MM 4.0.0.1459 - won't sych after moving to MM4

Get answers about syncing the current release of MediaMonkey with iPods and other devices.

Moderator: Gurus

Kutusov
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:31 pm

MM 4.0.0.1459 - won't sych after moving to MM4

Post by Kutusov » Sun Dec 04, 2011 4:22 pm

I'm trying to sync my libabry with my IPod Classic (120Gb) and MM just stands there doing nothing. Everything was working fine with MM3, now it seems that isn't...

I haven't changed any setting and maybe I'm missing the correct button on account of the new look (please bear with me hear.. :oops: ) Anyway, I connected the IPod and it says it is connected. IPod shows up in MM tree but then I click on the Auto-Sync. The message and status bar saying "Synchronizing Apple Mobile Device USB Driver" shows up, moves along until it's full and that's it:

Image

The IPod doesn't change from "Connected" to "Synchronizing" either. I'm probably missing a lot of important information but I really don't know what that might be. Oh, MM was set to sync a playlist, not the whole library. The way I do it is adding a value to the "Other" tag field for an entire music album and the playlist is composed only of the albums without that value.

So.... Help??... :cry:

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: MM 4.0.0.1459 - won't sych after moving to MM4

Post by nohitter151 » Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:27 pm

There's a bug where the sync hangs at the end if you choose the option "Automatically unmount device after auto-sync". If you disable that option the sync will finish like normal. I've reported the bug it should be fixed in the next release.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Kutusov
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:31 pm

Re: MM 4.0.0.1459 - won't sych after moving to MM4

Post by Kutusov » Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:38 pm

Oh, ok thanks!! I'll try that right now and I'll let you know how that goes!

BTW, it's not just the sync that hangs, MM also freezes, I had to shut it down through Task Manager.

Kutusov
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:31 pm

Re: MM 4.0.0.1459 - won't sych after moving to MM4

Post by Kutusov » Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:07 pm

It works!!

Thanks again!

rose-m
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 5:10 pm

Re: MM 4.0.0.1459 - won't sych after moving to MM4

Post by rose-m » Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:02 am

Where do I find that option? I have the same problem.

Lowlander
Posts: 47589
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM 4.0.0.1459 - won't sych after moving to MM4

Post by Lowlander » Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:04 am

In the Summary tab of the Device Profile page.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Kutusov
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:31 pm

Re: MM 4.0.0.1459 - won't sych after moving to MM4

Post by Kutusov » Mon Dec 05, 2011 11:48 am

rose-m wrote:Where do I find that option? I have the same problem.
Things are a bit confusing now, aren't they? Took me a while to figure out where the IPod menu was too... :roll: Just a matter of getting used to the new looks.

You have to click on the device from the main tree. It will open a sort of tab with all those options you can see on my screen capture.

Lowlander
Posts: 47589
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM 4.0.0.1459 - won't sych after moving to MM4

Post by Lowlander » Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:08 pm

Tools > Options > Portable/Audio Devices still will get you access to this as in MediaMonkey 3, although going through the Media Tree which is new in MediaMonkey 4 is much faster.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Kutusov
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:31 pm

Re: MM 4.0.0.1459 - won't sych after moving to MM4

Post by Kutusov » Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:23 pm

Lowlander wrote: although going through the Media Tree which is new in MediaMonkey 4 is much faster.
Media tree... right! I never get the name right! :)

Lowlander
Posts: 47589
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM 4.0.0.1459 - won't sych after moving to MM4

Post by Lowlander » Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:24 pm

It's new, it used to be Explorer Tree in MediaMonkey 3.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Kutusov
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:31 pm

Re: MM 4.0.0.1459 - won't sych after moving to MM4

Post by Kutusov » Mon Dec 05, 2011 4:31 pm

Lowlander wrote:It's new, it used to be Explorer Tree in MediaMonkey 3.
So I got it wrong-3.0 and wrong-4.0 :lol: I'll just call it the "tree thingie" then :wink:

Post Reply