Samsung Galaxy S3 sync

Get answers about syncing the current release of MediaMonkey with iPods and other devices.

Moderator: Gurus

Aralvor
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:32 am

Re: Samsung Galaxy S3 sync

Post by Aralvor » Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:14 am

rovingcowboy wrote: glad to have you join in the mm forum.
Yeah, just noticed it after i replied.. sorry about that. Thanks for the welcome..!

ScottieB
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:00 pm

Re: Samsung Galaxy S3 sync

Post by ScottieB » Sat Jan 05, 2013 12:50 pm

Hi everyone. I've got a Galaxy Note 2 and MM paid version, and similar issues. I've been reading and experimenting for the better part of 2 weeks now...

In my case I think MM is working mostly correctly. I have the latest release version for now, plan to try the beta 4.1 when I have more time. It sees my phone as the model number and 'phone and 'card'. Syncing seems to work, though Samsung's driver's (and/or windows 7) seem to make the mtp connection flakey. The main issue I have (when I can get the USB connection to hold long enough to sync) is that MMA on my phone cannot see the playlist files. Other player apps can see them but ideally I's stay in MM. I've read a few threads on this but nothing I did seemed to work - tried the different playlist settings, tried deleting profiles, etc.

Really I think the main problem in my case is the samsung and/or windows mtp drivers. They are not very stable and a lot of people seem to be having issues getting the connection to 'stick'. I would like to figure out this playlist thing though because if that was working for me I could work around the other stuff.

I read earlier that someone said a fresh install of windows fixed it for them... I've been having other nonrelated problems with direct-x as well and have a win8 license... maybe time to do a fresh install....

Lowlander
Posts: 47545
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Samsung Galaxy S3 sync

Post by Lowlander » Sun Jan 06, 2013 4:31 pm

Are the Playlist PLA or M3U playlists on the device?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

ScottieB
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:00 pm

Re: Samsung Galaxy S3 sync

Post by ScottieB » Sun Jan 06, 2013 8:29 pm

M3U

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14162
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: Samsung Galaxy S3 sync

Post by rovingcowboy » Sun Jan 06, 2013 9:16 pm

ScottieB wrote:M3U
I had posted the first day of beta testing my m3u playlists were not being seen by mma. Rusty found out and replyed that andriord handles out side of program m3u's and sends them to default system player which is mostly google, but monkey sees all mma internaly made m3u's.

Maybe this is cause of your errors too.

http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 21&t=68828

Just had thought that might fix this?

1 mmw made m3u's synced to mma device
2 mma instead of just copying the m3u needs to re write it and save it doing the syncing operation.

That seems like it should then be an internaly created m3u list and mma could play it then,
Does that appear to meet the requirements of andriod devices?
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

ScottieB
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:00 pm

Re: Samsung Galaxy S3 sync

Post by ScottieB » Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:48 pm

Cool thanks for the link and info.

It's weird... sometime MTP works flawlessly. Other times it is frustratingly flaky. I can't seem to find a pattern (ie reboot of phone/computer/both doesn't necessarily fix it) but to be fair I'm new to Android.

Regardless of the MTP connection though still no luck with the playlists but lots more experimenting to do :)

Lowlander
Posts: 47545
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Samsung Galaxy S3 sync

Post by Lowlander » Thu Jan 10, 2013 12:19 pm

Note if you have problems with Playlists you should upgrade to the latest beta of 4.1 and remove the Device Profile(s) for the device to let MediaMonkey create new ones. For many this will resolve Playlist syncing, if it doesn't make sure you enabled Playlists to sync in the Device Profile. If that fails send a debug log (step 4b) to support: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... f=12&t=341
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

dtsig
Posts: 3230
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Samsung Galaxy S3 sync

Post by dtsig » Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:40 pm

Just starting to attempt to use MM to store/sync music to my SG3.

First problem I am finding is that you MUST first start MM .. THEN plug in the phone. MM can not find the phone if it is already connected. Why is this?

Second, when I connect the phone W7 automatically gives the list of ways/progs to connect to phone. 1st one listed is Sync using MM .. If i select that it tells me that I only have 11gig on my phone. That is probably true of the primary phone but the card, where i want to store music etc, is a 32gig with approx 29gig left. How do I get MM to sync to the card?

Win7 with current patches, MM 4.0.7.1511

Is there a beta that works better?

Thanks
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

Lowlander
Posts: 47545
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Samsung Galaxy S3 sync

Post by Lowlander » Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:41 pm

There should be 2 profiles for the device (one internal and one card) under Tools > Options > Portable/Audio Devices where you can setup sync for the card.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

dtsig
Posts: 3230
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Samsung Galaxy S3 sync

Post by dtsig » Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:48 pm

Thanks Lowlander .. found it and unclicked phone and left card clicked. Will see how this works.

Any ideas on the other 2 questions.

Thanks again
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

Lowlander
Posts: 47545
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Samsung Galaxy S3 sync

Post by Lowlander » Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:27 am

Never tried connecting phone prior to MM launch as MM is always running. 4.1 beta's have a general Playlist sync bug fix, but for the S3 that was addressed on 4.0.7.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

finstinct
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 9:39 am

Re: Samsung Galaxy S3 sync

Post by finstinct » Sat Jan 19, 2013 1:36 pm

I sync a playlist called "Phone export" its the easiste way I know of keeping track of the music I want on my phone. I have a tmobile sgh9999 samsung galaxy s 3.

I just noticed when synching to "sgh9999- card" it goes to phone and when synching to "sgh9999-phone" it goes to the card. Didn't notice until it filled the phones memory and ran out.

4.0.7.1511
win7 home premium sp1


I never saw this before, I had almost 20gb of music on another 32gb sd and I guess I fried the micro sd plugging my phone in and out too much I guess...so this is a new 32gb.

Lowlander
Posts: 47545
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Samsung Galaxy S3 sync

Post by Lowlander » Sat Jan 19, 2013 7:04 pm

You can simply rename the devices (ie. switch card and phone in the names).
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

ScottieB
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:00 pm

Re: Samsung Galaxy S3 sync

Post by ScottieB » Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:35 am

I'm back. Thanks for all the info. I think I got MTP working - at least for the last week or two it has behaved the way I'd expect more or less - but is what I read correct: that MTP cannot sync play counts? If that's true... why? Why would they omit a specific thing like that? What is it about play counts that causes issues and why a new MTP protocol that can't do it?

Anyway, if that is true, would an app like this - EasyUMS - (link: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1711009) work if I can get the phone connected via UMS? I really miss my play counts, even if it is a trivial thing. Plus I just like trying to get stuff to work :) I understand the main downside to this is that it only works with the external card (fine by me) and you have to unmount the card from the phone to remount it as UMS on the computer. This means an extra step and also the phone cannot use the card when it is mounted. Fine by me again.

Any info appreciated.

Lowlander
Posts: 47545
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Samsung Galaxy S3 sync

Post by Lowlander » Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:10 pm

Using MediaMonkey for Android should allow for playcount syncing.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply