM it wants to create a new database.

My MM.DB and files are on a NAS. MM is installed in portable mode on Windows 10 64Bit.

The problem exists since a longer time, don't know how long, but recently I used MM more so it annoys me enough now to post this.

Is it a known problem? Any idea how to solve?
Lowlander
Posts: 48120
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: Disk I/O error after PC sleep

Post by Lowlander »

The problem is that the connection the NAS is lost/drives on NAS are asleep and thus MediaMonkey can't access the database. This causes the disk I/O problem.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Aff
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Disk I/O error after PC sleep

Post by Aff »

Thanks for your reply.

It would be better for MM to:
  1. Wait until the NAS is available again or a time out of e.g. 10 seconds is reached
  2. Display a message like "Database folder not available at the moment. Maybe the system was in sleep mode. Shall we try again? OK/Cancel"
In the current version you can tell MM to retry, but it doesn't and produces more errors.

I tested the availability of the NAS and it takes less than 3 seconds until content on the NAS can be accessed again after wake up.

I think the current behavior of MM is a bug. What do you think?
Peke
Posts: 13583
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Disk I/O error after PC sleep

Post by Peke »

Hi,
I do not think that is a bug, but as Lowlander explained windows access bug.

Are you using MMW installed portable on NAS or you use custom DB location? Either way can you post path to MM.DB you are accessing?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Aff
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Disk I/O error after PC sleep

Post by Aff »

Hi

MMW is installed on the local drive C: in portable mode, MM DB has a custom location on the NAS, DBName=\\nas\Music\!MediaMonkeyDB!\MM.DB
Peke
Posts: 13583
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Disk I/O error after PC sleep

Post by Peke »

Hi,
Hmmm. lets make small test?

Can you copy \\nas\Music\!MediaMonkeyDB!\MM.DB to Portable subfolder -> remove custom location and try to replicate. I tried to replicate and only way I can get I/O error is when NAS HDD was a sleep and it takes 5s to spinup and remount shared folder. That behavior is normal as MM tried 100 to access MM.DB.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Aff
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Disk I/O error after PC sleep

Post by Aff »

Hi

When the DB is in the Portable folder on the local drive, it works without errors.

What do you mean by "MM tried 100 to access MM.DB"?

When the DB is on the NAS, I get the errors even when the NAS HD wasn't sleeping.
Peke
Posts: 13583
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Disk I/O error after PC sleep

Post by Peke »

Hi,
Unfortunately if Local copy works something breaks MMW connection to DB, I meant that MMW tries 100 Times to retry to restore connection and access to DB before throw error.

MMW needs to have constant access to DB as some users have DB sized multiple GB and loading that to memory is not an option due the performance issues.

WiFi connection is unstable on many hardware (which I found out once I bought ASUS RT-AX92U duo Air Mesh set and Switched to WiFi 6(AX) band) which due the cycling of channels and devices can cut connection and takes 1-2s restore it.

Something makes things cutting connection for you.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Post Reply